Card Factory Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay for the amount of work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dereham8 July 2018
Stay away the pay is awful and your worked like animals very hard work near Christmas it’s awful definitely not worth the stress, the pay is nowhere near enough for how hard you have to work, the hours do mean you can plan a lifestyle but you’ll be too
Tiered too do anything
Pros
Decent hours
Cons
Hard manual labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Clevedon, Somerset11 June 2018
i enjoyed working at card factory, i was well respected as a person and a manager, rota was always completed on time and i was able to have a work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice new store
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh21 May 2018
I do enjoying working for the company. It would be even better if the hourly rate for managment was higher but then I'm sure everyone says that.
Friendly staff good discount and it's close to home.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
The hours are long for management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff12 April 2018
I worked in different stores over 4 years and they aren't very appreciative, apart from the managers who aren't told. There is not a very good work/life balance, especially weekends and occasions like Mothers Day, unless you're the manager and don't have to work those types of days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grays, Essex10 April 2018
very fast paced. always active. Great instore training.i worked here over the xmas time. It was well organised. very adaptable to your avaliable working patterns
Pros
always busy
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place easy going atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Wantage, Oxfordshire5 April 2018
Nice place to work friendly staff members busy working pace
Always something to do . From tidying cards to putting delivery away . inflating balloons.
Good range of cards and balloons to choose from
Pros
Good working hours easy to get to
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It varies...
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge23 January 2018
I've worked for the company for over a year now and it has its ups and downs. The teams are great, you get along with them very easily and it is a lot of fun. The work itself requires a lot of flexibility, you need to be up and down on your feet sorting out delivery and stock. The Area manager is never really a great help, they like to make you change the store around in a few days and then will ask you to change it back. They don't really know what they are doing and won't listen to your ideas and/or will find something to complain about with either the store itself or the manager. Some of the managers are very hypercritical towards its staff members as they think they can do what they want but won't allow the staff members to do the same. An easy example of this is: the manager will sometimes be late like 30 minutes to an hour and won't notify anyone and if one of the staff members was 10 minutes late they'd be questioned and could possibly be made into a recorded conversation. I wouldn't suggest applying for this job personally as I have struggled to get things done on my own as my manager decides to dump everything down to the assistant, then complains themselves that not everything gets finished.
Pros
friendly staff, keeps you busy
Cons
hardly any help from managers or above
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton29 December 2017
long hours and not getting paid for it
paid not enough for what they wanted for it
no real benefits at all
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable job, mostly nice staff
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Driffield27 December 2017
it can be very busy especially in seasons and on weekends. Most of the team are very nice and hard working and you get a half hour break if you work over 6 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset6 October 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with the customers and heling them to find what they are looking for. My typical day will involve being on the till to start with and then going on yo fill product or cards depending on what has been delivered that day. The hardest part of my job is trying to do all I need to do in one day as we are a very busy store.

I have learned how to work well in a team and how to lead a team successfully. I have also learned to have more confidence in my own abilities.
Pros
Good working relationship with fellow employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and friendly workplace
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Whitstable, Kent6 September 2017
Management are very friendly and helpful with insuring your up to date with moves and merchandising. You are responsible for counting your float each morning and keeping the store tidy and shelves full. The hardest part of the job is maybe the Christmas period but what retail job is not hard at this time. The most enjoyable part of the job is the staff morale as you work within a small work community.
Pros
Flexiable with hours
Cons
Not much opportunity for overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun secure workplace but doesn't give a lot back
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Darlington, Durham5 September 2017
Very fast paced job, very friendly atmosphere, pay could be a lot better especially when promotions are concerned. Not a lot of bonuses to working for them.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Lack of bonuses, Low contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wallasey, Merseyside4 September 2017
A typical day at card factory was usually busy and fast paced, always something to do and work to be done.
was always a friendly atmosphere. i learned to prioritise jobs in most valuble form so most tme consuming would be done when most staff was on hand to help.
the hardest part of he job was making sure the shop floor was always full with stock so if we are awaiting a delivery it was hard to maintain fullness level.
the most enjoyable part was being friends with everyone which made every shift easy and enjoyable to work.
Pros
friendly staff, good breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Company to work for and under paid
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire24 August 2017
I was only there 3 months and felt under valued under paid and was treat like rubbish.

I was given 1 polo top that was a hand me down and was told i wouldnt get another one .

Never work for this company
Pros
There isnt any
Cons
Treat like rubbish under paid and no job satisfaction
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Seaham22 August 2017
fast paced work place can be quite fun at times, good place to work gives you room to grow and advance in the company. very competitive, working as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire12 July 2017
A backwards company I wouldn't bother, alright for part time work over Christmas but not much else. Barely get a dinner break ever, constant hassle and ridiculous expectations from Head Office
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cardfactory
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Cheshire Oaks, Cheshire8 July 2017
cardfactory gives good hours when needed with a reasonable pay, can work your way up easy if you put the effort in. great to build customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire8 June 2017
Within Card Factory it is a fast pace company with a lot of challenges and changes within the seasonal periods. From Christmas straight into Mothers day, Easter and Fathers day. Many daily and weekly tasks relate to these changes. Constantly to improve the way they sell products and bring in new custom, whilst keeping the old.
Tasks are kept to a tight timescale and regularly checked. Security and health and safety are also high priories within the company.
During the typical day the store is maintained to be kept neat and tidy so all products and cards can be seen with ease. While customers are helped to find the correct card or product and served with a smile and a welcoming greeting. Balloon orders is a regular thing too and this is never too much of a trouble to inflate balloons on the spot or on a set date and time by customers request.
I have trained staffed to ensure they can present balloon displays well and that they can provide the best service to all customers and to complete tasks given to them
When on the till point the cashiers are to encourage customers to spend that little more by a badge, banner, sellotape or stamps.
Pros
Good Team work
Cons
Constantly expected to sell more to customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Maidstone, Kent25 May 2017
brilliant company to work for , lovely people and really enjoyed my time there and would recommend highly to all.
I learned a lot and progressed a lot in the job role
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miracle performer and magician for slave drivers.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lanarkshire20 April 2017
National minimum wage regardless of position or time served.
Constantly short staffed and performing hard back breaking work while receiving a pittance for a wage and working out of hrs.
No praise from senior management for all the hard back breaking work that's above and beyond the call of duty, just more stress and problems.
Not enough hrs in the wk never mind a day to complete everything that's expected in just a few hrs. Having to stay behind after hrs to get it finished. No breaks in peace because not enough staff.
It's a ridicoulsy shocking company to work for. Would not recommend it.
Pros
None
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Card Factory. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,022 reviews
5268
4255
3263
2108
1128

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Card Factory Reviews by Location