Cineworld Group Plc Employee Reviews

Showing all 59 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty Horrible unprofessional place to work
BBM (Current Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire17 January 2019
Avoid working in this a horrible place to work... The Starbucks store manager treats everyone like dirt because she has a degree in law... honestly this is the worst place you can work where managers don’t care about you and the fact you have a life out side of work. Don’t even attempt to become a BBM because you get no support at all from the manager who is consistently busy but yet only works 20hrs a week.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Rude, horrible manager that has no people skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it... Awful workplace
Team Member - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Enfield, Greater London14 December 2018
Management are totally rude and unprofessional, you are on a zero hours contract so they cut your hours down when it gets quiet, even when they are understaffed they will do anything to cut your hours and you don't get paid for breaks. Don't work here if you value a secure wage.

There is no room for fair progression, you can work hard here but the managers only help the people they favourite the most progress, the real hard workers get no recognition.

They claim to have a scheme to help people progress but will just promote their favourites or the people that suck up to them the most.

You don't get a monthly rota so will have differing hours every week, and again as it's zero hours you're never guaranteed a decent income.

The work is tedious but not too challenging, mainly cleaning and serving food.

If you can work anywhere else then do it, even the free movies aren't worth the stress this place has caused me, it's messed up my sleeping pattern and totally had an effect on my confidence due to dictator like management.
Pros
Free movies and discount
Cons
Zero hour contract, bad management, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible & Homophobic Management
Team Member (Current Employee) –  High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire25 November 2018
Thought it was great for a couple months, but just an overall terrible place to work.
- rota is released at best 4 days before it starts, usually late with no explanation or warning
- zero hours means they will give you one 5 hour shift a week if they want or no hours at all whenever and say it's a "low hours week" even though others still get 5
- management & team leaders date the team members and their friends get favourable treatment e.g. extra hours, better shifts like posters, sitting in the office all day while everyone else has to deep clean
- if you report any incidents like homophobia or saying horrible things about other people on shift, they have a "chat" with that team members and do nothing
- but if you make a complaint about management, you'll get told off and they'll mess up your shifts by making you do crummy jobs, won't "trust you" on shift, stop you from working with your friends ect ect
- they try and cut staff hours at every opportunity and don't care if this means you can't pay rent/afford to live
- you get 5 sickness a year before they have a meeting with you and possibly investigate you so don't bother if you have poor health or mental health or if you're just a normal person who gets sick
- management say they'll be flexible but you have to change your availability over 2 weeks in advance and book holiday weeks off in advance and most of the time it'll get declined anyway (the last 7 of mine have been declined for various different reasons even when I've followed the rules)
- yet management get their rota weeks in advance and the general
  more... manager makes sure each manager gets at least whole one weekend off per month
- if management make mistakes, they won't say sorry. It'll be an excuse and then if you're upset by unfair treatment they'll say you have an attitude problem
- there's no chance to progress, in almost 2 years there have been all new management (but externally hired from other sites and ours as supervisors) and out of the 2 of the people who have been on the supervisor programme for over a year, one made supervisor less than a month ago
- they let people stay on shift working for hours without being clocked in to take advantage, with some unofficial promise of "one day becoming a team leader" but it never happens, it's just free labour
- high turnover rate, and new people get 3 hours "training" shifts in certain areas (not enough times at all but saves actually paying people!)
- the "have your say system" system which allows employees to discuss issues and comments is a joke. You get the chance to write a couple sentences as it's so limited and it takes 6 months to get the results and they don't even go through them! Just send out the next set and wait another 6 months for those results. It's just a way to get a statistics of "how well" they're doing, despite most of the people filling it in have been there for less than a couple months
- even the suggestion box at our site was removed after people used it as a way to complain (as there was no other way to do it) and management don't want to hear any issues
- when you are on shift, management spend all day watching the cameras to make sure you're constantly cleaning something or doing pointless tasks while they sit in the office,listening to music and chatting
- Talking to HR is pointless because the whole team will know any problems that you have immediately, due to gossiping by managers and even little post it notes they leave in their office that anyone can see, with "private" and "confidential" information on it
- staff benefits of free movies and discount are great, but if you cannot attend the staff meeting at 9am on a weekend for whatever reason (i.e a second job, it's EASTER and you want to see your family) then it's immediately revoked for a month
- they have pointless little competitions where you win nothing but some stupid name like "cinestar" to promote the idea that you're valued but really it's just a way to get their team to push sales so the company makes lots more money, and the team receive no actual benefits
- you get a Christmas staff party, but most other "events" are cancelled or no one cares enough to plan then
- the heating/air conditioning in our building for behind concessions has been broken for over a year. When it was minus temperatures, we all froze and weren't allowed to wear warmer clothes and in summer in 30°c+ we weren't even allowed to have water bottles out front by the tills. We had to wait for it to be quiet to go out back and drink some water.
- no student leave or Christmas holiday, staff members are mostly students so everyone has to work Christmas eve, boxing day and over news years
- the only reason most people work there (including myself) is because there are some lovely team members and also minimum wage is paid everywhere else
- they only care about the customers, not the staff at all
  less
Pros
Higher than minimum wage
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working mum
Team Member (Former Employee) –  St. Neots, Cambridgeshire15 October 2018
I loved working for my local cinema as a part time colleague.I had the flexibility to drop a shift during the week when I had school holidays and still have weekend shifts all year round.
The management was ok, I didn’t have any problems with any of the managers I worked with.
The job does require a lot of cleaning, good communication, customer service skills and able to work on initiative as well as working in a team.
But I’d highly recommend the job, you can progress quickly!! Pay is good to!!
The only reason I left was to get back into an industry I wanted to follow as a career.
Pros
Free films, 40% off concessions, good paye
Cons
The sickness policy is very strict, so if you are prone to illness then I don’t recommend this job to you!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swindon29 September 2018
Found to be bullied slot I'm disabled to needed to rest from time to time and others made nausty comments.
Managers did nothing or even joined in.
Not accommodating to days off due to my condition and found they were even worse when I was pregnant to.
Pros
Free films
Cons
On feet for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Castleford, West Yorkshire19 September 2018
Hours rubbish
Management rubbish
Pay isn’t that great
Say they will work around your availability and then never do
Always taking on new members of staff when they don’t have the hours
Pros
Free films
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience
Team Leader Team member (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire14 September 2018
During my time working for Cineworld I learnt how to talk to people, I learnt the value of friendships and love, I learnt new things and they were very patient with me.

The progression process was very slow and unfortunately left because I felt I wasn’t getting very far no matter how hard I tried.
Pros
Discount and free movies
Cons
Difficult to progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire14 September 2018
job was ok paid the bills and met some great people, free films and good discounts in the cinema and around the complex, not much parking during busy periods and the staff carpark is very small.
Pros
free films, discount
Cons
long hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply unless desperate...
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow7 August 2018
Zero hour contracts
Two unpaid breaks - you spend 9 hours here for a 7.5-hour shift with 1.5-hours of breaks
Management is unapproachable and unfriendly
Very cliquey
Pros
Cinepass
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and flexible
Team Member - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne, Greater Manchester24 July 2018
good job throughout my studies, provided with the opportunity to change my availability to become more flexible in order to complete studies, LLB Law 2.1 honours was achieved.
Pros
free films
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes you can have a laugh
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Boldon Colliery20 May 2018
The company as a whole isn't a bad place to work for. However sometimes it feels like one rule for one and a different rule for another. Zero hour contract but hours are good. Managers can be patronising
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Zero hour contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, but hours are horrid
Team Member/Stock (Former Employee) –  Enfield21 April 2018
It’s a nice casual job, sometimes stressful. Everyone there is nice, but hours are rediculous. Not many perks! Managers can be rude although some are very nice and kind.
Pros
Lay ins.
Cons
No social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Starbucks store manager (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire3 April 2018
I was a manager here and I worked in two different sites. First site I worked in was great, had no problems, paid well etc.

Second site I worked in was awful, was there for a month. Had 3 weeks training for management and was then told to leave by management. Supervisors disrespect you as a manager, and you are just a number in a company.
Pros
Free films
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Workplace
Team Member (Former Employee) –  West Sussex21 March 2018
Zero hours contract. Given your timetable just one week ahead, your hours and shifts depending on how management and team leaders felt about you as an individual. Certain team leaders and all management have a messiah complex and would not even want to know your first name.

Very high and constant staff turnover. Few staff actually happy within their job role. Very cliquey staff groups, some of them were really nice though.

Management "team" treat the majority of staff with very little respect and yet expect the world from you in return. AVOID this position unless using it as a very short stop gap.
Pros
Free cinema tickets - if management felt ok with you
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous - Do as I Say and not as I do culture
Shift supervisor (Former Employee) –  Falkirk, Falkirk20 March 2018
Genuinely up there with the worst places I have ever worked.

