Caffè Nero Employee Reviews

Found 405 reviews matching the search See all 440 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and funny place
future manager (Current Employee) –  Warren Street Station19 October 2019
My store is a busy place to work on. We are try to be at all time efficient and we are also try to make customers happy. we don't miss chance to try to support each other and hae fun during the shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Far from a good company to work for.
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Manchester Airport, Greater Manchester18 October 2019
Unfortunately they know nothing about employment laws. They ignore the standard hours you need between shifts, as well as how many days you should legally work in a row. Things are left broken which cause accidents. One store in the south found someone with life threatening injuries due to them not fixing something, if it’s anything like my old store it will have been to save money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater London18 October 2019
ambiente molto dinamico, veloce, ma troppe 48 ore a settimana come contratto da Manager... meglio lavorare come semplici baristi
Pros
varieta' di colleghi, ambiente vivace
Cons
ore lavorative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has become quite a miserable company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Belfast15 October 2019
Little/no support from management who often seem under pressure from area managers, salary definitely not worth the things you have to deal with e.g. clearing used needles from toilets and dealing with drunk and the like customers especially in city centre stores, poor work life balance due to shift work, low company morale, bad company culture. Changes in the company are coming that will make it more like a deli than a coffe shop.

You do receive excellent training in how to make coffee etc and there are good resources available. Good opportunities to progress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista (Current Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire12 October 2019
Good company to work for, very flexible. Very bust store in chester. I learned how to be more confident communicating with customers and how to make coffee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Worthing9 October 2019
Good for a Saturday job nothing else, awful hours, they expect you to have no life outside of work, management is terrible, only good thing is the free coffee (as long as you don’t have any syrups then you have to pay)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire4 October 2019
I had to quit my job because of the move. I enjoyed the work very much and I would definitely like to work for Caffe Nero again. Very pleasant environment and excellent coffee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Barista (Former Employee) –  Crawley3 October 2019
They demand too much from people.
It has Horrible management.
Too much stress and anxiety working there.
Not working in a café never again, it was the worst job experience I had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Azienda seria
Macchinista (Former Employee) –  Greater London3 October 2019
Azienda davvero seria e precisa su tutto , non ho nulla da dire contro
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Barista (Former Employee) –  Potters Bar, Hertfordshire27 September 2019
Not sure how others are, but the Potters Bar one has a couple of good working people and the rest just mess around like children. Management keeps changing and not trained enough to understand what work ethic is and how to deal with opression and discrimination at work. I wouldn't recommend it. I learned that no matter how much one does everything intended for the job and customers, the lack present in other's work will not make up for it and cannot be sustained.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo familiar
Gerente (Former Employee) –  Leeds26 September 2019
Sinceramente formar parte de esta empresa pasó a ser una de las mejores cosas que he hecho. No solo era un trabajo para mi, mis compañeros pasaron a formar parte de mi familia. Irse a vivir al extranjero no es fácil, pero ellos lo hicieron mucho mejor.
Pros
Café gratis y buenos descuentos! Encuentras muchos amigos.
Cons
No se paga las comidas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good Enough Pay
Barista (Current Employee) –  Belfast24 September 2019
They want you to do everything yourself with only two people running the coffee shop at a time because that is the 'nero standard', this includes dishes, cleaning, serving, restocking. When stores are as busy as they are this is a lot of pressure to do this all by yourself. Not paid enough to do the jobs of five people in a regular cafe environment. Additionally, only get a 20 minutes break, UNPAID, and only for over 6 hours. Only get 40 minutes, STILL UNPAID, if you work more than 10 hours, meaning loads of 9.5 hours shifts with one 20 minute break.
Good opportunity for growth and advancement throughout the company and they love to internally recruit for higher positions. But they over work their staff with little to no gratitude to be honest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lavoro e crescita
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Chislehurst24 September 2019
Ho avuto il piacere di lavorare e crescere all'interno di questa azienda,si comincia con un livello e stipendio base ma si cresce rapidamente,se avessi deciso di restare in Inghilterra probabilmente lavorerei ancora lì.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with advancement
GENERAL STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Cyprus Station20 September 2019
I was working for the company for 3 years which at the same time i was a full-time student for my B.A degree in Business. The company gave me the chance to work and have plenty of hours to study and most importantly gave me the chance to become a store manager by being internally promoted while i was studying. This is very important as i had the chance to get real time experience in management and operations.
Pros
promotions
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,but unnecessary stress and low pay
Barista (Former Employee) –  Northern Ireland20 September 2019
Great colleagues however everyone is over worked and under paid. Unnecessary stress for a coffee shop. Management is poor and holiday time is based on your average hours worked daily not days so eg I was off for one weeks holiday and got paid ten hours. Awful. Meet great people and friends, learn a lot about coffee and it’s great for progression to management etc but absolutely no work life balance offered so not a job for someone with a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Barista (Former Employee) –  Newtownards17 September 2019
Do yourself a favour and do not apply to work here.
Breaks only 20 min for anything up to a 10 hour shift, probably illegal.
You will likely work all weekend, every weekend.
Management base rota around themselves and employees they favour.
Only two people on per shift, it gets busy so you will be stressed and worked off your feet.
Horrendously early shifts.
Only closes on Christmas day due to corporate greed.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London South East, Greater London15 September 2019
Good place to begin with and fast training.
Altought the work-life balance is horrible.
Also the payment doesn't reflect the amount of tasks and pressure workers have to deal with dayle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively workplace, Great team
Barista (Current Employee) –  Malvern, Worcestershire9 September 2019
The day to day working in Caffe Nero is very rewarding especially working with a fab. Like all job roles, it can at times be hard or difficult to work around challenges but overall my experience with Caffe Nero has been great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey7 September 2019
The Manager is very rude. Salary is not enough for pay the bills. Nice coffe shop. Not enough benefits for the employers.. I don't suggest to work there!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, too many hours
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Surrey6 September 2019
Great company for training and progression, however 48hrs expected of managers is far too much. Plus you will very often work over this due to sickness, holidays etc.
Hard working 10 hours a day every day, with very little break.
Pros
Training and progression. Good people/teams
Cons
Long hours, little cover available, short breaks, salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caffè Nero. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 440 reviews
587
4133
3111
256
153

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.6Culture