Co-op Group Employee Reviews

Found 1,315 reviews matching the search See all 1,339 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a ok place
Customer Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne17 November 2018
Cleveland Road

Manager expects you to go in on your days off
2 faced some of the staff members
Don't get all jobs done in the time your on shift
some staff members are nice
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a caring sharing place to work
Supervisor/Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Scotland15 November 2018
No opportunity for advancement for current staff. If your face doesn't fit you've had it. Company would rather recruit externally than give staff an opportunity to progress. Very frustrating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kempston, Bedfordshire15 November 2018
Awful place too work never work there again . Management is awful working environment unsafe as no security and staff regularly attacked by shoplifters
Pros
None
Cons
Loads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, throughly enjoyed
Customer Team Member (Former Employee) –  Horsham14 November 2018
Good pay for a part-time job, great team work job.
However, there is a lot of shop lifting from customers which can be a hassle. Other than that its a pleasure to work for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people not so great management
Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Lakenheath, Suffolk14 November 2018
I worked here for 7 years and although some things have changed for the better the business are putting too much pressure on management and it creates a negative working day.
Typical day includes daily legal tasks but mostly stocking shelves, not enough time anymore for developing people and adhoc jobs
Pros
discount
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and fun place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crewkerne12 November 2018
Enjoyed every minute of working at the co-op. Everybody was extremely friendly and was like a small family. Hours were always available if you so wished for overtime.
Pros
good discount on co-op products
Cons
Can get abit repettitve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another store
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Battersea11 November 2018
The company as such gives good training and benefits to the employees. But how you are treated in the shop is upto the manager. I had a really bad manager, his style of improving someone was to scream non-stop. You will not be able to know when he will be freind and when a mad man breathing down your neck.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
terrible shop management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stressful and toxic environment
Customer Team Member (Current Employee) –  Southbourne, Dorset10 November 2018
Lets start with the positive, what I've learned? Working with the co-op has allowed me to gain confidence and communication skills.

The most enjoyable part, you meet great people and get to know them by name, there's this one Lady who gives us home made sausage rolls every Christmas, another who invited me to be in a music video, and another who still keeps a rough drawing she caught me doodle in her purse. I've made a lot of solid relationships.

This is unfortunately where the positives end.

A typical day starts by attempting to squeeze through a too small space to clock in and put your things away, while understaffed workmates play tetris looking for places to put stock.

Most of the day is spent with only two people at any time, its busy enough that someone is always on the tills, staff end up doing the work of several people.

Supervisors often work the bakery as well as their own duties.

We often have to close the shop when someones off, for whatever reason, due to lack of cover. its that or have someone in there on their own.

Equipment is slow and often doesn't work properly.

My boss is a great guy, he doesn't ask us to do anything he wouldn't do, he's often had to do back to back, opening to close shifts (6am-10pm) just to keep the place open, and has even bought in his kids to work when he has no childcare. Higher management doesn't help him though.

hours are different every week, there is no consistency.

