Cheshire West and Chester Council Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search See all 46 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Local Land Charges Officer (Former Employee) –  My Base move to Chester5 September 2019
Many good times, made some good friends, lots of benefits, flexible mobile working and Some days working from home, Lot of training available for new skills.
Pros
good working environment
Cons
Moved base to Chester so lots of traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Advising head (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire15 April 2019
Fanatstic people in an amzaing enviroment.
All team members are focused and striving to achieve the same goal.
A perfect working palce.
Nothing more to say....
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
Strategic Commissioner (Current Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire9 April 2019
Recent changes has made this a difficult workplace
5 Managers in 3 years
Constant change in direction and leadership creates challenges
Great team who are experienced and skilled
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
Too many changes lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port6 April 2019
Great and helpful staff
I was able to 'travel' between departments so I knew what each department does
1 hour lunch break
Great location in the town centre
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schemes for younger development.
Corporate (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire10 February 2019
Great schemes for younger individual development. Good experiences and mentoring available, actively ensure that those that one to progress are given the opportunity to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Workplace
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire2 September 2018
Every day involved meeting a variety of different people, requiring direction for job searching.
Daily input of client records combined with reception duties and general clerical duties.
Pros
Meeting different people
Cons
Variable workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Comms and Marketing (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire2 May 2018
Great team and friendly members of staff. Great place to work and very professional.
I have learned that I need to prioritise tasks. The management team are great under pressure, great at handling issues in the work place and great to talk to.
The most enjoyable part of the job is working as team and learning things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for.
Integrated Early Support Manager (Former Employee) –  North West11 April 2018
The emphasis on multi agency response to need was good, with some very positive results for families. Staff within the service received appropriate training to support their roles, and there were good policies and procedures in place.

The staff within the service were extremely dedicated and focused on positive outcomes for staff. The culture was one of mutual respect and support.
Pros
Excellent training provided to staff, and a supportive management structure.
Cons
Too many targets to meet that impacted at times on priorities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience.
Teaching Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee) –  Winsford, Cheshire11 January 2018
The experience with Cheshire West and Chester Council is great. The staff are nice, the work is easily understood and done. I have learned new things while working there and thoroughly enjoy it.
Pros
Nice staff.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Homeless Officer (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire8 January 2018
This is a great company to work for and I have very fond memories of being a part of this organisation. I made a lot of great friends in colleagues and managers as well as people outside of this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employer
IT (Former Employee) –  Cheshire6 November 2017
The best part of the job was meeting new customers.
The managers were too busy and always changing the rules.
The offices were run down and the computers were slow and out of date.
The hours were flexible and pay average.
Cons
Terrible old fashioned and run down office accommodation and old computers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment.
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Winsford, Cheshire25 September 2017
In a typical day I would complete home visits, complete assessments and direct work with children. Love working with children and their families in their homes or schools. I worked in a very busy child in need team with amazing members of staff. Work life balance was challenge and sometimes the pressure and expectations put on newly qualified staff was unrealistic and unfair.
Pros
Working with children and families.
Cons
Management attitudes towards newly qualified staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health Support Worker
Gypsy and Traveller Liaison Officer (Current Employee) –  Civic way, Ellesmere Port19 September 2017
Worked for Cheshire west and Chester for many years now. The hours are good and my manager is very good and understanding.
I have learnt alot about mental health and have been able to progress in my career due to this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
SQL Server Consultant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire8 September 2017
Working on incidents

Planning projects, meetings etc

Management were great

Hardest part was finding parking, but once I found the local car park getting in was fine

Learning new tech was cool
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yeha
Business Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire5 September 2017
Arrive at 8:30 and work until 5 nice people to work with and nice environment but the job tasks I find boring and teidius and therefore do not fully enjoy the position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking after young people and children from the ages of 6 - 17 years of age with complex health needs and disabilities.
Short break care worker (Former Employee) –  Winsford, Cheshire, UK1 September 2017
Looking after young people and children from the ages of 6 - 17 years of age with complex health needs and disabilities, we offer respite services to families and carers providing with a professional approach with a caring environment whilst safe guarding them in or care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive workplace
Student Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port17 July 2017
Completing student work experience at Cheshire West and Chester Council, largely working in the finance department enabled me to develop my workplace skills, particularly in administration and I felt well supported by the staff members who I was working with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and rewarding workplace.
Family Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Cheshire12 April 2017
-rewarding job
-opportunities for further trainin and professional development
-fantastic workplace culture
-great work-life balance
-opportunities for career progression
Pros
professional development
Cons
contract type
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job, would count elections again
Vote Counter (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire12 March 2017
Whilst only for one night the job, I enjoyed it thoroughly. I enjoyed working as part of a team and having a goal to aim for. This job was a great experience for me, as it allowed me to build upon skills I already had and gain new ones, such as working to a tight deadline.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rewarded for hard work
Civil Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  town hall14 February 2017
Worked via agency for council. Well treated, well paid, good management. Would happily work for them again. Was made to feel welcome by staff and management.
Pros
Excellent pay structure
Cons
90 mile a day commute, but worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cheshire West and Chester Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 46 reviews
518
416
39
20
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Cheshire West and Chester Council Reviews by Location