Cherry Lane Garden Centre Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Sales/Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Towcester24 March 2019
Nice colleagues and good customer relationships. Roles were often mixed up and switched about so you would not always do the same thing. Management assistance when required could be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co workers but not impressed overall
Children's Entertainer (Former Employee) –  Doncaster18 March 2019
My shifts were constantly changing and if I came in anything except early I was told I was late (which was false). My superior was not the most friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire11 January 2019
very good lay out of shop
staff are very friendly and helpful
staff get on well have a good laugh
the cafe is very nice food is very nice
i would give 10 out of 10
Pros
fun staff
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible environment
Assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Long Melford, Suffolk6 September 2018
This was a good environment to work in with great flexibility to make alterations to the store.
It was not particularly easy to progress within this company.
Pros
good working conditions
Cons
low rate of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Towcester, Northamptonshire31 July 2018
Good way to build up confidence talking to a variety of different people each day with a good team to work around.
Main duties include dealing with customers and stock replenishment.
Management were very encouraging and helpful.
Opportunities to help with displays and new layouts for the store especially at seasonal times of the year.
Always on your feet but with breaks in between.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and very busy environment
Stock Replenishment (Current Employee) –  Potterspury, Northamptonshire29 July 2018
Very friendly and relaxed environment to work in.
Very flexible and understanding with personal circumstances regarding working hours and family issues.
Cons
Very physical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall terrible experience
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Potterspury16 July 2018
Overall poor working environment. Poor managerial skills. No leadership, no demos on how things worked. Poor wage. Typical day was facing up products and being on tills all day. I learned how to use a till and how to help customers. Management was terrible. Hardest part of the job was being there. Most enjoyable part was a tip I received from a customer.
Pros
Got paid
Cons
Not paid enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for young person seeking their first job.
Saturday Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Long Melford2 September 2017
Dealing with the general public and meeting their needs is a typical working day. I feel I have learnt more about myself and my capabilities when communicating with other people.
I enjoy interacting with other members of staff and completing the tasks that in hand.
Pros
Staff discount.
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and lively
Play Worker (Former Employee) –  Crawley14 August 2017
A fun position to take up. Easy going yet professional work life. Great characters to be around. Good salary. Opportunity to always be outdoor, come rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations for little reward
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  UK4 May 2017
The job itself is absolutely perfect, the company just expect too much and are not prepared to reward their staff accordingly for their hard work and dedication.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great staff
Cafe Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire1 February 2017
Typical day would involve serving customers on the till, taking out food orders, making drinks, general cleaning and washing lots of pots. Hardest part was if we were short staffed as it is a very busy Cafe, best parts chatting to customers, making sure they were happy with everything.
Cons
Not very accommodating with part time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Temporary Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Fritton15 November 2016
loved working at the garden centre
was lovely with all the staff
staff where polite and help me when i was learning
people where happy to help
all management was great
Pros
Everything was great
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Pleasant atmosphere!
Weekend Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tickhill, ENG20 August 2015
Very nice place to work, challenging and rewarding, ideal for first time workers. brilliant co-workers and brilliant management.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An average Saturday job
Saturday Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlton Colville, ENG20 March 2015
pros: long lunch breaks and other breaks, free tea/coffee
cons: very poor wages in comparison to friends doing similar jobs at other companies,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good part time or first job
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Towcester, ENG17 March 2015
on days were stock was brought in it was all right as you have something to do but other then that is very simple, easy to do and learn. i have learnt how to work a till and a ticket machine and how a store works, i do fine the it isnt organised at all most staff are just doing what the like. everyone at cherry lane are really nice and lovley i got on with everyone there.
the hardest part of the job was trying to get some product to scan, there is no hard part to the job really.
meeting people, all of the staff are really nice and i loved getting to know them and the costumers some who like to chat will tell you there life story.
Pros
staff are really nice
Cons
its not challenging enough for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Garden Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, ENG27 May 2014
Responsible for the day-to-day running of the garden centre ensuring effective team structure in place to achieve and exceed key given targets.

Analysing product and sales reports to maximise full availability and company target margins. This is a challenge due to influences of head office changing stock levels replenishment to suit their buying and not the demographic and size of the store.

Responsible for ensuring a high standard of customer service and merchandising is achieved throughout the year.

Accountability of annual stock takes.

A friendly helpful team in store which made the job enjoyable.

The hardest part is achieving the goals with a minimum number of trained staff or the support to train the staff to a higher level.

The enjoyable part of the job is having the influence to a degree of laying out the store, though this was becoming harder due to additional senior management.
Pros
Company Car and 20% staff discount
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Cherry Lane Garden Centre reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cherry Lane Garden Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 18 reviews
54
46
36
21
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Cherry Lane Garden Centre Reviews by Location