Caremark Employee Reviews

Found 143 reviews matching the search See all 262 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and disgraceful management
Home care assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire11 December 2018
By far the worst company I've been employed by, management is completely unorganized and office staff and managers are extremely disrespectful highly recommend to avoid working for such a company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours
Care and Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Ware, Hertfordshire26 November 2018
I work all day long but because they don't pay for travel I technically only work 3 hours a day if that. I asked for more but they just employed more people to grow business.
Pros
flexible
Cons
dont get paid for travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire26 November 2018
I worked for this company because my sister was working for them And asked me to help out over Christmas I enjoyed doing the job and see my clients everyday but I wouldn’t work for this company again they don’t pay for your fuel they have you running around from1 side of Bradford to another , when you go to your call medication either missing or paper works not there then you was wasting a lot of time ringing them or chemists , they pressured you to take extra calls and when they call you they don’t know how to talk to you instead shout or threat to take calls away from you on overall the company was not organised properly .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caremark
Care and support worker (Former Employee) –  East Riding of Yorkshire22 November 2018
A typical day at work was hard as to be driving in all sorts of weather and meeting very short deadlines. The best part of the job was the rapport with clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most supportive job ive had
Employee (Current Employee) –  Bromley, Greater London20 November 2018
Caremark Bromley provide a friendly work environment. It was not easy starting a new job but they really made me feel supported, I was never afraid to ask for questions and ask for help, they made me so comfortable, I could never go with another care agency after them. I have made so many friends and gained so much experience, they constantly look for courses for workers to do its great.
Pros
great training, lovely lunches at training, friendly staff, lots of support, many training opportunities, flexible work.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stevenage, Hertfordshire31 October 2018
They WILL underpay you and they WILL overwork you. 15 hour days 6 days a week (and they will ask you on your day off) and then only pay you 300 pounds at the end of the month. Avoid at all costs
Pros
Regular Breaks
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I ever worked for!!! Avoid by all costs
Field Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  West Sussex19 October 2018
For very tiny salary as field care supervisor you need to work-be on call 24/7. And God forbid if you don’t answer the work phone... Manager will tell you that you must be available at all times, however this is not in your contract.
Please avoid by all means to work there as a field care supervisor,you will also end up being a”spare carer ” on your days off.. uoppps,sorry I forgot , you actually don’t get any days off,as you are always on-call!!!
Awful experience.
Pros
Lovely team
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely awful
Carer Assistant/ coordinator/ supervisor (Former Employee) –  St Albans and Dacorum17 October 2018
They Do not appreciate you, pressure you into working hours you have not asked for, clients are not happy with the service nor are the carers that work there. They are not professional at what they do especially the manager has no clue. You give advice which they do not take on board. Make you feel useless. Left me unwell and still recovering. Many people have left whilst I was there. You don’t get paid if you leave the company, also the training was not professional! Avoid at all cost. Don’t wast your time on achieving higher with these at Hemel Hempstead branch.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work.
Homecare Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire16 October 2018
1 weeks training which is very thorough. Excellent training manager. You have to be caring to do this job and not for the money, there is no money in homecare.
Pros
Making a difference to people's lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work for this company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire16 October 2018
I would not recommend working for this company to anyone. The training started off okay however I learnt very quickly that they put a lot of emotional pressure on you to do more hours than you are able to do. During the days I said I couldn’t work I would constantly get calls putting pressure on me to work more.

Also I was asked to care for a gentleman who suffered from bad schizophrenia, who was not well at all and was screaming when I arrived. This wouldn’t have been so bad if I had training for this, but they didn’t even tell me he had schizophrenia until I called the office panicking and nor did I have any training on this.

Another time I requested I didn’t care for another gentleman again because he was very aggressive to me, they told me I still need to go to his house. One morning I went there and felt things weren’t right and I didn’t feel safe. When I called the office they told me to go back to the job. I left the job and later found out that the same gentleman had punched another career and previously was rufused by another care company due to violence.

The final straw was when I was up all night throwing up from a bad stomach ache, I called to say I can’t do my calls, they told me to ‘have a coffee and get on with it’ they also accused me of having other plans. Being around sick people when you are throwing up yourself is not a responsible thing to allow.

This company are scammers, they deliberately put long breaks in between calls so they didn’t have to pay for my petrol and would constantly give me work miles away from where we agreed.

This company
  more... treats their employees like dirt and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.  less
Cons
Don’t protect you. Aren’t responsible. Scammers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found it too difficult but nice company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodford Green, Greater London10 October 2018
I like the idea of doing care and seeing old people. I didn't like the hours which has to be early in the morning (from 7) or late in the evening (up to 10pm) to suit the clients. It made it hard for me to manage my work life balance. the team are nice a few people I didn't get on with but that's life. I enjoyed have nice chat with the clients but didn't like the hours so I had to leave.
Pros
The clients
Cons
The shift times
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woodford Green, Greater London10 October 2018
I do morning shifts which means im up and out before my kids (older) are leaving for school. I see my regular clients, helping them get up, washed and dressed, have their breakfast and medication. If I have a problem I call my team leader and they will help me. Its not an easy job, sometimes my clients get unwell or die and they can be rude sometimes but that's because they are in pain. I like working with different people and everyday is diffent. The salary isn't great but that's care for you. there is oportuinity to progress with CAremark and become mentors, leaders, deputy leader, and other roles. I like working here.
Pros
My clients and coworkers
Cons
it can be sad sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice team, challenging job role but enjoyable
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Waltham Forest, Greater London10 October 2018
Being a carer is hard but I loved the job. The management team have all been carers so they know what its like. Soemtimes they are short staffed but I know every company can be like this. It is a good company to work for and I was promoted after 1 year. Things could be better but that's the same with any place. I would recommend working here.
Pros
Nice team
Cons
early mornings or late nights due to client needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab place to work
Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire8 October 2018
I really find my job amazing, The Clients are lovely and my co - workers are great.

