Carluccio's Employee Reviews

Found 136 reviews matching the search See all 150 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produvtive and fun
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham18 April 2019
Good culture. With the Fersca investment the future looks bright. Great trainings and engagement workshops throughout. The company is working hard and listening to change, and suggestions are taken onboard .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Waitress (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 March 2019
I’ve been working about 6 months in Carluccio’s and is’t been the worse thing i ever did in my life!! 1- you gotta have to pay your food during the break, 2-they cut your hours when they don’t need you 3-they ask you to stay longer when they need you 4- minimum wage, 7,83 per hour but they ask you always more and more 5- customers very rude and cheap (they always complain to get discounts) 6- if you complain you re gonna be out! They don’t want employers they want slave!!
Pros
Great team work
Cons
All the rest!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I'v ever work
Head Chef (Current Employee) –  Dorset22 February 2019
Company use employees as a slaves. Cut some many hours and stuff from shifts its ridicules. Two chefs close whole kitchen plus KP area wow!!! FOH double shift 12-15 18-21 what!!!???
Mostly Manager must wash the plates and pans because is no KP!!!
Never again!!!
Pros
nothing
Cons
To much to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy
Waiter/Floor supervisor (Former Employee) –  London7 February 2019
Good place to work, nice and easy team, flexible hours, fair salary. good opportunity to grow and proceed into a career.
Planty of branches in London and UK.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have some italian food and learn to cook
Sous Chef/Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Bristol6 February 2019
Good atmosphere and staff, fun place to work at.
Comes with a free staff food, and bonuses for management.opportunity to progess as a individual staff member.
Pros
Bonuses, staff food, experience
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Door Host and Deli Operator (Former Employee) –  uk23 January 2019
Lovely team, lovely management.
as with every restaurant work hard to get tips.
flexible hours but can in quieter months be hard to pick hours up often. However the managers try to make it fair and give opportunity for more hours in different roles.
Pros
70% off when working
Cons
can be hard to get hours in the quieter months
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start for a chef wanting to cook fresh foods to order
Chef/Cook (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire14 January 2019
The job itself was a great place to learn how a kitchen ran for a chef beginning their training, the kitchen ran smoothly and wast overly busy which made it a great starting environment to learn
Pros
Great working enviroment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas temp 😢
deli xmas staff (Current Employee) –  cheshire oaks22 December 2018
was taken on as a Christmas temp (suited me as lost last job). the team at Cheshire oaks are great and always happy to help with till issue. i covered the deli and loved meeting people and upselling products comes as 2nd nature to me. managers are really hands on and happy to help out with stock, customers and waiting tablets. rate of pay is good for a temp. staff discounts are REALLY good!! will really miss working here and just wish i could stay. day includes unpacking stock, greeting customers, selling, helping out where needed.
Pros
staff discounts, hands on managers
Cons
customers wasting time lol
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Tunbridge Wells, Kent17 December 2018
Enjoyable working when working as a team to have your back. Very hard labour at times during a difficult time when the company was going through major changes and cut backs. In the end, I could not rely on the position or enough hours and left.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work and fun!
Team Member (Current Employee) –  London, UK14 December 2018
Carluccios is a good and friendly place to work. As a part of Wait Team I have learned many things of how to approach to the people and get to know them. I have also achieved the ability of selling the product, making interesting, and above else meet with guests expectations and let them leave the place with satisfaction. I have always worked with my colleagues to achieve the given goal. Despite the fact of many duties, I have shown the people that work is important but you must have also a lot of fun of what you doing.
Pros
Upselling prizes
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Putney, Greater London3 December 2018
there's too much restriction for the team management.
you have a little budget fot the labour costs who makes unhappy all the people sent at home during the shift (even after 2 hours). Very poor organization. But at least if you reach great result working in this condition you became aware of your skills
Pros
good money for waiter
Cons
very bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No valué for your efforts
Waiter and do all it’s needed (Former Employee) –  Kingston Bentalls30 November 2018
ONE OF THE BIGGEST MISTAKE IS TO THINK THESE PEOPLE ACTUALLY CARE A BIT FOR YOUR EFORTS. AFTER 3 years waisted in this company i got to the conclusion that it is no different to : Prezzo,Zizzi , Pizza Express, McDonalds.The legacy that poor man Antonio Carluccio left they are crashing it up by employing people which don’t care and people which never stepped in a proper restaurant yo work not even one day . All i can say about this place after that legend of a man died is : RIP Carluccios restaurant .Sad but true .My own experience and there was like that . Your sweat and tear mean nothing to these bunch of people .
Pros
There’s no such things (25 h of work don’t give for much when you have a full time contract )!
Cons
Low pay, inexperienced people employ ed just because is cheap having them
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inhuman
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  East Anglia3 November 2018
None of my managers had any understanding of family life. Instead they expected you to work till you collapsed. Unsafe and unfair hours often with only 7 hours between the night shift and the morning. Stock take on a Sunday night took till 2am followed by a 6am start to reconcile it. East anglia especially bad.
Pros
Trading was good
Cons
Impossible to meet targets and get bonus. Frozen pre prepared food sold as fresh home made
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok but just for a temporary job
Waiter - Bar Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Southampton19 October 2018
It's a good place to work only for a while and if you are a student. Thanks to Carluccio's I've improved different skills like customer care, selling and mostly English (only if not your main language).
The bad part is that in the busy period you have to work like a robot and when is quiet they just cut your hours.
Pros
Good tips
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good food
Head / Opening Chef (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 October 2018
good place to work, a real focus on what Italian food is , which is quite rare these days
fantastic contact with Antonio and Pricilla at the time , now changed owners
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but enjoyable
KITCHEN PORTER (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire14 October 2018
Had a fun time, incredibly busy though. Often found there was little time for a breather. Pay was good though and they treat you right. Good for a first time job all the way to more experienced workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds9 October 2018
A good fun place to work. Salary was not great and is not structured very well. Work/Life balance is OK, but be prepared to work more later shifts than early shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had
Bartender/ Barista (Former Employee) –  Bluewater, Kent21 September 2018
Worked there over the summer in between uni, guaranteed 20 hours minimum, opportunities for more. Staff and managers were super friendly, was honestly like a big family, I was sad to leave when I went back to uni.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional atmosphere and a great place to work
Waiter, Barista, Barman, Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Ilkley, West Yorkshire20 September 2018
The team, the food, the place, the business. It was a company that completely worked and was a joy to be at. Staff beyond friendly and customers loved all who worked there.
Pros
Great team, Prideful business, meet the regulars, good spot
Cons
Sometimes get very stressful on certain days depending on busyness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even bother
Barista (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth20 September 2018
I worked as a barista, and had to work up to 11 hours without a break. I worked part time for two months and didn't get a break once. Waitresses would shout at eachother and got angry easily, which is understandable because they only got short breaks. Management weren't the best either.
Pros
there aren't any
Cons
Minimum wage, long hours, no breaks, no drinks apart from water on shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carluccio's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 150 reviews
535
445
342
213
115

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture