Capita plc Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
Manual Worker (Former Employee) –  darlington14 August 2018
had to go on sick leave and got back into work and had no jobs left on the shift i was on so had to go on a different shift and was overall unhappy about the working environment. the supervisors look down on you and be-little you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work for this company
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire14 August 2018
all staff are made to feel like a number. no compassion or care for colleagues. morale is very low due to constant pressure to work faster and do over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work, unprofessional and uncaring
Document Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham13 August 2018
The management are non existant, showing up a few times a year to inspect the place. Managers and team leaders are useless, uninterested and have no people skills; no empathy and they talk to you like you are something on the bottom of their shoes.

The atmosphere is terrible; monotonous work with no support. Co-workers either dont talk to you or talk about you; very draining, gossipy atmosphere.

Capita like to think they are a professional, modern company that people should want to work for but they treat their employees like rubbish. One contract I was working on whilst there they were TWO YEARS behind on, and they kept taking on new projects instead of finishing the ones they had.

This company is a joke and if you work here you will be miserable. There are absolutely no benefits to working here at all.
Pros
Leaving - don't even think about working here
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced call worker
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds12 August 2018
Capita/Plusnet

As a technical/customer support... you have 2 lines to run.. one for tech, one for customer service... you're first line for everything.. so if the sales, provisioning or COT screw up anything you take all the stress...

Unfortunately i was working there during the companies lowest point for about 7 months... both lines were 45-60 minutes long.... even if the customers were happy when they began from the waiting time.. by the time they'd eventually get through they'd be irrate ... therefore it was extremely stressful..

hopefully it's calmed down by now.

Now here comes the worst part... we had the typical managers groups... sat in corners... hardly have to deal with customers...

every second during work was monitored.. during my 10 hour shift i didn't have the time to take any breathers... but strangely enough the managers who're are supposed to be looking after us are sat there... smiling laughing away.... I mean w t f...

they're worst than the people claiming benefits... they get paid for doing absolutely jack all... once 3 female managers decided to sit near my area as it was right at the back... over the course of the 10 hours the conversation started from pregnancy to other non work related topics... i couldn't even tell them off as i could get screwed and i also had angry customers on the phone.

from the 10 hour shifts, they do 2-3 hours of work max...the rest 7-8 hours of fannying around...


If you're applying for a managerial role.. please do.. you'll be working for 2 out of 10 or 8 hours.. the rest you sit at the back with your
  more... fellow managers... you can far.t around and drink coffee.. have your multiple cigarette breaks and just chill...your computers activity is not managed so you can browse and do what ever.. be on your phone.... senior manager won't give you much headache  less
Pros
average place to work...
Cons
big waiting ques and angry customers.. other departments don't deal with first line
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company i ever worked for
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Beckenham9 August 2018
nano-managed, very heavy on kpi's, awful management only interested in their own agenda, will avoid this co completely in future for any role, but then its the least you can expect from the co that handles the congestion charge amongst a million other life-aggravating things
Pros
none
Cons
loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work, ever!
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire9 August 2018
All Capita care about is making money, not looking after their staff properly. Ops and managers care more about stats than making sure staff are taking care of the customers. If a manager does not like you for whatever reason they will go out of their way to sack you even if you're good at your job. You are disciplined for taking too long on a 'personal' so if you need to take an important call or you're having a poo, they don't care, they just want their stats to look the best. They constantly tell you one thing and then do the complete opposite. They make empty promises to you. They offer out sweets if you've done a good job, no one wants sweets we want DECENT PAY. Even the company they use for the canteen lunches is overpriced, no wonder everyone is poor. This is the worst place I've ever worked. So many people take time off sick because they can't handle the customer complaints. The customers wouldn't be complaining if we did what we said we would do for them. If we fixed the problems instead of sugar coating them like management want us to do. If the companies that Capita represent knew half of the stuff that goes on, their contract would be pulled instantly. If you work here, get out. If you're thinking of working here, you'll love it for the first few months and then you'll realise what a huge mistake you have made. It's not just me that thinks this either, everyone in that building thinks it's awful. The only people who don't are the ones with every weekend and bank holiday off, a liveable wage and a fancy car.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with amazing people
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow9 August 2018
Its a great place to work with amazing people to work with.
Alot of people help you learn and grow into your job role and it is really easy to feel valued.
Pros
Free tea & coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Inbound Call Agent (Former Employee) –  Rotherham7 August 2018
In my eyes Capita was a horrible place to work, never go for Agency work there try to be employed by capita ITSELF! Very rude employers and employees, and Very expensive, only good things there are that they have stalls brought in each week to buy things and and indoor cash machine.
Pros
Two 15min breaks and 1h lunch
Cons
Long hours, enclosed spaces, you barely get to see the sunlight, rude Team Leaders, tried to blame you for things that they have done incorrectly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but good environment
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire5 August 2018
The resource planning team are absolutely appalling. When we have enough staff the call centre is a great place to work. Free tea and coffee, new refurbished kitchens for lunches, air conditioning... the managers are supportive and will help you learn.
But the team that decide who gets trained on what are terrible. We have 2 services which are very busy and very understaffed and yet they are training people on quiet services which have more than enough people trained on them already. Seems like everyone is jumping ship and I do not blame them.
Pros
Free drinks, great job when staffed, no weekends
Cons
Often busy, irate council tenants expecting the world, angry callers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company, low pay, no prospects
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Darwen, Lancashire4 August 2018
Worked in their TV Licensing call centre in Darwen a few years ago. Minimum wage, monotonous job, horrible customers.

