Cineworld Employee Reviews

Found 157 reviews matching the search See all 162 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford9 January 2019
Decent job, lovely coworkers and management, but also very time consuming if you have other commitments. The hours can be early or late depending on what you ask for.
Pros
Free Tickets
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire15 December 2018
this is a fun place to work. a typical day would depend on the department you are working on. floor would require you to clean screens and concessions would require you to serve customers.
Pros
flexible shifts
Cons
not given all breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk21 November 2018
good workplace
you have to be hardworking
i learned so many things
its a quick work enviromment
good culture never changed
cleaning the cinema rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire14 November 2018
Overall good place for a young and unqualified person to gain work, if you have the right skills there are ample opportunities to rise up into management. However if you have certain qualifications I believe there are better options out there for you.
Pros
Free tickets
Cons
Low Pay, Strange shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cineworld
Team member (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne25 October 2018
sadly the Eastbourne teams management doesn't know the meaning of communication or actually the codes of their job. Cineworld can be a really fun place to work, willing you have nice team around you. There staff benefits wasn't to bad, as long you had money. Hardest part of the job was dealing with customers giving you abuse and they get rewarded. Cineworld only cares about their overall ratings not their staff.
Pros
free films only for you in the first 3 months after that you can bring a friend
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire25 October 2018
Well there is nothing right with this job, even if the job is easier than most that I've had.

Its a 0 hour contract with minimum wage and you are not granteed any hours as well as hoildays and day of request does not get ofraised till after the rota is done. (Even if you put the request in months ago)

The only thing thats good about it, its easy work and you get to see any movie for free and 40% of on snacks.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
0 Hour contract + Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team member (Former Employee) –  Bristol22 September 2018
I loved working for the company and met lovely people that are now my friends for life, fun happy work place.
Managers are easy to get along with asking you do your job, reasonable shifts and also gets 45mins break over 6hrs shift a day.
Pros
40%discount
Cons
No bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Team Member (Customer Services) (Former Employee) –  wood Green17 September 2018
I enjoy the job as a team member at CINEWARD .The colleagues were very friendly. But zero hours contract is not the best option for survive.
They say they give opportunity for carrier but quite often not and they treat people unfairly . Sometime they send you home.Sometime quite latter after 12 you must to stay to do dip cleaning but not provide transport to your home,so you have to take a mini cup and pay from your poket ,so the 1 hour extra work you pay for transport. some of the managers have favorite members team and they give them light duties . The Hollidays are every 3 weeks 1 week holiday. I cannot enjoy my time. You are not allowed to sit at all. The colleagues are very good and helpful but the management is bad Lazy. There is very cold during the winter ..Heavy manual Handel is required .Some ti,me is very stressful.
Pros
no
Cons
some time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Productive
Customer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whiteley14 September 2018
Working for Cineworld was a very fun experience. You were able to see what happens behind the curtain of the business. I would highly recommend it to a friend or family member, even though i only worked one summer, I think it was probably the most enjoyable work environment that I have been in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newport10 September 2018
Cineworld is a great company to work for if you are a student or need a job to fit around your schedule. you can choose your hours to suit your needs and pick up extra hours if you wish. Great company benefits including discounts on food and tickets.
Pros
Free tickets, discounted food
Cons
low pay if under 21
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Fulham, Greater London1 September 2018
- my colleagues were always fun to work with - never a dull moments with them
- typical day at work would be making popcorn, selling tickets, checking tickets and cleaning
- management wasn't really fun except for a handful amount of people
- hardest part of the job was going home really late whenever I do closing shift
- most enjoyable part of the job was just the atmosphere both from my colleagues and the customers
Pros
free tickets
Cons
no free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work experience
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bromley5 August 2018
Whilst working at Cineworld, I was able to build new relationships with colleagues and customers allowing my confidence to blossom.

Cineworld taught me how to have a great work ethic and was the first true job experience to show what work life is all about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful hours god benefits
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon27 July 2018
Team member the job is not great its just cleaning and scooping popcorn. Fun if you like the people around you but thats it. Weekly rota the day before
Pros
free movies and 40% of food and drink
Cons
working till 3am and only a few days notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Glasgow26 June 2018
Cineworld is a fantastic place to work, Staff are all friendly and easy to get along with. Also they have good flexible working hours and is especially good when at college or uni.
Pros
Free Cinema and good discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenwich25 June 2018
This is where I first developed my main skill set to aid in customer assistant. The daily routine in which I participated in was always enjoyable and each day presented a fair and interesting challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bexleyheath11 June 2018
Previously worked in 3 different busy wetherspoons hated that job but would probably pick that over this.
The managers can be passive aggressive and get the lower managers/team leaders to do their dirty work.
A typical day for team members is cleaning and obviously serving.
For team leaders you stand there watching the team members making sure they're busy. As a team leader you aren't really allowed to serve because you're meant to keep yourself free to do refunds etc but this gets very boring and even though you're not meant to be serving or like helping them clean, you're still moaned at for standing there overseeing or letting the team members have a bit fun.
Theres SO much paperwork, every single thing needs to be signed off by the person doing the job/cleaning task/delivery etc and then again by the team leader and then sometimes the duty manager. When its a busy day e.g. half term or bank holiday and the team members literally havent had time to complete a lot of the daily cleaning jobs or the list of jobs that the manager made up in the morning depending on the manager on duty you can get basically told off even though you probably havent even had a chance to breath.
The only thing that makes this job bearable at this moment is the team i work with, a lot of people have been there so long they have kind of just accepted it and ignore the moans from management. it can be a laugh on shift if you have decent managers but 9/10 times i never do.
Pros
Free tickets, discount on food after 3 months, location
Cons
long hours, management, late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice if you're into film
Team member (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes10 June 2018
Although you can enjoy the role if you're only a casual film watcher, it is much more interesting if you really are a film buff. As you may fee out of your depth with other staff otherwise.
You're given the opportunity to watch as many films for free as you can, as long as management agree to it. The main downside to this is, if your friends and you want to take advantage of this perk, you will find yourself constantly at work.
You also get 40% off of food and drinks, which again is a great perk. I can't really think of a downside to this.
You will probably find that you are constantly working past the scheduled times, due to either lack of staff, or because there are more tasks that need to be done than previously thought. But, you do get paid until the minute you clock out.
If you don't drive and work past half 10, the company do pay for a taxi home.
Management seem to be uninterested in staff and mainly spend the majority of time locked away in the office. More often than not, you will become the main one to take and deal with customer complaints. The main fault with this, is because you aren't given full access to the tills, it can mean that a customer complaint can't be dealt with for an extended period of time, even if you know exactly how to solve the issue.
Overall, the place isn't awful to work for, but I wouldn't choose to go back there.
Pros
40% discount on food/drink, free cinema, free taxi home
Cons
unhelpful management, long hours, unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend this company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Braintree5 June 2018
Terrible management and a company that doesn't care about their staff at all. Antisocial hours. Minimum wage. Happy to make staff redundant regularly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated like you're worth nothing!
Cinema Manager / Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent21 May 2018
Maximum effort minium reward!

No progression options due to poorly managed restructure in 2017, removal of several key positions. Lowered staffing levels and upped requirements.

Poorly managed both on site and at regional level, due to the lack of actual in house knowledge vs requirements.
Pros
free films
Cons
no respect from managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laidback workplace
Nominated Team Member (Current Employee) –  Cardiff20 May 2018
A very good in-between job. A complete restructure of management has enabled me to progress with my training and overall mood in the workplace has improved greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineworld. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 163 reviews
530
460
341
217
115

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture