Cardiff University Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search See all 123 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and understanding environment
Assistant shelver (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff19 September 2017
The environment was wonderful, with understanding and helpful colleagues, perfect for a student with an intense schedule. Very understanding if you had to skip a day because of uni work or illness. Great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A badly run institution
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff30 August 2017
Bad management and badly run. The corrupt school administration really takes advantage of researchers, exploiting their love of science to get them to do mountains of unscientific work. No loyalty to staff - at the end of the grant, spit them out to make room for newcomers. New jobs are given to friends, even when someone more experienced already works there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formal and enjoyable
administrator (Current Employee) –  Cardiff28 August 2017
A typical day at work would involve filing, scanning, photocopying, emailing and problemishes solving at a quick pace. I learned the importance of confidentiality of duties and how to time management effectively.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, 35h working week.
University Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff28 August 2017
Excellent place to work. Very flexible, fantastic management. Loads of CPD opportunities, mostly online, so very flexible training. Great manager, autonomous practice encouraged allowed to work independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employers
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff27 July 2017
Brilliant employers in terms of the living wage, great holiday leave and paid time off, triple pay for bank holidays and flexibility with shifts. Great training and development opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individual and challenging
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff26 July 2017
This research opportunity is great because it allows for development into a real life research project, and allows you to build on skills previously learned in university, or other research schemes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Rowing Coach
Assistant Rowing Caoch (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff18 July 2017
Assisting the senior coach in the day to day operations of the rowing club. Plan water and land based training and conduct fitness testing accordingly.

Helped me to develop coaching skills and undertake CPD.
Pros
Free access to senior coaches and advanced training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Finance Officer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff18 July 2017
Had a very nice manager. Enjoyed working with her. Management was very good and friendly. Learnt all aspects of excel sheet and project management. Had flexi lunch hours to take care of kids.
Pros
Nice Management
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Young Researcher Scholarship (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 July 2017
A great friendly place to work and they were incredibly helpful in teaching me a variety of research techniques. Great equipment open to the whole University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice modern facilities
PhD Student (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 July 2017
Modern laboratories at the School of Pharmacy conveniently located near the city centre. Technical staff are on hand to assist with the day to day housekeeping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern facilities within a hospital site
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 July 2017
Modern laboratories that are well equipped and conveniently nestled within Velindre hospital for access to patient material. Very friendly place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere to work in
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 July 2017
Great atmosphere to work in with friendly staff and management. Excellent facilities utilised by many in the University. Was only there for a summer placement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restructuring has impacted the work
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff5 July 2017
The school of medicine have undergone rather a few rounds of restructuring and I feel that this has had a big impact on performance and the general feel of the division.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful, productive and enjoyable
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Cardiff Central Station3 July 2017
It is a lovely place to work in and the environment is positive and productive. The employers are always helpful and ready to inspire and encourage students and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
President (Current Employee) –  Cardiff22 June 2017
Cardiff university is a very very very very very good university. I really enjoyed all of my time at Cardiff University. Good lecturers, good lectures
Pros
good
Cons
bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
president (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff22 June 2017
good place to study. Helped achieve many goals of mine. Very accommodating. Has several opportunities to achieve skills that would not be achievable without help
Pros
good
Cons
bad
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher (Current Employee) –  Sir Martin Evans Building21 June 2017
I have no complaints. My past three years at Cardiff University have been great. I am able to complete my work and time off is not an issue if needed. I like my supervisor, and I hope to continue collaborating with him in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Senior Rowing Captain (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff20 June 2017
This role is an elected position in the University Rowing Club, this is an experience not a job so I cannot review this position as a regular company/ job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Open Day Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Cardiff20 June 2017
My job as an Open Day Ambassador was a temporary role so cannot give a full review on Cardiff University as an employer, However, I enjoyed my time in this role.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff19 June 2017
Always happy here. This is a positive work environment, geared towards using research in a positive context. Would very much recommend this employer to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cardiff University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 123 reviews
567
435
317
22
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Cardiff University Reviews by Location