Managers are horrible, shift pattern is rubbish.

Avoid at all costs to preserve your mental sanity!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Staff and good place to work
Customer Service Advisor / Sales (Former Employee) –  Darwen2 August 2018
Capita is a place where you make friends and the job itself is very easy the training is brilliant. Staff can be nice but sometimes very nasty. The comfort breaks are stupid and personally i think overall its a decent standard place to work for.
Pros
Insentives WAS amazing
Cons
staff and the way they treat you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow2 August 2018
i would not work with this company again as the management are rude and unprofessional, staff are treated poorly, everything about this company is unprofessional and i would not apply for any job with this company

THERE ARE NO BENEFITS FOR WORKING WITH CAPITA THIS IS THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORK FOR I WOULD NEVER WORK HERE AGAIN
Pros
none
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and humiliating
Pensions Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire31 July 2018
Don't work here. The management are unprofessional and discuss staff home life for all to hear. No training whatsoever. No one knows what they are doing and you're made to feel bad if you question anything. Worst place I have ever worked and wouldn't go back for any amount of money.
Pros
Clean bathroom
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  UK26 July 2018
Great team to work with. Productive and High standard delivery practise. A very strong focussed delivery architecture and support network aided by a very supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capita
Senior technical support engineer l3 (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire25 July 2018
Good company although you feel more like a number than a person

Typical day would involve taking support calls from the NOC assisting customers at a L3 level .
Workplace culture is friendly
Good Salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some benefits...
Web developer / eLearning producer (Current Employee) –  Northants25 July 2018
...but very few opportunities for advancement. Such a diverse company though, that you could move around, but with restrictions on pay rises, little incentive to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable
Settlements Administrator (Former Employee) –  Manchester24 July 2018
I was there for 18 months after graduating doing PPI in manchester. The atmosphere was unsatisfactory, management gave there team (all young graduates) little independence. Very target based. I was also promised a payrise subject to hitting certain targets, I never got it and it took several months of me eventually complaining to one of the operations manager to get it sorted and backdated. Laborious weekly target team meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing
Manager (Current Employee) –  Scotland24 July 2018
Getting better, still a lot of work to be done. You can see the change but it’s slower than I and most would like. People are moving about campaigns so there are opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company to work for
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Peterlee, Durham21 July 2018
i would not even rate this company due to the bad experience i had working for them on behalf of n-power they treat there staff like live stock and management in this place is a joke its always gonna be the same the left hand dose not even know what the right is doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy office
Claims & underwriter administrator (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim21 July 2018
Processing claims as well as authoring and editing others work. Ensuring targets are met with the highest quality.

Adhering to data protection.

Reporting to management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Capita plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,949 reviews
5390
4592
3498
2199
1270

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture