Church of England Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work here as a cleaner
Cleaner/Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Leicestershire18 September 2019
Good place to work. And term time suits me due to commitments. I find the hours suit me too. The evening hrs are flexible too. The staff at the school are very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never off duty
Vicar (Current Employee) –  Surrey17 August 2019
No two days the same. Never off duty. One day off per week. House comes with the job. Organisation confused and uncertain about its purpose and future.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Never off duty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and family like
Voluntary Worker (Current Employee) –  Norwich6 June 2019
Church of England always has a way to create a family within both, small and large communities. From my experiences, they always try to be or become inclusive, despite pushing-out comfort zones. There's always a large variety of services, from Sunday services to concerts; always something for everybody.
Pros
Try to be inclusive
Cons
Can be stuck in their ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  East Cowes, Isle of Wight27 February 2019
Spent a lovely year working with two parishes on the Isle of Wight. My boss on the Island came and officiated at my wedding. A friend I made on the Island came and did the sermon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team and Activity arrangements
Child voluntry worker (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom17 January 2019
In this volunteering job working as a team is something of much importance as we have to arrange and also carry out activities together. We make sure that we meet at regular times to ensure this is carried out .
It is also very important that working individually as an activity leader because when carrying out them you have to say what they are and give information to people about it .
Regular meetings are important because of the way we base all of our activities on one theme.
Pros
Everyone getting along and giving lots of ideas
Cons
Sometimes themes can get mixed up if meetings have not been planned well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace but productive
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Westminster, Greater London30 September 2018
Able to practice and build competence, deliver transformational change programmes and projects and improve into a stable, reliable, resilient always on service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides pastoral support to its community at defining moments in its life
Lay Reader (Current Employee) –  Evesham, Worcestershire8 January 2018
Always varied. Largely you control your own diary.
To know myself and God well.
This varies according to where in the parish you work.
Fairly laid back; except for funerals.
Funerals are the hardest but also the most rewarding aspect.
See above
Pros
The fringe benefits are out of this world!
Cons
Outsiders judge you before they know you .
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Bayston Hill, Shropshire8 January 2018
I worked as a youth worker and worship leader.

While the hours are tough and the demands can be high the job is rewarding

The people I worked with her great
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community work
Associate minister (Current Employee) –  Essex31 August 2017
It's great to work with the community , to help people in need and makes a difference through ministry. Very rewarding change the people lives in their community
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyable work in beautiful location
Supported Housing Manager (Former Employee) –  Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire21 May 2017
Here I managed a new complex of 31 apartments for retired clergy/clergy widows. I had the job of employing all the staff, dealing with staff budgets, budgets for the complex, arranging staff training, having meetings with the builders until such time that their contract with us ended, arranging contractors for various things, interviewing prospective residents to ensure the complex was suitable for them and showing them available apartments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place but needs lots of change to succeed
COO (Former Employee) –  Suffolk30 April 2017
The organisation varies enormously through out the UK. Some Diocese are really well run and others are pretty average to poor. They need a lot of new people to shake the place up a bit and modernise it.
Pros
Nice folk
Cons
Lots been stuck there for years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows us to demonstrate loving one another
Priest (Current Employee) –  Somerset21 January 2017
I want to care for people, to meet them in their needs. I work well independently but also enjoy being part of a team, both of which happens with this role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, brilliant place
Assistant Teacher (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  sheffield14 April 2016
loved doing my school work experience here, all the teachers were friendly, i loved helping the children read,spell,learn.
i made a friendly connection with the children and they felt comfortable to come to me if needed anything.
i enjoyed being there for the 2 weeks of work experiance and carried on going once a week for the afternnon afterwards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Resource Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London28 February 2016
A lovely and chilled place to work - everyone gets along and their sense of humour also enables productivity.

What more can I say?!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Church of England is a very fulfilling place to work and if one is called into Ordained Ministry the privilegde is tremendous.
Honorary Priest with Permission to Officiate (Current Employee) –  North Devon3 December 2015
I have had many happy years working with and for the Church of England. Despite the fact that I am no longer a stipendiary clergyman I continue in the role as an honorary priest.
Pros
There are no perks of the job - not even a free burial!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and Productive
Voluntary Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Church, ENG24 May 2015
Helping the elderly with I.T learning/training.
Presentations and E-support for the church programmes/activities.
Collation and data entry for church electoral roll/record purposes
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment in which to work
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Wakefield10 February 2015
• Liaison between members of the clergy and contractors to identify and resolve emergency/maintenance issues with properties.
• Making sure that the department databases/filing systems are kept up to date so information is easily retrieved.
• Processing contractors’ invoices in accordance with the department’s guidelines.
Cons
Not a permanent role
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not productive and not a fun workplace
jumble sale person (Former Employee) –  Salford, ENG18 November 2014
i do not have any comments to state on my employment as jumble sale person at the st pauls church which was arranged via the government job centre through learndirect in order to 'update my computer skills'
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 18Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and varied
Vicar, Hospital Chaplain, Ambulance Chaplain (Former Employee) –  Various places18 September 2014
Apart form Sunday, when there were set services, the daily pattern varied because it was led by by events and situations.
I worked with both other professional colleagues and voluntary assistants.
The hardest part was the sorrow from illness and death, although it was rewarding to be able to be there and give comfort, support and direction.
The most enjoyable part was being with different people from different walks of life.
Pros
Working with people within a community.
Cons
Not a great deal of support or understanding from ‘line’ management/
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and different
Church Growth Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, ENG11 December 2013
Liaising with 15 parishes.
Planning and delivering training and other resources.
Chairing committees and attending other meetings.
Communication is the most difficult aspect, together with dealing with preconceptions.
The people - their variety and sincerity - are the best part of the job.
Pros
Highly flexible
Cons
Long periods of relative inactivity
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Church of England. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
58
46
37
20
13

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Church of England Reviews by Location