CARPETRIGHT PLC Employee Reviews

Found 164 reviews matching the search See all 188 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make one mistake and you’re fired
junior salesman (Former Employee) –  Havant, Hampshire16 October 2019
As a sales advisor, you are also expected to be an administrator. Warehouseman, manager(although you don’t get trained or paid) customer service advisor. Cleaner, cashier/banker, general managers dogsbody sorting out all the screw ups they make
Sales? Maybe 1 day in every 4 if you’re lucky
Expect no management support, rudimentary training if at al, and certainly don’t expect to earn more than 16k
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work life balance
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Andover, Hampshire18 September 2019
average day is all day no opportunity for lunch breaks, constant stress with further business communications outside of working hours, really low basic for a store manager leaving you pretty desperate out of peak times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite simply 'THE WORST' company ever.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Elgin2 September 2019
Escaped carpetright for good reason. Management is laughable, 5 months without a permanent manager whilst under valued staff took the brunt. Regional & divisional managers are laughable and could not care less about staff morale and well being.

Never congratulated on things that are done well, just torn down on small things that didn't and are quite frankly irrelevant. The store staff I worked with were all amazing considering. Avoid at all.costs!
Pros
Your Notice Letter
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very unhappy place to work
Field Sales (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire22 August 2019
The company are stuck in their ways and are not willing to listen to new ideas. There are constant issues with fitters not turning up or making a mess of a job meaning you lose commission
Pros
none
Cons
everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's work
Picker & Packer (Former Employee) –  Purfleet, Essex22 August 2019
Work place, as many others...Sometime you like, sometimes don't. I was lucky to work with nice people, wich make day easier. Good experience, as I lear how to work as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place of work but old fashioned
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bedford17 August 2019
I worked at Carpetright for around 6 months. I did learn a lot about the trade and enjoyed working there. The company is very much ran in an old fashioned manner. Being a younger person working at Carpetright I think they need to change the way the managers run the stores etc to fit in with how the modern day is changing, such as giving females more opportunities to work their way up in the company, hence why I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Hampshire5 August 2019
I enjoyed working for them but there is not much advancement or progression it’s more about who you know and not what you know, other than that I would recommend.
Pros
Nice people to work with, high commission potential
Cons
Not much progression, work life balance not great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Warehouse management (Former Employee) –  Chilwell retail pk, beeston5 August 2019
Productive and need to be physically fit, decent holiday pay opportunity to sell products to customers. Doesn't get boring as on your feet busy most of the day, warehouse jobs are the better option for me. Uniform isn't provided except name badge so need to buy what is exceptable for the company. For my past experiences with this company I would say overall it's a good company to work for only in the warehouse sector.
Pros
Good holidays, ability to climb the ladder in the company
Cons
Some late hours to work i.e 10pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  South East31 July 2019
Avoid working for this company. Terrible health and safety. Store standards are disgusting. Store managers have not got a clue what management means?? Bullying and terrible training if any!!! Boring job. If your an experienced retail manager this is not the job for you. Terrible company.
Pros
None
Cons
To much to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralising place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire26 July 2019
The most awful place I've ever worked, no proper training programme, the manager did nothing but slag off the staff and customers and actively encouraged trainees to take each others sales
Pros
Non
Cons
The management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run warehouse
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Purfleet, Essex2 June 2019
Used to be a real nice place to work but now the current Senior warehouse management are just bully's that have no idea what they are doing it's a shambles customers orders are not a priority anymore.The lunatic's have taken over the asylum" best describes this place.
Pros
Good canteen
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales Advisor - Part time (Former Employee) –  Wales14 May 2019
Pays £6.50 a hour!! Managers expect everything off you without questions asked. Expect part timers to put everything else on hold for this company and expect you to work all overtime needed and everyday if they want you too. Pettiness by all staff . No responsibility at all by anyone. Would rather be on the dole claiming benefits
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours, pettiness, awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Office Manager/ Trainer (Former Employee) –  Manchester13 May 2019
training new recruits on systems, carrying out audits,

ordering stock, liaising with suppliers

serving customers

training staff on product knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant store manager
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 May 2019
whilst working here I felt a little like the management team didn't understand the fundamental rules of management of staff.

The job itself was easy after the first few weeks and customers seem to be thin on the ground.
Pros
able to impart my experience with others
Cons
it was who you knew not what you knew that mattered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but understaffed
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Lowestoft23 April 2019
Good company to work for but understaffed
To many days of having to carry out manual work for others on days off
Very enjoyable sales processes
Lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly Environment
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen19 April 2019
- Low Pay
- High Work Quantity
-Terrible Hours
- Health & Safety Is Non-Existent
- Too Many People In Charge Causing Confusion
- Management Tend To Be "Know-It-All's"
Pros
Discounts, Working Alone
Cons
Pretty Much Everything Else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with lots of opportunities
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Horsham, West Sussex13 April 2019
I have worked for Carpet Right for 7 years it’s a good place to work with the right amount of challenges and lots a career opportunities to progress within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kendal8 April 2019
The overall time was good however the hours i had were very inconstant. i enjoyed being there and there were very were very welcoming. overall i enjoyed my time being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  boehamwood4 April 2019
It was fun but they want your soul. There was no sense of work-life balance. The target was not achievable with no support from upper management with the powers that may be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Salesman (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh4 April 2019
Great people to work with. Work/Life balance on the other hand is non-existent. Wages are ok if you're in sales and putting in the 6 days a week and long hours.
Pros
1 hr lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CARPETRIGHT PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 188 reviews
542
452
347
219
128

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture