City University London Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant experience
Researcher Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, UK30 June 2017
Only because of cuts to education sector i havent continue working here. it was a brilliant experience and it positively shifted my learning curve. I hope to go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  London, UK9 May 2017
Represented the university to potential new students. Helped to ensure a smooth running process of the day by being always being on hand to offer help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy and productive enviroment to work in
Voice Team Leader (Former Employee) –  London, UK26 April 2017
I enjoyed my work life when contracting for City University, was a shame when the contract came to an end as it was a warm and friendly atmosphere, would work there again given the chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Director (Former Employee) –  London24 April 2017
It is a good place to work with opportunities to develop your career if you are in a junior role. However, at a senior level opportunities for progression are very limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community type employment
IT Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Islington, Greater London4 January 2017
A typical day at work sees me autonomous over my day to day work, liaising with people of all levels of seniority and backgrounds. Management are supportive and encouraging and co-workers enjoy banter on a day to day basis but exercise a work had paly hard ethic. I have learned how to exercise emotional intelligence in this role and enjoy the people interaction and project delivery elements of the role most.
Pros
Employee benefits, flixible working, community spirit
Cons
Logn hours during project delivery
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Senior Student Ambassador, WP Ambassador & Tutor (Former Employee) –  London20 December 2016
This experience was a great way of enhancing my skills. It also taught me a lot about time management as I was involved in these activities while studying my undergraduate degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful experince
Reception Cover (Former Employee) –  London, ENG17 September 2015
Provided useful experiences.
Excellent Education facility.
Learned many new skills and gained many new skills.
very friendly peers and co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
HR Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ENG17 September 2015
No such thing as a typical day at work. A typical day would be nice for a change starting with a very strong coffee. Working at City University London is truly great.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Air conditioning or lack of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive and multiple deadlines
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ENG22 July 2015
Hectic and very busy with lots of deadlines. Holidays are good as the university closes during Christmas/New Year. Budget watching and hardly allowing for salary increase.
Pros
Time passes quickly
Cons
constant overtime and weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Angel, London7 May 2015
A great place to work.
I have learned a lot about diary management, minutes and supporting very senior level staff. I work as part of a great team and we work together to ensure all needs are met across the school.
Pros
Staff, Location, Atmosphere
Cons
ventillation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
Temporary Quality Officer (Current Employee) –  London, ENG19 April 2015
I really enjoyed working and learnt so much with City University London. They have good working procedure and a good team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Editor of "Her Campus (Current Employee) –  London, ENG9 April 2015
On a typical day, we have classes for about 2-3 hours, then we usually have some essays/articles/projects to work on on our own.

From this year, I learnt the basis of print journalism and I received an overview on radio and TV journalism.

Following the classes and keep up with the amount of study is not that difficult in my opinion: the hardest part is finding interviewees willing to answer questions from a student, knowing that their contribution is not going to be broadcasted or published anywhere.

What I enjoy the most about my course is that there is a lot of practical stuff to do, which is much more challenging and enjoyable than just studying on books.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience to be there
Visiting (Hourly Paid) Lecturer (Current Employee) –  London, ENG18 January 2014
Air/fluid flow modelling and analysis, ship design, modelling and related analysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there. Very nice staff
HRIS Support (Contract Role) (Former Employee) –  London, ENG8 October 2013
A 9 - 5 working hours culture. Nice environment to work in.
Need more skilled IT Support Staff, It support seem to frustrate members of staff as it impacted on deadline delivery of projects.
Pros
Good Free fitness classes for staff
Cons
IT infrastructure lagging behind other companies worked at
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
IT/AV Analyst (Current Employee) –  London, ENG31 July 2013
Troubleshooting via telephone, email or in person. Supporting 1000+ Student and University Staff
Pros
relaxed environment / friendly atmosphere, friendly colleague, new laugh everyday
Cons
no career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Ambassador - had to set by example
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  London, ENG18 June 2013
Vey busy as events have to run on schedule and very challenging.
Loved working at City University as it was also the institution where I Studied. Colleagues were great.
Main Responsibilities:
• Assisting at University wide Open Days
• Assisting at Event Registration Days, office based work
• Carrying out Campus tours & Marshalling at reputational events
• Working collectively, constantly working in close teams
• Helping at Graduation Ceremonies & Taking part in the Lord Mayor’s Show
Pros
Same location as where i Studied so didnt really have to travel
Cons
Sometimes jobs were taken really quick!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report

See more City University London reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City University London. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 19 reviews
510
46
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

City University London Reviews by Location