Compass Group UK & Ireland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
l like this compass because is a big company and care for everybody
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  London23 February 2018
l work from Monday to Friday
l learned how to work with different people
good management
Decent place it is hospital
Flexible not too much
Happy all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible... disgusting place to work.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire21 February 2018
Avoid!
I have only just recently started and already getting hassle from other members of staff, there is a click in our workplace and being the new person they seem to try and make me a skivvy. Im constantly pressing to be trained. I have been here 2 weeks have had no training on chemicals, cleaning equipment, coffee machines. Its dangerous!
Looking for a new job as we speak!
Pros
Free food
Cons
Staff, management, money, hours, rotas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company to work for
Barista Maestro (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire18 February 2018
I left this job because my manager was awful and always giving everyone a hard time, I was also underpaid on several occasions too and when I spoke to my manager about this she did nothing. After I left I was sent letters home claiming that I had been overpaid and that I owed Compass money, when I followed up the matter I was told ‘we have to go by what your Manager says’ and never heard anything else from them.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No consistency In Management or Payment, They will underpay you and ask for money back claiming they have over paid you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying and Poor management
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 February 2018
Long hours no reward a bullying and blame culture from senior management who have no respect for ground level staff also wages are always wrong, told one thing by one senior manager and something else from the other
Pros
none
Cons
working for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this company
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough15 February 2018
No support or respect towards staff. Management are not bothered unless an area complains then false promises are made.
No wonder nhs are in debt with this company charging for areas that are not having less hrs work in to what they are paying.
I can see why so many infections happen.
Pros
None
Cons
Disrespectful towards staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremley long hour with no reward
Cellar Manager (Former Employee) –  Glynde, East Sussex12 February 2018
Long Hour required over 12 hours every day during the summer months

Poorly Organised throughout all very last minute in everything they do

Under staffed
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Long Hours, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dismal place to work
Ward hostess (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire11 February 2018
Worked there for a few months, over worked and under paid. Offered you the earth but once employed nothing materialised. Couldn’t get wages right,recommend you keep records.
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands10 February 2018
All employees regardless of grade are treated as a number, any day you could be told you no longer have a role with in the company.
Great place to advance if you’re willing to work all hours and weekends however hard work is hardley ever translated into gratitude via pay rises or promotion
Pros
Exposure
Cons
Long hours, salary, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun friendly job
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire7 February 2018
as I only did this for a short time its hard to give this a true rating but while I was there it was a great job I travelled up and down the country arguing what the proper name for a breadcake was (some people insist its a cob ! )
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  London7 February 2018
Good job if you have children ideal as term time and a nice environment. Would definitely recommend to anybody looking for part time work. Nice and friendly made me feel welcome and part of the team
Pros
Term time
Cons
No sick pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Chef Supervisor (Former Employee) –  HMS DRAKE4 February 2018
bad management at present .veary large staf turnover due to bad management. there was a team of 10 now onley 3 at present with the same work load not good,Management dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst compay i have worked for
Chef (Current Employee) –  Salisbury28 January 2018
Poor practice in the kitchen regarding food being stored, prepped and served, not enough staff to save money, awful management in the unit and head office, four people left in as many months, do the maths yourself. AVOID
Pros
None
Cons
Leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Cross, Greater London19 January 2018
Has been excellent time being working with them. They are supportive, provides training, holidays, on time salaries, breaks available, food provided, and tea and coffee break given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid the company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire18 January 2018
Hard place to work, a lot of incidents, low pay, unappreciative, treatment not great, very low pay, too many hours, organisation couldn't organise a party
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, bad pay, bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire17 January 2018
Nice and reliable coworkers but management very poor. Lack of comunication between manager and the rest of the team. Big favoritism and not treating everyone fairly. Always short of staff but manager doesn't care about.
Pros
can't find any
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compass
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stockport14 January 2018
I am currently working for Compass Group as a catering assistant which I have been since 1st march 2015. Working for this company I have heightened my skills of leadership, team working and also working on my own, supporting other members around me when it’s needed. Together with this I have learnt new skills such as dealing with complaints when the customer was dissatisfied with the company’s product and offering different alternatives which might suit the customer better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough consistancy in staff
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Asda fosse park10 January 2018
Good place to work but staff always inconsistant with shifts which then you have to cover no consistant routine just all over the place no action plan
Pros
Nice work inviroment and co workers very friendly and helpfull
Cons
Needs less friends working tovether more managment voice
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and busy place to work, enjoyed building great relationships with customers.
Oxfordshire (Former Employee) –  Oxfordshire10 January 2018
I worked for compass part-time for nearly 4 years while I was a mum to 2 very young children, i worked in a prison staff mess which included trips into the prison itself as part of my daily work routine.
Pros
The biggest pro was the hours, as a single mum they fitted round school hours.
Cons
Working within a prison enviroment does have its risks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
CSA (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 January 2018
I loved my job but when the temp manager left my new manager started giving me a hard time but I ignored it he then got rid of me and made an excuses then the letter he gave me for my housing was vile, I felt like I was mistreated because of my skin colour never will I work for compass again
Pros
Feeding the dhl staff and having a laugh with the girls
Cons
My old manager, not having breaks paid for
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Twickenham, Greater London3 January 2018
I have worked here for nearly a year and I enjoy it very much. I have made good friends and have learnt a lot from here. I will continue to work here for a while!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group UK & Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 119 reviews
532
436
313
211
127

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture