Chesterfield Borough Council Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging place to work
Property Manager (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire8 August 2018
Antiquated employment policies and procedures - not flexible enough.
Poor staff management.
Poor strategic management.
No team ethos.
Silo working.
Change management culture does not exist.
Pros
Flexible working.
Cons
No recognition of good work. Poor salaries even by LA standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire7 August 2018
I arrive early for my class to make sure I am ready to start straight away. I teach various classes body combat, spinning and kettlebells etc.. There is no hard part to this job as I love it to much and the most enjoyable part is my participants enjoy what I teach and how I teach and leaving with a smile on their faces
Pros
get to do a job i love
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very nice work place a lot of bullying going off with the team leaders
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Stone gravels30 July 2018
I worked on drainage/gardening/General dogs body it was ok when I first started and then has the weeks went by that's when the bullying started from one of the team leaders i .went to see management all they did was sweep it under carpet .I thought bullying was illegal especially at council what happened to zero tolerance. What a load of rubbish glad to be out of that job would never recommend working for theses all they do is lie to you
Pros
Finish at 12 on friday
Cons
Bullying /management lieing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place
apprentice Carpenter and Joiner (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire18 March 2018
working there as an apprentice was fulfilling and learned a lot about the particular trade I was doing, which progressed to a full-time job working as part of a small team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at chesterfield borough council
Painting and Decorating Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire14 February 2018
As I was on an apprenticeship my day would start with joining the team going out to properties ,looking at what materials were needed
then going back to the yard and putting a request for them .
We would then collect materials and attend the property on job sheet
Whilst there my main duties were preparing walls and painting clearing and cleaning area for any other trade needed to attend the property.
I had to go college one day a week to learn the theory side of painting and decorating.
The hardest part of the job was the exams has I struggled with the English and maths side of the apprenticeship as so I could not carry on
The management were very understanding.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people everyday and listening to there problems has I worked. .
Pros
Sociable hours
Cons
Exams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Customer Service Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Derbyshire7 January 2018
Working here was great at the start with lovely colleagues who are very helpful along with managers who are very welcoming and supportive. On the other hand after a couple of weeks it was very stressful and difficult as training wasn't the best.
Pros
Friendly and helpful colleagues
Cons
Pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer everything is to the book
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield29 August 2017
Only worked as a cleaner but they always paid on time and offered plenty of work if you wanted it all the staff are nice and most locations have tea/coffee facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Stunt Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mother Ship29 June 2017
Thankfully a short term contract at a time of change no one knew what they were doing, worrying dark times not sad to be out of it all.

Nice people shame about the managers.
Pros
Handy for town
Cons
Parking at cost & not near..beware!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed my time working for the Council
Receptionist/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire20 June 2017
Really enjoyed my time working for the Council.

Dedicated to training and development of its employees, I had a really good experience here.

And would deffinately return
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grounds maintenance
Grounds Maintenance Operative (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield6 May 2017
Worked here seasonally really enjoyed it good management being outdoors Monday to Friday no weekend work so fit in very well with home life sadly had to leave as needed all year round work.
Pros
Monday to friday, outdoors
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy
Clerical assistant (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield16 March 2017
Where i work at the minute is a great place to work, there is plenty to do in the office, meeting and greeting visitors, sorting incoming and outgoing post, including franking. Deal with purchase orders and invoices, order stationary and buffets for organisations holding conferences at our venue. Putting out tea, coffee an biscuits for conferences and signing in visitors. Using the switchboard and directing calls through to the right department.
Pros
Get to meet new people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stable employer
Housing Repairs Manager (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire17 January 2017
A very varied and interesting place to work with a full work load the days pass very quickly.

An excellent management team to work with., very supportive

Hardest part of job is dealing with complaining tenants

Rewards of the job are providing a good service for the customers
Pros
flexi working
Cons
not a great deal of empowerment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be a happy place to work
Careline Operator (Former Employee) –  chesterfield2 July 2016
I used to love my job working at Chesterfield Borough Council but the job I applied for 12 years ago is not the job i left last month, my working day consisted of answering call sending responders out to assist where help was needed, calling emergency services when required, social services were called for personal care for our clients and when meal times were missed too for clients, updating our system for clients details which was very important, data protection played a very important in my job role, my team leader was very approachable, but for management level in my opinion further training was needed, this had been suggested by myself and many of my colleagues, my co-workers were a lovely team to work with and we all got on very well together and carried out our jobs to the best of our ability,
Cons
24/7 shift cover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial and Friendly Atmosphere
Payments Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, ENG4 May 2015
Overall my time at Chesterfield Borough Council was an interesting experience. I learnt a variety of new skills and met some extremely friendly people.

My co-workers were very helpful and welcoming, they always provided their help for me and always made sure I was doing ok. They were all easily approachable and all-round lovely people!

The skills I learnt varied from inputting information electronically, to answering the phone calls from the public and provided them with the information they needed. All the skills helped me to boost my confidence and gave me very beneficial experience for the future.
Pros
Friendly Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
COMMERCIAL PROPERTY SOLICITOR (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, ENG21 January 2015
am currently working part time casually as a consultant so do not really take part in any of the benefits extra curricular etc which employees benefit from so it is not possible to comment or review them as an employer, sorry. Alongside i continue to work in private practice on a part time basis at KieranClarkeGreen in chesterfield
Pros
see above -not applicable
Cons
see above, not applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So many things to do, you're spoilt for choice.
Gymnastics Coach - Level 1 (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, ENG19 November 2014
Facilities are great. Main swimming pool, with diving boards, smaller teaching pool. Sports hall, gym, squash courts, fitness classes, trampolining, gymnastics, gym tots, creche, great cafe at very good prices. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great place to work.
Pros
Ability to progress up to Management/senior level
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chesterfield Borough Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 17 reviews
57
44
33
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Chesterfield Borough Council Reviews by Location