I worked for Starbucks franchise held by Cineworld and it was just terrible. The franchise just doesn’t work, you do a Starbucks job but are employed by Cineworld and they expect you to follow their rules and this just doesn’t work. Starbucks as a company are great to work for but you receive none of the Starbucks benefits because you work for Cineworld.

They generate the rota in line with the cinemas estimates for screenings and this is no use - there would be times when the Starbucks was very busy but the cinema was quiet and there was no staff as they had predicted it to be quiet.

Despite having a Starbucks store manager, they report to the cinema management and they get little say in anything, you’d follow your Starbucks managers direction and then be instructed to do something different by the cinema management who have no understanding of Starbucks - micro management at its worst.

You’d constantly be told by Cineworld to ‘integrate’ and that the cinema and Starbucks staff were one team, yet there was a clear divide and you were never made to feel like that.

There was constantly vists planned by higher management where you’d be instructed to scrub every square inch of the building in preperation for them to never turn up or to do a cleaning audit.

There is also a serious lack of punishment and guidance for staff that miss behave or fail to meet the standards, if you did good at your job you were never thanked and rewarded, yet staff that were the opposite got away with everything.

Cineworld’s
  more... systems and procedures themself are archaic, you get your rota a week before and they expect you to drop everything despite being on zero hour contracts. The building itself is also in need of an upgrade, the whole time I worked there only 2 sets out of the 4 main doors were in working order, and this was never fixed no matter how many times it was escalated.  less
Pros
Starbucks training and knowledge, some co-workers, hourly rate
Cons
Everything not listed as a pro
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Nottingham16 February 2018
I worked here for just over a year and while the majority of team members were welcoming, if the management and their clique didn't like you, you were treated badly. New managers were brought in from a different site and had no sense of team bonding or the way this site worked. New team members were not being trained properly and the older team members got given the blame for it. The managers had their own sector that they were in charge of (e.g. retail, HR, admin) however it showed that many managers were incompetent at their job. The rota was always out late, with only 2 days notice of when we would be working. Stock was always down or missing - again team members would be blamed for this. Managers suffered no consequences for their mistakes. Managers and team leaders would spend their shifts sat in the office - mostly on facebook (i cant even begin to list the amount of "frapes" i witnessed because of facebook being left logged in in the office). Team leaders had a negative attitude and stayed off the shop floor unless they were specifically asked for - and even then they were reluctant to come. They pride themselves on paying higher than the minimum wage, however £6.60 an hour goes nowhere, especially when you only get 5 hour shifts. Feedback from team members was not accepted by management and anyone who spoke out against management were punished or management found a way to let them go. You are only allowed 2 sick days in a 12 month period before receiving an informal discussion. If you reach 5 sick days in a 12 month period then you receive your final warning and may  more... be dismissed. Overall, this is a terrible place to work, management and team leaders make the shift harder than it has to be for such an easy job, you feel alienated if management don't like you, and hours are unreliable.  less
Pros
Free films
Cons
Management, training, breaks, hours, rotas
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great short time job
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire4 February 2018
Hours are terrible. Work ethics are also terrible, managers pick favourites and boost their careers over anyone else. They never pick experience, they always choose people who they prefer or have been there longer.

Higher positions do not see anyone as anything other than a 'red shirt'. All employees are childish, supervisors and managers included. Rumours get spread around between them and they talk about their employees behind their backs like school children
Pros
Free films
Cons
0 hour contract, rare chances to advance, long and unbearable shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but not forever
Multifunctional Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire10 January 2018
A great job if you're starting out or working during education, but completely unfeasible as a permanent career. Progression is almost Impossible and the working hours are exceptionally unsociable.
Pros
Free films, discounts with nearby businesses
Cons
Long hours, hard to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People don't seem to care.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Warwickshire12 December 2017
I have worked for this company for 1 and a half years, my store employs roughly 30 staff members and I can count on 1 hand how many people actually do their job, yet no one is ever disciplined. The work hours are sent out 5 days in advance and number of shifts and shift times vary massively. Very unprofessional environment and has given me a lot of restless nights, which shouldn't be happening when I'm 20 and only working here while I set up my career. Job is easy, but you may find yourself doing a lot more than you should be while other people stand around talking.
Pros
Free films for you and a guest, staff screenings, 40% food and drink.
Cons
0 hour contract, not much notice, unprofessional and lazy staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking Management
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Gloucester16 November 2017
Never any guarantee of hours, incompetent management, very little chance to progress. Would not recommend to anyone unless it was a temporary thing until they got the next job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cineworld Group Plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 60 reviews
57
411
310
29
123

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.5Culture