Capita plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a short period
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire19 October 2018
I worked at capita in dearne valley for about 2 years, during my time there i learned a lot and make some good friends, but i also met some of the worst management ever and plenty of two faced backstabbers. No one seems to have a clue at what there doing, the place literally sent me insane. The hours are awful 12-8 shifts and working saturdays, the canteen costs a fortune so if you dont bring your own food youll spend all your wages there anyway. They employ any tom dick and harry because there that desperate for staff. Hygiene isnt very good either. I would only recommend working here if you have just left school and are looking for abit of money other than that i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
Can sit on phone because no one cares
Cons
Backstabbers, terrible management, canteens very expensive, incentives are pathetic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite boring
Accounts Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire18 October 2018
Wasn't here for long, spent most of the day doing very dull repetitive tasks. However the pay was ok and there was some flexible working, staff were lovely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST company to work for as a freelance interpreter!
Freelance Interpreter (Current Employee) –  North West17 October 2018
Excellent communication, very well organised portal for interpreters to schedule their appointments.
Weekly payments GUARANTEED!!’
Wonderful job as everyday is a different and interesting day.
Lovely staff with a friendly manner.
Good rates of pay. Maybe little extra for traveling would be nice but overall it’s ok.
If only all agencies were the same, the world of interpreting would be a wonderful place!!
Pros
Flexibility, weekly pay. Nice portal !
Cons
Little travel pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
offer a lot of opportunity
Client Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 October 2018
I worked for Capita for 5 years and enjoyed working there, it offered me a lot of opportunity. I enjoyed my client manager role very much and liked being involved in meeting clients and going to trade shows
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Coventry16 October 2018
It was a fun workplace where I got to learn new skills. I regularly received Good Achievement awards, even winning employee of the year. I got to speak to different customers everyday, which is a challenge i very much enjoyed.
Pros
Lots of incentives
Cons
Was very difficult to progress, no matter how good you are at your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A disastrous decision
Disability Assessor (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim16 October 2018
Typical day at work is getting up super early, logging in to your computer (10 minutes), drive around country to assess people. First assessment either 8am or 9am. This involves about 60-90 minutes of listening to very sad, negative stories about how people are affected by health conditions which you need to record with lightning typing speed. You do this 4 times a day so will have finished assessments by 3pm or 4pm depending when you started and back at home by 4 or 5pm. Then you take 60-120 minutes to write each one up and send them in. These are then arbitrarily marked by audit who will ask you to make ridiculous random changes. If you can't work out how to please these guys with their regular shifting goalposts and rules you will be fired within a few months with little come back or compensation. It sucks.
Training goes on for weeks. It is intense but reasonably enjoyable. The worst thing about it is you can fail. And people do fail! Also, when you realise what the job entails, it's a bit demoralising.
Management is worst part of the job. They use banking and business models and their staff are numbers to them. A number that doesn't perform exactly how they want will be culled. They care little about the public and less about staff. They have regular culls of staff when there isn't enough work. they do not compensate you well.They give lip service to be caring but care not about your career or feelings. They care about profits and hitting targets.
Workplace culture is poor. It is fake and corporate.
Hardest part of the job is working all day on the same thing over
  more... and over again - it just can't be done in 8 hour day.
Most enjoyable part of job is being off at the weekend - although you will need to spend one half of those days off preparing for the week ahead.
Most people don't last 6 months and colleagues are leaving in droves.
  less
Pros
Saturday off but not Sunday
Cons
Not what it says on the tin
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mentally tiring work with little monetary benefits
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Liverpool16 October 2018
It is quite a dull work place with very predictable days. It is not challenging or exciting and at times can be very busy due to poor management and staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex15 October 2018
diverse fun place to work, good variety, challenging as can be quite stressful at times but also rewarding, flexible to meet family needs, good work perks.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
can be quite repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Done
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow14 October 2018
Worked every day dealing with customer escalations and complaints.Ensured all refunds and admin work was completed accurately and everything recorded.
Pros
great people to work beside
Cons
poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible, draining, awful management
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham13 October 2018
DO NOT WORK HERE.

Started as a temp hoping to get kept on long term. Lasted 3 days and would never return for any amount of money. Just don’t bother!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team members.
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire12 October 2018
Capita is a good environment to work in. The management could be better. The workplace was always clean and the hours were flexible. Good training was given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to begin
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire9 October 2018
A good place to gather experience however, pay is not ideal and opportunity to progress tend to be a double edged sword. Overall i enjoyed working here but it is not a life time company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Finance Case Handler (Current Employee) –  Blackburn7 October 2018
It can be rewarding depending on what role you are in and what line of work you are doing. Management are ok in general and will help support you if its required. Good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Manvers7 October 2018
This job is fine for someone looking for a steady 9-5, however the promotions here are based on longevity in the company, not skill, and the managers don't tend to care about your needs too much. When you take it for what it is, its perfectly fine, but it's the people you work with that make the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a started job
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire6 October 2018
This company is good as a starting point in the business travel industry. Payment is by far the worst, comparing to other travel companies and for the amount of work that you need to deal with. Constants changes, lots of people leaving due to stress or just been fed up that nothing is been done in terms of replacing staff leaving, meaning that there is a massive workload for the rest. Too many managers that seems powerless in terms of demanding desperate for more staff. In the end, it just felt that, Capita like cutting corners to save money without caring for the well-being of their members staff that after all, they are the face of the company and get the direct complains and sometimes abused from clients over the phone when their demands are not met.

I had seen in the past months, how many long term members of staff working for more than 10+ years at Capita had left without a job to go to as they just got fed up in how bad they treated their people.

Having said all of that, you do get to meet lovely people there, that sometimes transforms this toxic environment into a nice placent one, I have seen lot of good friendships there. I think most of the people stay mainly because they just found a friend more than anything else.
Pros
Good started job for a young person.
Cons
Bad salary, too many managers, not much care for staff wellbeing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 October 2018
Started as a call centre agent and within the space of six months I had risen to the ranks of a Team Leader, managing a team of 18 call centre agents, dealing with incoming calls for T-Mobile Collections. The reason my career ended there was that the entire operation was moved off-shore and I wasn't prepared to move to India
Pros
Career progression
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Environment
N-Power Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Peterlee, Durham3 October 2018
In my opinion Npower was not a good place to work as management was very unorganised and hadn't clue what to do.
the hours were bad and social life was limited so the balance was terrible.
pay was good but not for the hours you had to work as there was no flexibility for hours like they tell you.
Pros
money
Cons
long hours, bad management, unflexible, bad social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capita
Web chat Advisor (Current Employee) –  Leeds2 October 2018
It's okay, nice staff you work with. Managers don't know what they're doing depending on what department your working in. Many colleagues are made redundant, they can't seem to make they're mind up they wanted to get rid of me after passing my probation but offered me another job a day before my due redundancy date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  CAPITA plc2 October 2018
Customer service is very easily achieved in our office due to the people, management and values in the company. Great place to work and even better staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have worked
Pensions Technician (Current Employee) –  Darlington, Durham1 October 2018
Toxic culture, bad management, no recognition for work, poor advancement opportunities for non-management roles. Very much if you know managers and are willing to brown nose you will progress.
Worst place I've worked in 30 years' experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capita plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,010 reviews
5403
4603
3515
2207
1282

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture