Card Factory Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Falkirk, Falkirk6 January 2018
I really enjoyed working in card factory it was a lovely environment always kept busy always somthing to do strict but fun always had brilliant feedback from customers on my working and it’s easy to pick things up full training and support was always avaliable no matter how long you had been there
Pros
Full training provided, days off avaliable, great staff, brilliant manager
Cons
Long hours, minimal wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good work place
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge, Wiltshire5 January 2018
when working at card factory it was quite chalenging because wue you do a move you have to make sure that you put all the cardes in the right spot and in the right order
Pros
the hours
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un-inspiring
STORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford3 January 2018
As a Christmas temporary member of staff, a typical day would be a very busy day. I would, however, only have one or two jobs; mainly stacking cards and ensuring they look neat. This would become very tiring and repetitive. I didn't learn any new skills whilst working there, other than a slight improvement in my organisational skills. Management wasn't brilliant, shifts would become unclear and disorganised.
The hardest part of the job was finding the willpower to go back in, due to the repetitiveness of the tasks.
The most enjoyable part was the social aspect, as I was able to speak to a lot of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for older people
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lewisham, Greater London30 December 2017
Not a good copmney to work for very stressful job long hrs easy work bad management not a lot of pay for what u have to deal with also poor working conditions at times
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 December 2017
this is a fun workplace, especially at Christmas. Management is good and there is a strong sense of team spirit. this is a very active and manual job as displays constantly need changing and there is daily deliveries. .
Pros
great team work
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton29 December 2017
long hours and not getting paid for it
paid not enough for what they wanted for it
no real benefits at all
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and long
Key Holder/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland29 December 2017
Youre only a number. Expected to go above and beyond with no reward. Nobody cares about you managers only care about themselves and their rewards. Horrible place to work but pays the bills all the same
Cons
Long hours with only one 30 min break, shifts are all over the place, nobody cares about anybody but themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and quiet workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bideford28 December 2017
First off it was a nice place to work for, the people where friendly, when it came to directing me to complete a job they weren't always helpful and directing me to complete the job properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, getting singled out and no room for job advancements.
SALES ASSISTANT + KEYHOLDER (Former Employee) –  Southport, Central 1227 December 2017
I got badly singled out by the management at this job, was given less hours than everyone else and was refused a job advancement. Quit and very happy about doing so.
Pros
Working with Customers, Job itself was fun
Cons
Bad management, no room for job advancements, being singled out and bullied into quitting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job, mostly nice staff
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Driffield27 December 2017
it can be very busy especially in seasons and on weekends. Most of the team are very nice and hard working and you get a half hour break if you work over 6 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly and professional workplace.
Temporary seasonal work (Current Employee) –  Wigan26 December 2017
I am currently working at the Card Factory as a temporary seasonal staff member. This job offers a friendly but highly professional working environment.
Although I have worked in retail before, the opportunity to work for a big company such as the Card Factory has taught me more about professional communication and teamwork.
A challenging aspect of this job is having to remain professional and calm when under pressure, for example, when working the tills in a crowded shop or having to get a task done within an amount of time. An enjoyable factor of working here, however, is the fact that employees are typically given a variety of tasks to do throughout the day and that you get to work in a lively environment, enhanced by great co-workers.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
Lack of shifts after the Christmas season
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviroment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon26 December 2017
Excellent place to work in general.
Good enviroment with the other colleagues. They helped me in a lot of moments.
Very friendly and lovely manager.

:)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Downpatrick, County Down20 December 2017
Excellent job which provided experience with cash handling as well as dealing with customers both behind and in front of the counter. Had to leave due to returning to education
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive environment.
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  East Grinstead, West Sussex13 December 2017
A typical day at Card Factory is firstly I lock my handbag away, count my float and sign for it, I sign myself in as being in shop. Its different every day, the shop gets very very busy and with a great varied of customers who get to know you over time. I have learn't various tasks ie: how many cards go in certain racks for certain size cards. Ive learn't where all stock goes and if I notice items getting low, I will top the stock up when needed. Customers often need help especially the elderly and disabled and also the blind people, these customers are always very thankful to be helped. the time at Card Factory goes quickly. The hardest part of the job if im not busy is to unload the pallets as at times the pallet can be quite stacked and boxes can be heavy. My most enjoyable part nof my job is giving my excellent customer liasion to the customers.
Pros
being in the pension and seeing customers are happy, a confident and happy retail assistant makes a happy customer.
Cons
Lunch Hour should be for 1 hour not 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tedious
3rd key holder (Current Employee) –  Bury3 December 2017
learn how to deal with different customers needs each day.
deal with things i shouldn't have to due to not having a stationary manager.
hardest part of the job on a daily basis is dealing with customers who disagree with the company policy.
there is no manager for the shop!
Pros
15% discount
Cons
no management, poor wage, no hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel like quitting.
Christmas Temp Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 December 2017
ever since the start i've hated working here. it drains me out by the end of my shift and if i work for 6 hours i get no breaks. i barely got any training, i literally got help from my colleagues on how to do things. the managers are really not helpful. i really hate how everything is displayed in the store aswell, especially at the till. its so difficult to serve customers because of things in the way and there's barely any room to put things there. everyday i regret applying for this job and i feel like quitting. i have little free time since i have uni and this job. whilst there are bad things about working here, the workers are really nice + friendly. they are probably the reason why i don't feel like quitting sometimes. some managers are nice whilst some i don't rlly feel comfortable being around. i'm literally just staying on for experience and i need money. i don't think it's a good place to work for students, they don't really take that you're a student into consideration.
Pros
friendly colleagues + experience
Cons
30 min break for shifts over 6 hours + little training + very tiring and draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedminster, Bristol1 December 2017
Great place loved working their amazing people and management I just wish i could of done it longer great 0 hour contract just small environment to work in but it is amazing
Pros
Close to other shops
Cons
I had to get a bus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London1 December 2017
As a young person still studying 4 A Levels the job is extremely flexible however sometimes are not very sensitive to the fact that I am a student and it isn't a very 'fun' place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales assistant / Key holder (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside30 November 2017
Worked here for 2 years. Literally awful. Management was just unbelievably unfair, unorganised absolutley no proffesionalism what so ever. Shifts where either long days with very little break time or 6 hours for the week.
Pros
Staff that where not management where lovely to work with
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family feeling, working together good team members lovely welcoming place
Till Operator (Former Employee) –  Scarborough26 November 2017
Learned team building
Helping one another,
Met targets,
Clean tidy presantation high good customer service friendly.
Hardest was long days then stock take,
Best day or thing leaving your trouble and worry at the front door,like been close as a family the boss worked with you not over you she was very understanding and caring
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Card Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 973 reviews
5259
4244
3248
2103
1119

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture