CGI Group Employee Reviews

Found 85 reviews matching the search See all 2,365 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work life balance
Graduate Analyst (Former Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey17 May 2019
A great company to start my graduate career. An excellent work life balance, I was given the opportunity to work closely with clients at an early stage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No employee support
Customer service analyst (temporary) (Former Employee) –  Bridgend24 April 2019
I have never seen such a big staff turnover. Every 6months new people are taken on through employment agency's. And every 6 months they terminate staff
Pros
Non
Cons
Staff turnover, management attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience
Data Centre Migration Consultant (Current Employee) –  Scottish Borders2 April 2019
Not impressed at all! Extremely poor management, decision-making and a total lack of financial control. Solutions literally being rammed in without design, following company protocol/procedures, causing P1 incidents. Dreadful.....
Pros
Technology
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Senior Test Analyst (Current Employee) –  Birmingham8 March 2019
CGI is one of the best consulting companies i have worked with, This is CMM level 5 company and work culture is really great.
They have multiple projects running all around the world and keeps us busy all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive workplace
Criminal Justice Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire2 March 2019
Gained lots of feedback in appraisals, supervisions etc, gained new skills. Always very supportive and encouraging and did lots of online training and in house training courses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible! Avoid if you can.
IT Manager (Current Employee) –  South East England22 January 2019
It used to be Logica and has got much worse. CGI is extremely bureaucratic and rules based - every i needs to be dotted and every t crossed. The Canada HQ doesn't care about the UK operation, you live or die according to how profitable you are. A blame culture is endemic to this organisation and many managers are bullies with no humanity or concern for the staff well-being. Work demands are severe and on most projects you will work longer than 7.5 hours a day for no extra reward. Most projects are in odd locations that require a lot of travel, hence even more time is wasted on commuting. The company is extremely harsh on sickness, and if you take more than 20 days a year you will be investigated and receive no pay for sick time exceeding this. Benefits are standard, bonus is practically zero (maybe 1% if you are lucky), pay rises almost always below inflation, car allowance for middle management was dropped after the company became CGI, pay levels at or below market rates. Many staff are cheap graduates who will leave after a few years or old people aged 60+ waiting to retire. Buildings are old and in bad condition, catering facilities are shockingly bad, never enough toilets in buildings because of excessive staff for the space available.
Pros
In some projects you are allowed to WFH for 1-2 days a week
Cons
Too many to list here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cgi maybe ok for some
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Bridgend7 January 2019
If you work for directly for a client through cgi it is great, but if you work for the outsourcing side where it's just about saving money its terrible
Pros
Close to where i live
Cons
No training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Painfully Poor Pay and Advancement Opportunities
Java Developer (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey3 January 2019
Overall, this is a company that does not increase pay, skills, or listen to employees which wish to advance. I would not recommend working here, unless you have a very high starting salary, and are coming towards the end of your career.

Pros:
Flexible Work Life Balance
Good social atmosphere with co-workers
Good pension benefits

Cons:
- Terrible Pay rises. They are practically none existent, if you get a job here, make sure the staring pay is high. You will have it for a long time.
- No support for employees. Training is non existent, switching project can take over a year, and nobody listens to any employee asking to change their work.
- Manager Politics. Half these managers aren't necessary. They seem to exist from a company hierarchy from the 1960s where someone needed to play the foreman and watch the brick layers for a living. Nevertheless they are the only means for employees to move project, advance, and get training. The manipulation they use on employees with these strings is mortifying.
- Projects that don't advance your abilities or give you skills you can use elsewhere.
- Generally poor benefits compared to other companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work culture
Technical Lead/ Senior Developer (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, UK9 December 2018
I worked for 13 years with the same company and is a great company to work with. started as a junior developer and grown gradually and now in a technical manager role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tends to operate a culture of faveritisum
Service Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend22 November 2018
An ok company to workj for if you wish to sign your whole life to them, constant preasure to work late a night & weekends. Staff who cant \ wont work the hours are looked on less favorable than others.

some training available. but you are expected to train yourself, most of the time.

Good company for youngsters
Pros
Not many
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag
Office worker (Former Employee) –  Bridgend22 November 2018
I started on the service desk which was a nightmare, high pressured and stressful environment with little to no thanks, basic salary and very little pay increase. Often overworked and had terrible management which never praised and always belittled. Moved onto a different department in a different area and it became a different company, very laid back, very hands on management, and great benefits such as personal laptop & phone and working from home and a great environment to work in.
Pros
laid back, work from home, great benefits, good progression
Cons
service desk nightmare, poor pay, good locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective business model for maintaining results
Director Consulting (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester7 November 2018
As well as being a great place to work CGI has a great management foundation enabling it to grow and make competitive levels of margin. Usual range of opportunities that you'd expect from a global organisation of this scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non ethical to report on previous employer
Service Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Home worker - Base office Reading4 October 2018
non ethical to report on previous employer - Not prepared to divulge confidential information and current of past employers, due to equivalence and code of ethics.
Pros
non ethical to report on previous employer
Cons
non ethical to report on previous employer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Accountants Assistant (Former Employee) –  London4 July 2018
Was good money, commute wasn't too bad and I learned many types of accounting skills. I learned many of my Excel skills here but I would never go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test Management - Smart Metering
Systems Integration Test Manager (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey6 June 2018
Commercial / contractural test awareness, and key person in Systems Integration Test team for securing and implementing the Test Strategy. I have a large team of around 40 testers and 4 test managers that Direct Report into me. Hardest part one the job is controlling change, as the customer changes their mind.However, this is also the most enjoyable part of the job, as the challenge to either work with the customer to give the most appropriate test methodology is both exciting and satisfying.
Pros
lots of testing work
Cons
old fashioned testing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Employer
Digital Consultant (Former Employee) –  Various13 March 2018
My experience of CGI was varied. I joined CMG which became Logica then CGI. Lots of cultural and organisational change all of the time and with CGI an annual reorganisation of leadership and teams.

Job opportunities were predominantly excellent for most of my career but dried up in London towards the latter in the Digital Transformation space. The hardest part of my role became the travel. You have to be very flexible and manage autonomously so it became preferable to work for oneself.

The most enjoyable part of CGI was the variety of roles and opportunity as well as those people involved. I was fortunate to always work with great teams, individuals and on site with customers - it felt like a new job every time.

Also, CGI was a strong supporter of part time work and home working which enabled me to remain involved for so long. I was also able to extend my learning through mentorship, coaching and community volunteer work which is a real plus point to realising personal achievement and success.
Pros
CSR volunteering. Holiday allowance and flexible working.
Cons
Limited client work opportunities. Under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance
Oracle HCM Consultant (Current Employee) –  Didsbury, Greater Manchester21 February 2018
Ability to work from home is great, but can be a challenge giving up if you are looking to progress elsewhere. When taking into consideration any further roles, put a price on peace of mind and savings on commuting when looking to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London29 December 2017
I was there for over 20 years, and generally found the people good to work with. There was a good range of propjects and clients. Since I left Logica, the company has now merged with CGI.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Payroll Consultant (Former Employee) –  Manchester24 November 2017
It was a long time ago now but I remember learning about new processes and there was always an opportunity to learn more if you wanted to.

Nice place to work,
Pros
Free cake
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  London8 November 2017
BPO model was not always conducive to long term career development. If your project had a long term contract in-place and a healthy budget, career enrichment was available.
Pros
Diverse projects
Cons
Lack of disciplines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CGI Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,365 reviews
5600
4882
3576
2175
1132

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture