Card Factory Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but 0 hour contract
Temporary Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire10 January 2018
I worked as a temp member over the christmas period, no secure hours and if you took a day off work you would find your self with no hours the following weeks. Breaks are bad. However the staff and management were good and I had a good time due to this.
Pros
Great staff and management
Cons
breaks and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good work place
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge, Wiltshire5 January 2018
when working at card factory it was quite chalenging because wue you do a move you have to make sure that you put all the cardes in the right spot and in the right order
Pros
the hours
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for older people
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lewisham, Greater London30 December 2017
Not a good copmney to work for very stressful job long hrs easy work bad management not a lot of pay for what u have to deal with also poor working conditions at times
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 December 2017
this is a fun workplace, especially at Christmas. Management is good and there is a strong sense of team spirit. this is a very active and manual job as displays constantly need changing and there is daily deliveries. .
Pros
great team work
Cons
long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton29 December 2017
long hours and not getting paid for it
paid not enough for what they wanted for it
no real benefits at all
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and long
Key Holder/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland29 December 2017
Youre only a number. Expected to go above and beyond with no reward. Nobody cares about you managers only care about themselves and their rewards. Horrible place to work but pays the bills all the same
Cons
Long hours with only one 30 min break, shifts are all over the place, nobody cares about anybody but themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job, mostly nice staff
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Driffield27 December 2017
it can be very busy especially in seasons and on weekends. Most of the team are very nice and hard working and you get a half hour break if you work over 6 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job but little money
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire11 November 2017
it is okay for first job. not a hard job, many time it`s quiet and easy but when it`s busy then very busy. We have 3 breaks in 8 hours shift whitch is not bad
Pros
3 break in 8 hours work
Cons
almost minimum wage, no sick pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glenrothes4 November 2017
fun place to work i liked my time here all the staff are nice good shift patters pay is just minimum wage magers are all nice and helpful and wanted the best for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire3 November 2017
Good job, the manager and all of the other staff are extremely nice and considerate.I only work 4/5 hour shifts so the shifts for me are not that long, however, it is minimum wage though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great if your under 18
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear2 November 2017
Seriously hated my time at the card factory because I was getting paided very little to do the same job as the older members of staff. My manger was a lovely person always helpful and so were the staff. I worked during Christmas it was constantly busy but because it was a small branch I doubt it would be like that all year. But even though I disliked it it's given me experience in the retail world.
Pros
Discount, good location
Cons
Low wages for under 18's
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
SALES ASSISTANT / WEEKEND SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Northfield, West Midlands11 October 2017
busy days out of hours stock take and cashing up/cleaning

manager was ok but gave extra responsibility without the extra pay to support

always worked over contracted hours but got minimal holiday pay
Pros
cheap cards
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Learning Experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, Isle of Wight5 October 2017
It's gave me a good insite to the way retail works and how to handle my self under stressful situations during busy time of year. I also learnt how to restock and sort out inventory
Pros
Flexable work hours
Cons
Cramped workspace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
manager (Former Employee) –  Orpington, Greater London29 September 2017
worst job ever this company wil expect you to work extra hours for nothing there are no good points about this company I would not encourage anyone to work for them
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O hours contract
SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Porthcawl26 September 2017
no security..no guaranteed work..no notice on shifts.. called upon at any time and expected to jump to be able to oblige..no loyalty.. job itself ok.. meant to get upto 16hrs, most offered was 10hrs per week.. useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  England23 September 2017
Honestly it’s like slave labour for those under 18. Working at Christmas for long hours and on less than £4 an hour. Would not recommend for those who don’t enjoy very fast paced environment. Everything else is fine apart from the salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So bad ! Do not work here
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh18 September 2017
Minimum wage, 4.06 an hour is ridiculous for the job at hand. I worked there for 4 months & only got 2 months pay !! Finally after chasing up my pay (and many other of my colleagues) for 2 months i got my pay. Also when u do get paid you get missing hours !! Anywhere from 1 to even 20 hours unpaid !! The management in my card factory were amazing for the most part (except for blatant favouritism) however card factory management as a whole belittle you and patronise you, just because they're higher up. Horrible company to work for.
On the plus side i was comfortable in my workplace and enjoyed working with most of my colleagues and i woll moss some of the staff :).
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Horrible management, fail to pay, unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands15 September 2017
Worked as a Christmas temp but then stayed much longer. Cashier and stock taker. Good for your first job, easy and fast-paced. Minimum wage - no raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun secure workplace but doesn't give a lot back
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Darlington, Durham5 September 2017
Very fast paced job, very friendly atmosphere, pay could be a lot better especially when promotions are concerned. Not a lot of bonuses to working for them.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Lack of bonuses, Low contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy, though not enough work
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham2 September 2017
Decent breaks and a enjoyable place to work and gain experience. Flexible management and flexible with shift choose, though at the cost of a lack of shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Card Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 905 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2