COLAS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant OLE Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 May 2018
New to the rail industry and gaining valuable experience. I am currently embracing the opportunity to learn both OLE design and construction which makes me multidiscipline.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
colas farlington
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Farlington11 December 2017
i would come in every morning and the first thing i would do is sign in on the time sheet, my first task would be to mix the petrol with 2 stroke oil ready for the strimmers,then i would load up the fuel,strimmers,harnesses and strimming cord.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire15 October 2017
High career prospects, excellent working environment, professional, everyone always happy to help with anything to do with work. Also good social environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Driver (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London4 October 2017
Come across as good t's and c's but expected to work every weekend, can't get time off. Aslef not recognised for main core drivers. Negotiations done by Rmt plant drivers. Floating rest days used to take from nights to days.
Given company van but can be rostered an hour either end of long shift driving van.
Lots of drivers leaving currently due to lack if quality time off.
Expect to work loads of Friday nights/saturday mornings moving trains to Derby
Pros
Van
Cons
No protection with union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people with good intentions
Commercial Manager - Wessex Capacity Alliance (Current Employee) –  Waterloo Station4 October 2017
Respected company within the Rail industry specialising in the Rail Systems and Infrastructure element of the sector.

A once lively HQ in Westminster is now somewhat a skeleton of its previous self, with a corporate decision made to concentrate on Track and Freight.

Sadly a lot of enthusiastic and knowledgeable people have since departed with most now working on JV's, Alliances and Framework contracts.
Pros
Respected Name, Central location, National visability
Cons
reudcuced estimating fucntion, low order book
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Road Worker machine operator (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire21 September 2017
If you are wanting to get away from the wife and get drunk every night this is the job for you.
Work hard play hard but I left due to them take any the perks off us
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good honest graft
Concrete Finisher (Former Employee) –  Glasgow City, Glasgow4 June 2017
would work again for this company again in a heart beat good safe work canteen spot ppe the and tools no problem got on way the gaffer looked after the men well as ave good company to work for
Pros
good ppe
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Train Driver (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff28 May 2017
I did not enjoy working for this company because protocols were not followed and I was treated badly. Doing the same work as I was at DBSchenker but unfortunately not treated as well.
Pros
none
Cons
Badly treated
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for the single man.
Operative worker (Former Employee) –  Everywhere19 April 2017
This job has plenty of things to learn and has many rewards with good pay, great bonuses, and a great way to travel the country. Good benefits and the more you learn, the better the pay. Also a good pension and a shares scheme.
Pros
Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Can be long hours and working away a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Traffic Management (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear24 January 2017
The management take layer back approach to all work and expect the forman to do the work for them. It is all ways a battle with to get the job done with damaged equipment and very old vehicles.
Pros
Ok wage for working from home
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operator (Current Employee) –  Warrington22 October 2016
Management poor that's why I'm looking for other options.not a bad place to work but not run very well people in wrong positions
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Management poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great varied times of work and traction
Driver (Current Employee) –  Outbased17 September 2016
Colas is a good company to work for. I enjoy a very good salary with many additional financial benefits. the work is varied over many routes with different traction requirements.
Pros
Salary and job security
Cons
Last minute changes to roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee in strategy and development
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Crawley25 August 2016
Ask the people in colas as they are all scared for their jobs even the management so they have to do quiet a lot of brown nosing to keep their jobs. Everyone has got a horror story to tell about one person or the other that has been forced out of their job and I really do think that the people who have put the reviews on here are from the PR department of the company to make Colas look good but even in my short time their I see so many people come and go on false promises and 1 of the guys from Colas has even said that he doesn't bother remembering people's names as they come and go so often so my advice is don't go and work for Colas as the atmosphere is so bad there at the moment where as everyone that I talked to said they don't know what is going on as it seems Colas don't care about their employees anymore. All scared for their jobs. How many more people lives are you going to destroy especially in S&D where I was.
Pros
Cheap lunch & some (very few) genuine people there but the rest are conniving snides
Cons
Cheap conniving snide workmates who are scared for their jobs too
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Ringmer8 August 2016
Great place to have work experience and good people to get along with very good training in trucks and cars great body shop and great mechanics
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A demanding place to work.
Senior Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  London UK20 July 2016
With a roll in Track Renewals you can be sure of a rewarding and engaging job. the type of job that you will long for as a challange.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Construction Worker (Current Employee) –  nation wide14 March 2016
long hours an manual work wich is good but to much traveling an staying away. not enough notice when dropping work or continuous work .
Pros
good wages
Cons
drop work on last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good work place
Fence Erector (Former Employee) –  UK14 February 2016
maintaining and erecting motorway safety barrier
the hardest part of the job working nightshift
management looked after you well
co-workers were hard working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpfull and great public service
Road Sweeper (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, ENG20 January 2016
When working with colas i was allowed a lot of freedom, they trusted meto do my job and it felt better than any other place ive worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!!!
Market Analyst (Current Employee) –  London7 December 2015
Great company, lots of varied work and experience. Lovely company with lots of great people. Lots of entrepreneurial activity in the business!!
Pros
People
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day different, challenging but rewarding.
HIGHWAY LIGHTING FAULT REPAIR OPERATIVE (Former Employee) –  Ringmer, ENG3 October 2015
A progressive company with a very loyal workforce.
Keen to keep all training up to date.
Trusted to prioritise my workloads to ensure that any time constraints were met.
No two days were the same,could be called at any time to attend emergency situations when street lighting equipment was either damaged by road traffic accidents or vandalism.
Friends made in the work environment are also friends outside of work.
Hardest part is the weather can be unkind sometimes and working on your own sometimes means that you don't speak to anyone until you get home.
Although the work vehicle was not to used be outside of work hours,we were allowed to keep the vehicles at home, therefore not having to use my own vehicle to travel to and from work was definitely a major plus point.
Pros
No private vehicle require to drive to and from work.
Cons
Like to do things their way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at COLAS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 215 reviews
566
481
351
27
110

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture