Chartwells Employee Reviews

Found 133 reviews matching the search See all 1,789 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job
Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire25 January 2020
I had a fantastic time working for chartwells the only reason I left was to have a family I really wish I was back there now my family have grown up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day would include making fresh sandwiches and salads and making sure the kitchen was clean
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire6 January 2020
A typical day would be to do snacks and drinks for morning break in the school.Prepare assorted sandwiches and a salad bar and fresh fruit. And drinks for lunch time,set up and serve the lunches,clean the kitchen and dining hall and finally brush and mop the kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kent4 January 2020
I enjoyed working for chartwells the staff are friendly and a good atmosphere. Wages are good and so are the hours I could drop off my children and collect them from school. I would work for chartwells again if I had the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire3 January 2020
Work in school get holidays off with my kids. Perfect for me. Would like a few more hours, but job doesn't warrant it. Not much call for overtime. Still Love it though
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bristol4 December 2019
Worst company I've ever worked for no communication no support poor management can't trust anyone luckily the team of ladies i work with is the best bit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable & productive.
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wingrove Primary School3 December 2019
A typical day at work, getting the kitchen organised & tidied before service, benches cleared off, floors swept & mopped, serving food to the children, cleaning trays cups & cutlery, dishwasher usage, washing of big pans & taurine's the clearing & cleaning of the dining area. There are no hard parts about the job & the most enjoyable bit about it is getting finished. You learn a lot of skills in this job & how to be practical on health & safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idiots
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wallsend25 November 2019
Absolute joke , I was on a training course, after a month , they said I was employed but had to wait another five months to get a wage , then they let me go so to get others on training, so not having to pay them a wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire18 November 2019
Worked for them poor management likes to discuss your c.v. with other staff members. So data protection is not used there. Very poor management when other staff are nasty to you. Other staff taking breaks after only working 2 hours and hiding in a classrooms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good if your face fits
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newport30 October 2019
The best thing about working for this company is if you have young children it's while kids are in school an also get the half terms off with them. If your face does not fit with your area manager you are forgotten no matter how much you help them out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, happy, good, good, happy
Key account manager (Former Employee) –  London28 October 2019
great work place and challenge . Great systems and people
Good, learn lots, numbers great , progression, progression good, training challenge and great fun challenge and great game for your family and friends to spend time playing it fun to learn new challenge or learn a challenge and learn to
Dog dog

Good
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning supervisor
Cleaning supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire22 October 2019
Enjoyed 14 years as Cleaning supervisor
For the Sure Start Children's centre Tamworth Staffs
Enjoyed meeting new people and new staff along the way.
Gained a few Certificates along the way.
My position has been made redundant as of January 2020
So looking for a light sitting down job with general work room management.
I work hard, and have excellent time keeping.
Excellent management skill.
Good stock keeping skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team but very little support from company
Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 October 2019
Very little in the way of position induction.
Just left to get on with finding your own way which was fine but frustrating at times. A better management induction would save costs and have all employers on the same bus.
Cons
Lacking induction
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chartwells
Cafe Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport19 October 2019
Really friendly employers, I wish I could have had a lot more hours than they could have offered me. Loved my job, it is very fast pace but with a friendly bunch you don't notice the workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking notbinnline with what they expect form you
I worked for chartwells for 10 years thenoay is rubbish the whole experience is dreadful I now work for a company as a catering assistant earning more there than I did for chartwells as a manager ! The whole set up is like slave labour the things toy have to do. When I first started we had 3 office staff by then end I was doing all 3 rolls on my own needles to say it got so stressful ! No praise for passing all the audits but I failed one and they came down on me like a ton of bricks ! Dont work for them is all I can say Nopraise when I got 100% on my
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging times!
Catering Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire3 October 2019
Having worked in catering for 13 years, I have never met a more incompetent organisation. They seem to stumble from one crisis to another. Not very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked term time in a school so was good to work around children
Cook/Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, Newport20 September 2019
A great company to work for and really enjoyed my time working for them..Only left as i needed to be working more hours a week and they didnt have any more hours to offer 😕
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & friendly place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lindfield, West Sussex15 September 2019
They give fantastic training.
The hours are good & there are opportunities to progress in your career.
The job is very fast paced and does involve daily strenuous tasks.
The team are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy workplace
Lunchtime Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Simpson, Milton Keynes22 August 2019
Chartwells is a catering company that provide school lunches across the uk. They provide our school with meals to be heated and served to the children.
Pros
Always busy
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Helston, Cornwall17 August 2019
This is one of the worst company’s I have worked for. They set unrealistic targets and then keep changing them. The management was very poor. One particular manager had very poor communication skills. They reduced the staff so that 1 person was doing the equivalent of 3 person’s work. High turnover of staff.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time here
Duties as a SENIOR COOK (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire17 August 2019
I loved working here although I don't think the head office where very nice. My line manager was the best and I can't complain about working with her or the company overall.
Pros
Free lunches, uniform and great collegues
Cons
Paper work was abit tough and too many formalities came in to place
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chartwells. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,789 reviews
5479
4517
3451
2157
1185

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture