Challenge Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rates of pay and great work opportunities
FLT Driver (Current Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire30 August 2019
Started with challenge last week got my first pay this week and was even paid early on Thursday night, management go above and beyond to help you with all issues.
Very good agency to work for 10/10
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid avoid avoid
Recruitment (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester25 August 2019
Try to avoid this company, they will lie to you and not pay you on time. If you don’t get paid on a Friday they will not sort it until the following friday. ( very stressful for minimum wage workers) I worked direct for this company and the management are thick and unprofessional... they change payroll every few months through umbrella companies and they ask for bank details over the phone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Con
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside9 July 2019
Do not go on the course it's a con you won't get a job at the end of it it's a govement scheme to make them selfs money
Pros
Con
Cons
Con
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
HGV Driver class 1 (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire10 February 2019
Absolutely awful excuse of a company, every week having to chase wages, only get paid part wages then waiting days for a but more and usually by the 3rs payment would have a full wage, then the next pay day it all starts again every week without fail, staff are rude and unreliable and prepared to lie to you all the time,
Pros
None
Cons
Everything is bad about this excuse of a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 67No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go there they will cheat you
Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London19 January 2019
Full cheat agency
Payment with 1 month delay
They trying to fool the driver lie him about what client said and what money pay the client for the driver . So always agency will try to scam the driver
Every positive things what you hear about that agency are lies
They will tell the driver to go at client and client will put you to wait bcz they do not have nothing work for you..so 7.8 ponds only ...u lost the day
Pros
Zero
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Mail Sorter (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire30 December 2018
Worked with these for a few weeks for royal mail, granted they get you into work, but watch out for your pay as they don't pay you on time, then blame the company for timesheets not being sent in. Always telling people there's no work available but yet do inductions everyday, which doesn't make sense apart from getting people on their books for their fat Xmas bonuses. When they eventually pay you 5 days late you've got money missing and they don't do anything to chase it up apart from "we will call you back" and never do. There's better agencies out there but it's not the worst I've been to being blunt.
Pros
Good hours, regular work
Cons
Missing pay, silver spoon up their backsides
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They waste your time
warehouse pick and pack (Former Employee) –  B and M Speke5 December 2018
THey made me ride 50 miles from Widnes o Speke to check the area and sign a contract with B and M but they have never offered me any job. I have signed with B and M warehouse but when I called the agency they had a bad attitude and acted negatively.
I highly recommend avoiding this agency, most of the jobs that they have to offer are ultra low end anyway and they have a negative attitude about it.
Pros
nothing
Cons
wastes your time
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Middlewich, Cheshire3 December 2018
Was always able to get over time but the work it not the most interesting but was managed well and was taught how everything worked and what all my jobs were before they put me on a real ahift
Pros
Good management
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Picker
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Middlewich30 November 2018
I have been in continuous employment for over 12 months now.

Overtime is offered, I know what my pick rate is hourly and how I need to improve this.

I was given a full training course when I started I did need extra training so they gave me a buddy to help me.

the canteen is cheap and nice, and Challenge do competitions all the time and give me vouchers.
Pros
regular work
Cons
cold in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order picker b&m middlewich
Order picker (Former Employee) –  Middlewich, Cheshire26 November 2018
The job was fine, the issue I have is the lie they tell you about how much you can earn. If the picks we were given were random, like they tell you it is then it would be OK. But the management hand pick the good picks for people they like. Unfortunately for me, for what ever reason, I got all the bad picks. That is why I left. Not really challenges fault but I thought people should be warned. I know I'm a fast picker and I was working as fast as possible but only just making the target somedays
Pros
8 hour shift
Cons
Corrupt management at b&m
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
HGV Class 1 Driver (Current Employee) –  Ashton-in-Makerfield, Greater Manchester7 October 2018
Generally an ok Agency to work for, unfortunately due to down time in the haulage industry between January and March they were unable to provide sufficient work for me during this time.
Professionally they are generally good with their communication, however at times they can and do let you down when promising to pass queries on to the relevant departments that you require answering. This can and does lead to a feeling of frustration and sometimes anger at them not being able to get " The Basics" right.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Holiday pay not paid on average of weekly pay over previous 3 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible employer
Fork Lift Driver (Former Employee) –  Huyton, Merseyside1 May 2018
work you to the bone then tell you your not needed, only got about 4 weeks work spread over 3 months, freezing cold environment, warehouse location poor, not where to buy food, car park too small.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Challenge Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.2
Based on 13 reviews
51
42
31
23
16

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.1Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.3Culture

Challenge Group Reviews by Location