There are days where you want to break down and cry, I've been around when other workmates have done so.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Tayside5 November 2018
Work 39 hours per week being expected ti work upto 45 hours per week not getting paid for it due to being salaried you are constantly trying ti catch up on yourself due to being so understaffed and treading water against the depots and banging youf head againsta brick wall with the suppprt centres. No chance of progressing unless your prepared to work full time and cope with severe security breaches and difficult customers stealing etc by yourself.
Pros
Good holidays
Cons
Long hours and complete disorganisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Team Member (Current Employee) –  Bude5 November 2018
I've worked for the co-op for nearly four years, everyone is friendly and hardworking members of staff.
Always a busy day at work taking deliveries, friendly management who answer all your questions and guide you when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
PPT Driver (Former Employee) –  Coventry5 November 2018
Start with great stress all the time problem with the system
I have to repeat 5 times redio play just 5 to 10 songs daily
for me is very painful better turn it off better than that
i do not know why they dont use online redio or very good playlist and pro media play
and big problem is all the time management calls someone over spikers in this moment,nothing can be heard same days 20 times per hour
Pros
time go very fast
Cons
very big target
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
customer advisor. (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire3 November 2018
I love working at the co-op. I love especially working on the till. Serving different people and regular people each day. I wish they gave full-time hours still nd I would be back straight away. I think the bosses should make everyone do Saturday and Sunday in turn though. That way it would only be a Saturday once every 12 weeks each and same for Sundays. Yes that would be more fair then. Same for early shifts and late shifts. Everyone in turn. Also, they should give more leeway with part-time hours and not expect you to be available at all hours when it’s only 16 hour shifts. I need full-time hours and because it’s only 16 maximum they will give you, that means we have to get another part-time job elsewhere to make the hours up, so they should be glad when you can offer them late shifts and Saturdays so it doesn’t coincide with your other job. Either be glad what shifts you can do, or give full-time so then we will be available at all times.
Pros
seeing and meeting new and regular people every day.
Cons
need to be given a choice of full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham2 November 2018
my typical day at the coop was a checkout operater and replenishing shelves of wines n spirits and cigarettes and keeping the checkout area clear ,I found it a enjoyable job
Pros
good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funeral Arranger leaving next week horrible company
Funeral Arranger (Current Employee) –  South London, Greater London2 November 2018
I’ve worked for co-op for nearly 3 years. I started full of enthusiasm and belief in the moral and ethical values - and I’m now leaving absolutely unable to stomach any more of their bullying/backstabbing management or their money grabbing profit focused ideals. The management have completely lost touch with reality, morale is on the floor and the dictates being issued are outrageous. Addressing funeral poverty by forcing families to pay £1000 to upgrade their choice of funeral if they want their love one carried into the service and not on a trolly 🤬. Handed in my notice and not one phone call to ask why or if we could talk about it! Someone has the energy to advertise my job double quick though! Training is a joke and arrangers are out in branch alone far too soon and not supported in role, and then vilified when mistakes are made. Honestly if you want to do this job - which is amazing and super rewarding - find another company to work for
Pros
Nice branches
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not directly employed by the Co Op
Not employed (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire2 November 2018
I was not employed by the Co Op directly I worked as a consultant and helped in a bid to secure a contract. I presented to the Co Op procurement team around Asset Management services
Pros
Unknown
Cons
Unknown
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Co op
CTM (Former Employee) –  Monmouth, Monmouthshire26 October 2018
Enjoyed working with the people I met (colleagues at the co op) they would throw you out in a second if a customer complained about you they don’t value there staff at all even if you are pregnant will still put you on serious shifts with no remorse or sense of guilt the staff turn over is shocking because the management don’t know how to motivate there staff and put to much pressure on them and moan all the time if something from the night before has been left even to the night before made a few grand and was very busy but they don’t see it like that as they are never actually doing anything so they expect what they don’t have experience in doing they belittle you if you want to progress because they don’t think you are capable even tho you really are and the people who they think are capable who do run the store really aren’t they lose a lot of good employees because of everything of the above the job is ideal for somebody who wants abit on the side before they move on to a real job but for aslong as you are at the Monmouth store you will never make it anywhere as the manager only thinks for themselves and hold you back a customer could come in and make something up about you and you would be on a reviewed warning no matter how hard you work they don’t care
Pros
The staff you get friendly with and certain customers
Cons
Everything from the managment to respect there isn’t any
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated this job
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saltaire, West Yorkshire24 October 2018
The store manager was lazy and disorganised. The place was very cliquey and if your face didn't fit you were basically ignored . The store I worked in was run like a middle aged woman's gossip parlour
Pros
it was close to home
Cons
rubbish manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working there however the neighbour hood wasnt very nice
Leaflet Distributor (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton22 October 2018
a typical work day consisted of me walking round the local area delivering leaflets through peoples doors. the hardest part was when people showed displeasure when i was delivering the leaflets.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
i walked around areas i didnt know very well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright business
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stornoway, Eilean Siar21 October 2018
reliable and kind staff great experience with working with members of the public tidy clean and lots of experince in shops and working as part of a team
Pros
good laugh
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smoke screen
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Cheshire19 October 2018
Not at the heart of your community at all....just focus on charity giving to non local causes
No training as promised, overworked with no recognition, lack of management support
Treated like schoolchildren on each shift
Never enough time to complete everything that expected of you
Pros
Great customer environment
Cons
Long hrs, late nights, underpaid, no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Co-op Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,339 reviews
5337
4429
3347
291
1135

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture