Carluccio's Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds9 October 2018
A good fun place to work. Salary was not great and is not structured very well. Work/Life balance is OK, but be prepared to work more later shifts than early shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had
Bartender/ Barista (Former Employee) –  Bluewater, Kent21 September 2018
Worked there over the summer in between uni, guaranteed 20 hours minimum, opportunities for more. Staff and managers were super friendly, was honestly like a big family, I was sad to leave when I went back to uni.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Energy
RESTAURANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  High Street Kensington Station13 September 2018
Very solid team with an amazing energy,with a very loyal staff and guests.
Simple Italian food but good quality. really busy at some periods.also a retail shop in the restaurant selling product that we use to cook with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great team to work with
Manager (Former Employee) –  Midlands6 September 2018
A great company to work for, with some great people.
No two days are ever the same with challenges 24/7, love looking after our guests
Great Incentives for the team run by the Managers
Just revisiting team values and cultures
Most enjoyable part of the job is the team we are like a family.
Love working with fresh food.
Pros
Fresh Food & Products
Cons
lots of knowledge needed on the products
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coffee
Barista, Bar Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester28 July 2018
Ive learned how to make coffees. Through busy shift you kind of get idea of how this works and how it supposed to be. Hardest part for me was to learn how to make nice coffee, but the most enjoyable part was when you learn hot to do correct way, than it just comes like from hand. :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard, but enjoyable
Barista/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire8 July 2018
Working in a restaurant, any restaurant, is hard work. Usually minimum wage, it's demanding work that can be extremely satisfying. The prospects for advancement are irregular, but they do come around. With the recent financial issues, some branches are closing and there have been a few changes in the way things work. The atmosphere depends much on the clientele, just as much as it does the other staff members.
Pros
Cheap meals, satisfying
Cons
Long days, weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Ok
Head Waiter/ Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St Pancras, Greater London18 June 2018
Extremely unreliable . Used to be a great company to work for but recently they focus more on cutting hours and costs that we only feel like numbers. Used to have staff meals but not anymore. Used to have job security but not anymore
Pros
Cash tips
Cons
Cutting hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice group of people
Kitchen Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire9 June 2018
good to learn new skills and to move up the ladder if you are interested. have nice friendly staff. opportunity's to build new skills or strengthen existing one.
Pros
free staff food
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cristina marino
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Nottingham16 January 2018
i love my job because so of my job reason of my life.
I left Italy with a purpose, found a job and create my future.
I love to create in any of my shift, happy memory to my costumers, make them to leave happy and satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow and managed badly
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent8 January 2018
the work place is confusing, a lot of things to do not enough people, management is far away from solving the issues and helping the team,selfish people and terrible team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  London9 December 2017
very busy work place and experienced chefs to work with. balthazar has a beautiful menu and great recipes to learn.
good management teaching overall..
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Sous Chef/Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire7 December 2017
I started here as a sous chef and have also acted as head chef.
Salary is not competitive.
Hours aren't social, 50 hours minimum on a contract for a skilled job (no less, the business will expect you too work upto 70 hours when needed for FREE).
80% of the food is bought in now, it's more of a fast food chain.
Training is non existent, all false messages given to colleagues regarding progression.
Bonus is unachievable.
Pros
Free staff meals 50% discount
Cons
Hours, salary, poorly trained and unskilled staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really happy and friendly place good place to work for.
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Ne287eq15 November 2017
Was there for 3 great years happy place good place’ happy team’ learning everyday started off as an Kitchen Porter then moved as an Cheff but learn everyday with amazing chefs who was willing to learn peopll.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but always in a rush
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Windsor, Berkshire24 October 2017
I have worked for this company for couple of years, nice team, nice managerial staff.
As a downside, you work long hours and most of the time , you are in a rush. Minimum wage, completed with tips.
Pros
Free lunches, payed holydays
Cons
Long hours, always in a rush, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun worlplace ,Young place and always ready to help everybody
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire14 September 2017
Was good experience ,was going very well every body were friendly and ready to help evreyone,like a proper team.
I learned a lot of from they ,I was improving a lot and quick the manager and head chef were saying.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely staff amazing benefits but bad management
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands1 September 2017
give you too many hours and pick favourites, As long as your never ill, do your job and never take a holiday they will love you but that's very rare. Everyone leaves eventually
Pros
Amazing tips and benefits
Cons
Long hours, no breaks, hostile management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Gloucester Quays, Gloucestershire25 August 2017
i was dealing with customers of all ages, it was a fun place to work, you always have a laugh with the people you work with and the quests. the only bad thing was long hours
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it!
Bar staff (Former Employee) –  Hampshire14 August 2017
Do not work here. You will work long shifts with no breaks (I often did up to seven and a half hours with no break), or you'll work a six hour shift, a two hour break, and then another six hour shift. Most waiters/waitresses are nice, but some and most managers are impatient and rude. When training you they barely help, and get mad if you don't know something even though they haven't told/shown you how to do something. Shifts change week to week so is inconsistent.
Minimum wage does not make up for the amount of work and stress.
Pros
Some nice staff
Cons
No break, minimum wage and long shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place
Waitress/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 August 2017
The staff were lovely. The managers made it a good place to work with a great atmosphere. The managers allowed for flexible working hours, so if I had a busy Friday I could organise it so that I didn't have to work on Saturday until the evening.
Pros
Flexible working hours, free meal per shift
Cons
Long hours, short notice for extra shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford26 July 2017
Not recommended! Working as a kitchen porter, I've cut my fingers to many times because sharp knives were put together with forks and spoons in a bottle by waiters. They don't care about your safety and healthy workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carluccio's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 70 reviews
515
423
318
28
16

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture