CARDIFF COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace.
Tourist Information Officer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff13 December 2017
Small team which works well together. Steady place to work.
Enjoyable and interactive with public, improves customer service skills and admin skills, along with knowledge of Cardiff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience not to be repeated
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Children's14 November 2017
Former social worker, bullying culture (from management) and co workers too busy with their own case load to be helpful. Leaving was the best thing I ever did!
Pros
Near swimming pool
Cons
Low morale, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Football Coach (Former Employee) –  Cardiff10 November 2017
best place ive worked for by far, staff are all friendly. management is spot on, pay is good, hours are really good, the only reason i left is because i wanted to try something different
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff12 October 2017
• Facilitated one-to-one interviews, meetings and workshops with internal and external stakeholders to gather requirements
• Conducted feasibility study to determine that the requirements collected are viable technically, operationally and economically.
• Raised business proposition document based on the initial requirements and raised change request to go through the PMO process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Games Attendant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff6 September 2017
Very good place to work if you are looking for a temporary position. Definitely not the place to go for a full time job as they don't offer any to avoid costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working hours term time only to suit individuals with school children
Playleader (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff1 September 2017
Worked with the council for over 13 years. Benefits are that the hours suit people requiring term time only to fit around their family. The council has a good pension scheme. Enjoy working with children and making a difference to their lives.
Pros
Pension
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ground - mid management is good top level is silly
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  schools in cardiff29 July 2017
varying management from site to site but on the whole not to bad to work for just the uper management dont seam to have a clue what they are doing but the boss on site do know what to do so not so bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Enterprise Architect (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff12 July 2017
Great location in the Bay Area of Cardiff.
On site Parking
Financially Challenged and looking to transform.
Large emphasis on becoming a Digital City.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpaid work experience
unpaid work experience (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff30 June 2017
Working at Cardiff Council has provided me with some great opportunities to get involved in the work that they do within the Strategic States department. As a student they are very supportive of my work and encourage me to actively be involved in projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like your all family
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ely25 June 2017
I only left here as I was pregnant. If I wasn't I would still be here loved eveyone I worked with. Good communication between employees. Very understanding too. Like if you had to leave early they do understand
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff5 June 2017
Everyone is so kind. Working in a library has it's challenges and routines but it's not tough and it's a great place to build confidence in the workplace.
Pros
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work for
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  cardiff9 May 2017
Working for the council is ok. I liked having flexi hours so any hours you worked over you would get back in theory.
Holidays were good, 28 days a year plus bank holidays.
I worked in a busy office, not much team commradery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive and can be fun
Housing officer (Current Employee) –  Cardiff5 April 2017
its office work, where long hours seating is required, the seats provided are not healthy, Manager can be very moody, the most enjoyable part of the job is helping other people,
Pros
Good rate
Cons
seating for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day this same
School Cleaner - Caretaker (Current Employee) –  Cardiff14 October 2016
A typical day at work nothing changes every day this same sometimes even boring
The worst thing about this job is you have to work split shifts with 5 hours brake between
Pros
Not a hard work
Cons
only part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
casual work
Midday Supervisor Cathays High (Former Employee) –  Cardff17 June 2016
casual work through school completed in lunch hour and spare time. friendly colleagues, quite an easy job. helped me develop team working skills further.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only the for Faint hearted
bin man (Former Employee) –  Lamby way Cardiff8 June 2016
if you're fit and enjoy the outside weather, then this job is for u, walking upto 10 miles a day, sometimes heavy lifing, and good pay, all in all, its a good job to get Fit and get paid, not bad right?
Pros
Work ouside in the fresh air
Cons
plenty of walking and heavy lifting+ the rain
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice time was had by all
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, WLS17 August 2015
Nice work and varied but no chance of progression even though I was developing my skills and knowledge because of my religion and age. Co-workers not in my calibre, management under pressure because of saving money so my job was being carved up and taken from me. Most enjoyable part of the job was prioritising tasks and the varied nature of it.
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Over the top on political correctness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with supportive management
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, WLS17 July 2015
Fun work place with many people around to help you out. Work place where you personally grow and develop. You learn your new skill with very supportive management.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Suitable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Governrment struggling with budget cuts
Venues Development & Projects Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff5 February 2015
Tough environment to work in as the organisation struggles to meet budget targets. Processes tend to not be fit for purpose especially when trying to reduce numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job, poor management
Swimming Teacher and Centre (Current Employee) –  cardiff7 January 2015
good job working with children, really rewarding. learning to teach in many different ways to make sure you can teach children with different styles of learning.

Management are not too great, not well organised and a great lack of commnuication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CARDIFF COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 32 reviews
513
412
34
23
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

CARDIFF COUNCIL Reviews by Location