Calor Gas Ltd. Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 89 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Account & Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  United kingdom5 August 2015
A different role daily, new people to meet, excellent staff and approachable management - overall a fantastic company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Calor Centre Manager (Current Employee) –  ENG14 April 2015
Good company, solid and steady. Great history and product knowledge.

Under staffed, lacks committed driver network.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Temporary Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Leamington Spa6 April 2015
Average place to work - managers are hardly around to help but very harsh to judge. Other members of staff and friendly and willing to help!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
Plant Engineer (Former Employee) –  ellesmere port12 February 2015
as a first time job it was a brilliant company to work for and gives you a good start in life and the potential to earn decent money if you put the hours in
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
plant operative (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR24 January 2015
I work with a goog hardwork team, fill gas cilinders,check valve,check weight,loading lorrys. Attended and passed successfully a course in Gas Safety and LPG Induction Training
Pros
free lunches, refund for transport
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Customer Engineering/Admin (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR21 January 2015
A typical days work was 9-5 everything Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. I learnt working in a team is the best way of working. I also developed more confidants with the public while dealing with customer issues. The most enjoyable part of this job was having such supported and helpful people surrounding me in the work place.
Pros
Friendly and Helpful staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calor
Marketing Executive (Former Employee) –  Warwick10 November 2014
Calor Gas was a great place to work, I learned a vast amount in a short period of time.
Pros
Exposure to interesting projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, overworked and broken equiptment.
Labour (Current Employee) –  suffolk8 July 2014
Start at 6 first break at 10 then 10.20 till 12.30 lunch half an hour then 1-3 just like a production line but with heavy cylinders.
Did learn how they only follow health and safety rules when an outsider is on site, also witnessed that they dug a hole and filled it with old zinc at the back of the site.
co workers were cool had a laugh with most but they dont stay for long.
Pros
You can do any job there way too easy too repetitive.
Cons
Bad back, pulled muscles supervisors dont help at all, no paid lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could do better
Bulk Tanker Driver (Current Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, ENG3 May 2014
the opportunity to have a wonderful company for both customers and employees has been missed.
Pros
pension package bonus schemes
Cons
weekend working
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 24Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Area Customer Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Northern UK8 April 2014
Progressed over the years at Calor Gas Limited to a managerial position.
Allowing me to travel throughout the UK and visit many other Calor locations.
Hardest part of the job on some occasions was the travelling to those locations furthest away.
Enjoyed the different people I would meet and build up relationships with colleagues as over the years would visit on a more frequent basis.
The job was challenging and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot about lpg gas / plant
pump man/driver (Former Employee) –  Grangemouth, SCT31 March 2014
I was responsible for starting up the plant and keeping a steady flow of LPG gas into the gas plant, keeping the site up to health and safety standards, loading and unloading vehicles with LPG gas, maintaining and filling LPG gas cylinders, driving the forklift trucks, keeping records of stock movement inputting the data into the computer system, training new employees and delivering to customers throughout Scotland.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely physical and dangerous work.
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Belfast, NIR7 March 2014
Even though its hard graft and a bit dangerous. its one of the best jobs i've had, You load and unload cylinders to pallets, which is like a medium intensity workout, and you get paid for it. so much better than paying for a gym. The workers there are so friendly and helpful, The management bends over backwards to help the workers out, they really make the job as good as possible.
Pros
flexible summer working hours
Cons
12/16 hour shift around xmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing more than a stop-gap
Plant Operative (Former Employee) –  Port Clarence12 February 2014
Spent days filling gas bottles, as well as cleaning, testing, scrapping, loading, painting and fixing them. Did not like the temporary aspect with the knowledge that every day could be the last. I enjoyed trying something I wouldn't usually find myself doing but struggled with the un-challenging aspect of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivery driver
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  telford5 December 2013
delivered gas, filled gas, hard but honest work...should of stayed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Class 2 ADR Driver (Current Employee) –  ENG23 November 2013
A typical day would be, start work at 6am, check the Vehicle over to make sure it is roadworthy and full with fuel, water, screen wash and oil, also make sure my load is secure and strapped down.

The other drivers I work with are very helpful and we all help each other out when needed.

I have learnt more about the areas I cover and also a lot better with my tachograph rules.

Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and being out delivering and going to new places
Pros
out on the road
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive
driver class 2 adr (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, ENG21 November 2013
load up and deliver gas bottles around the northwest. management were ok. co workers were ok.
Cons
heavy work for one person
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
sales rep (Former Employee) –  London, ENG17 October 2013
working as part of a team meeting new people learning as I went along.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
LGV C + E driver (Former Employee) –  Immingham, ENG13 July 2013
Immingham depot has a good management team and, unlike general haulage, are not constantly chasing you up. Good set of lads that work there. Only downside is it is seasonal and through an agency, but pay rate is pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and busy working environment
Area Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield21 January 2013
Daily work is reviewing reports, checking KPI's and service levels. Assisting with any required training needs.
Management are good to work with and my own boss is a great mentor.
Hardest part of the job is sometimes not getting the time to do every task you want to in a day.
Most enjoyable part of the job is always learning something new and working in a busy environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 26Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place i loved it!!
prouduction opp/ spray paint opp (Former Employee) –  ellesmere port3 January 2013
a typical day was a good day working for calor gas i learn t so much such as how to control two types of gases which were propane and butane. i also learn t how to fill the gas bottles safely and to spry paint them all.
Pros
cheap breakfast and dinner meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calor Gas Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 89 reviews
523
430
316
25
115

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.0Culture