The management is excellent and is so supportive in every way.

I have had so problem's but they listen and sort things out straight away.


A great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They cheat, lie, steal your money and are not insured.
Care and Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire3 October 2018
The three days of unpaid training is very poor, they sent me out straight away for a 12 hours shift to do calls without shadowing, without any breaks. Carers are expected to handle stoma bags and catheter bags, however they are NOT trained to do these things, because of that they make a mess in client's houses every single day.

They expect carers to take clients out to do shopping, etc. but they are NOT INSURED to do so, if they make their carers do something they shouldn't, they tell them not to put it in the log book so there is no evidence, if anything happens they can't be caught red-handed. I was told off many-many times for putting the truth in log notes, however families NEED TO KNOW that the care provided is NOT PROFESSIONAL and extremely poor.

They are always short on staff, experienced carers leave because they don't get the money they worked for, ALWAYS check your payslips, keep track on your milage because they WON'T pay you, you eventually get your money if you actually ask for it afterwards.
They do mostly 30 min calls, then you drive 10-15 minutes, you only get paid for the time you actually work: if you work (just) 12 hours, you're lucky if you get paid for 8, as you'll have a few hours gap mid-day.

Most of the time 30 minutes is NOT ENOUGH time to spend with clients and you will end up staying for longer, being late from your next calls and not getting paid for the time you actually spend working with the clients - obviously no-one's going to leave them without making breakfast, taking them to toilet, etc. and they know that and will take advantage
  more... of it.

Either not enough travel time or a couple of hours gaps in between the calls.

They give you calls in the last minute without asking, they give you 15 hours shifts without asking, they require you to work on your days off and for no extra money on bank holidays (they charge 1,5 the price on bank holidays)

The company keeps taking on new clients but doesn't have the staff to cover calls. 2 weeks AFTER I left they still sent me text messages and asked to cover THE WHOLE NIGHT that day.
WHAT IS GOING ON?

After 6 months they didn't refund DBS, nor did I get my care certificate.

Don't ever consider working for them. If you do, make sure you know exactly what hours hours you work, make sure you know exactly how much you drive while working (mostly 30 min calls - 10-15 min driving to the next address), make sure you NEVER EVER DO ANYTHING you are not trained to do or you're not comfortable doing.
  less
Pros
None
Cons
They take your money, poor management, very unprofessional service
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caremark Chelmsford & Uttlesford: The same as all other care companies
Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Uttlesford, Essex28 September 2018
A typical day at work? I wish! They can't organise the schedules so you see the same clients. The clients get calls either too early or late. You bear the brunt of their anger! You get sent out of your way having to cover a single client maybe 15 minutes away for half an hour, that for £4.25. Mileage paid? What a laugh! Hardly. Travel time paid - I wish.
Management? Couldn't be bothered!
Workplace culture? Coordinators have a dart board for allocating clients it seems.
Enjoyable part: the odd occasion where they do get it right.
Pros
Help!
Cons
The above in the review
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and loving environment
Senior Care Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire27 September 2018
I love my job as a carer i meet fabulous service user all the time i have always found help at the end of phone either by the office staff or who ever is on call i love caremark kirklees and i will not be going any were else i always feel safe and happy caremark kirklees have gave me back my confidence since i started working and i have made some great friends xxxx
Pros
Meeting new service users
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring and well managed
Senior Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire26 September 2018
Absolutely love my job service users and staff best company I have worked for always there to help when needed very caring couldn't recommend this company enough always understanding and willing to help out in anyway they can xx
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire22 September 2018
The training was not good, should have learnt from someone is more experienced into caring, there not good they do not care for their workers, field care supervisor never helped when stuck at a call, they only care about themselves, and never gave me a second chance after doing something I didn't mean to do, they are not nicel making someone feel awful about doing their job. I advise no one to work for them they are so terrible to work with!! no respect at all
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dissappointing
Care Worker (Former Employee) –  South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire20 September 2018
Working with clients, great. Company itself, not so great.
Messed me about, caused stress, line manager hardly answered me, i had no support at all. I lasted 4 days until I had enough. I didn't think it would have been so bad. I was out for 14 hours on a weekend but only spent 6 of them hours with clients, the rest was waiting in the street as all the houses were very close, and i couldn't bike back home in-between my long calls either so I was stuck, bored and waiting to go to next clients home.
I got the job, I had to wait 3 months for the school holidays for the training because it would have clashed with my part time work there, I was so excited and after a week I was miserable, very depressed with how it really was. Loads of time and money wasted in preparation for this job that I expected would have been my realistic dream job. Oh well.
Would not recommend.
Pros
Kind clients.
Cons
Long days, no support, pays poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caremark. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 263 reviews
566
446
355
225
171

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture