CITY OF LONDON POLICE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best UK Police Force
Detective Constable (Former Employee) –  City of London, Greater London11 February 2018
Exciting and challenging work. Opportunity to investigate and manage own case loads. Opportunity to develop new approaches to investigating economic crime.
Pros
location
Cons
Getting there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organisation
Senior Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  London28 December 2017
Learnt a lot and any ideas will be accommodated. It was a good place to work and the Management team were very helpful.

I would definitely work here again should the offer arise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with great scope to learn
Trainee (Former Employee) –  London, United Kingdom26 August 2017
Hard work and determination can do wonders. Very encouraging and friendly environment where everyone helps you learn and grow as an individual and as a scientist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as they think they are....
Constable (Current Employee) –  City of London, Greater London23 August 2017
The force has a lot of very good investigators, and has delivered some good results. However too much is traded off a reputation which has slipped in recent years.
Budget cuts, and poor management decisions continue to hamper the skilled staff from delivering greater results.
The UK criminal justice system is effectively breaking down when it comes to managing big cases, and many economic crime cases here become drawn out over many years. This results in officers getting either jaded or gradually becoming deskilled.
A continuing series of restructures promises much but delivers little other than an effect of a continuous spam of management reports. Technology is always behind the curve.
The force benefits from not being the Metropolitan Police, and not facing the devastating cuts experienced by county forces. There is less pressure and politics from external parties.
However internal politics can be both petty and grinding the higher up one might rise. Too many managers at senior level pose and compete and deliver nothing for the workforce.
The general workforce are really friendly and many are very skilled at their roles. Opportunities abound to leave policing for a more lucrative career elsewhere.
Pros
More time than most other police agencies, good for moving to better opportunities elsewhere
Cons
Poorly managed and too much internal politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London12 August 2017
This company allowed me to gain a wide look into the different departments involved within the police. It was fun and interesting to see what goes on behind the scenes as well as more hands on things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage your expectations
Detective Constable / Financial Investigator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 June 2017
Officers will know their job is the same wherever you go. However, its a nice area to work. Huge amounts of red tape to get anything done. Good office environment. I don't know what else to say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class organization
International Liaison Officer (Current Employee) –  City of London, Greater London13 May 2017
The City of London Police is a world class organization of professional law enforcement officers. They are the national lead force on fraud for the United Kingdom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improvements are being addressed.
Fraud / Financial Investigator (Current Employee) –  London19 June 2016
The most enjoyable part of working here is the strength and support you will receive from colleagues.The City are trying their best to remain contemporary and future proof with investment in accommodation and infrastructure.
Pros
Camaraderie
Cons
Duty changes at short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in.
Hardware Audit Engineer (Former Employee) –  London, ENG3 February 2016
Its a nice place to work, didn't get much learning experience due to the nature of the role but had thoroughly enjoyed it. Had they asked me to stay on doing other work, I would have said yes.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Facilites Manager
Deputy Facilites Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ENG15 October 2015
A typical day you never knew what was coming one day could be full on another day would be totally different full of ups and downs but a lot of laughs along the way this is what made this a different job from anything else I have ever done.
myself and my team would grow and develop always getting through the red tape and politics that paid a big role in this job and there was always a variety of challenges.
Cons
long hours covering shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Customer Service Advisor/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Gourock, SCT17 September 2015
Excellent place to work, management team are very friendly and understanding, always there to help. Every member of my team are fantastic people and so easy to work with.

Job itself can be extremely stressful but that's all part of the fun/learning curve.

Unfortunately this is only a temporary contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work but lack of career progress
Detective Sergeant (Current Employee) –  London, ENG4 July 2015
Scope, Investigate and prepare case files for serious and complex fraud offences. These offences are national or international in scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant working environment
Constable (Former Employee) –  London5 January 2015
Working at the City of London Police was amazing with meeting people from all walks of life, being it working colleagues, victims, offenders and most importantly members of the public.
Every day was different. in the job, there was no boring day or a day that is similar to other days, these is where the excitement and the challenge was.
Pros
Meeting different people and exposing to so much information and the fun that comes with it.
Cons
Definately Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Deployment Engineer/Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London, ENG30 November 2014
Work in a Team of 10 where everyone gets along and makes it an enjoyable experience for everyone to work in. There is also a staff meeting/briefing first thing in the morning so everyone knows what their doing on that day. On a typical day at work i would have to get a device that needs rolling out and make sure the device has all the applications to roll out to the user. We'd get allocated users to deploy and decide who does who from the schedule however, the schedule always changes which makes it difficult and you have to adapt very quickly to the changes which makes your job really difficult. When the schedule remains the same i would go to the allocated user and introduce myself in a very friendly manner and explain what i am about to do. After the user has agreed to be deployed i would then swapped the devices over and migrate the users profile over from Windows XP to Windows 7. When all is installed i would sit with the user and make sure all their documents and applications have been transferred over. Only then do we get a sign off sheet stating the user is happy to sign to say they've been migrated successfully.

Each Deployment Engineer has a target of 5 deployments a day which very achievable providing there are no hiccups. Thankfully i have managed to hit these targets and more often then not exceed those expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new learnig everyday.
Researcher (Current Employee) –  London, ENG29 September 2014
An ambitious, hard working and adaptable individual looking to expand on current experience and skills gained within the industry. I have an analytical approach to working, provide great customer service, and bring strong communication and investigation skills. I work very well under pressure and manage multiple tasks on a regular basis. Throughout my academic and professional career, I have familiarised myself with various criminal and civil legislations such as PACE Act (1984) RIPA (2000), Fraud Act (2006) and Theft Act (1968).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant and Crane Hire Industry
Assistant Plant / Crane Manager (Former Employee) –  Dartford29 May 2014
A typical Day would be ensuring that all deliveries and collections are sorted and that the delivery Team have their work to do.
On the Operations-side, it is essential to monitor things on a frequent basis as situations can arise at any time
Inbetween all that the Phone rings of course, either with new Orders or enquiries
A Team would consist of Delivery Drivers / Crane Operators and Office Staff as well as Fitting Staff so a lot of planning goes into a day
Pros
Meet and chat to People from all walks of life
Cons
Long Hours and possible Call-outs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and varied
Scientific Support Manager (Current Employee) –  London England20 July 2013
Scientific assessment of crime scenes leading to the detection of crime.
Pros
Challenging and varied
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Professional Force providing excellent service
Police Constable (Former Employee) –  Snow Hill Police Station, City of London30 August 2012
There is no such thing as a Typical Day at Work for a Police Officer, every day presented a different challenge, and this is what I found to be the most enjoyable part of the job. During my service I have dealt with all manner of situations from lost children, being asked questions and having my photo taken by tourists, dealing with minor crime and traffice incidents to the more serious events such as fatal accidents, suicides, and terrorist incidents.
My fellow officers were always professional and there to back you up when needed, consequently some very close friendships were formed.
The management, on the whole, were equally professional, but aat times could be frustrating especially when decisions needed to be made quickly.
The hardest part of the job for me was having to retire after 35 years of service.
Pros
diversity of the job - no two days the same
Cons
long hours, sometimes working at very short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF LONDON POLICE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
55
410
34
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

CITY OF LONDON POLICE Reviews by Location