Buy It Direct
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Buy It Direct Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 75 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you want to messed about every shift and feel undervalued this is the place for you! Managers who can't make their minds up so keep changing you from one job to another and then blame you if you make a mistake when you don't know if you're coming or going! If you're not one of the favoured few you won't progress any where in the company, senior managers have their favourites, they get away with everything and the promotions and credit go to them when its due, if your face don't fit you will do all the work while the favorites take the credit or the managers mate gets the promotion on offer even if they are unsuitable for the job. Compulsory unpaid shifts every 3rd weekend which you have no choice in, the company says its because you get paid for dinner breaks so every 3rd week it totals a 7.5 hour shift unpaid on a weekend!! Its just a blag so they don't have to pay you overtime for Saturday and Sunday shifts! Poor company to work for there are better places to work trust me, if you go home feeling like you've been treated like a stray dog you've had a good day!!
Pros
Finishing time
Cons
poor and inexperienced managers, at all levels, who have only been employeed in the positions because they are yes men, they do not have a clue how to manage people
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Salary is second to none, fantastic, management, horrific, ruin your life horrific.Certain managers are enough to give you PTSD, no joke. Absolutely vile culture, some staff are modelled into miniature versions of their manager.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not worth the time and effort!!! No trust or respect. You will get pulled up on things saying you have done so and so wrong even though that’s the way you have been taught by the trainer. They won’t question the trainer because management is that poor. I would say the whole hierarchy is a mess. They just look short term not long term. Personally I would say give this company a miss.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, team, atmosphere
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
23 November 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry you feel this way. Your feedback is valuable to us and we would always encourage employees to speak to their manager or People Partner with any concerns. We would welcome the opportunity to listen to your feedback fully, if you would like to speak to us please email careers@buyitdirect.co.uk with your number and convenient time we can call you. Kind Regards People Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good workplace. Its a growing company and if you enjoy a journey ..this is the right place to be. The company offers great opportunity to progress and has been supportive and fair during these unprecedented times -COVID
Pros
Progression
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I would recommend this job to any money driven / hard working individual. Commission structure is very fair & gives you the opportunity to make 35k+ per year for making conversation with customers & upselling warranty at the end of the calls. Targets are achievable & commission uncapped.Progression is there for those who want it. The company as a whole seem to promote from within, rather than sourcing candidates externally to fill positions.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
23 November 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback, it's great to hear.Many ThanksThe People Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I've been here for a year and a half, I have over 20 years experience working in both highly creative agencies and large commercial businesses. This feels exciting, the business is growing quickly, it feels fast-paced. It's a young business that is still learning a few things, it's heading in the right direction. If you are genuinely engaged in your career goals and ready to get stuck-in, then you can thrive here.
Pros
Free tea, free parking, staff discount, paid overtime, good IT support
Cons
Peak times may require longer hours (Black Friday etc.)
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have recently been made redundant, and spent a while going for interviews for various places around Yorkshire. When I was offered an interview with BID, I was admittedly hesitant after reading the reviews and I made a conscious effort to ask at each interview stage what the workplace was like and the culture. BID is made up of smaller companies, I'm working at Furniture123 in the marketing team and I would describe the atmosphere as lively and entrepreneurial, in that everyone is working towards the same goal to make the company better and make the customer journey better. It is competitive, but only really within yourself where you are working towards your own goals. It's a motivating place to work, and often the work is collaborative, having a meeting with different members of the business just to bounce ideas around is second nature here and it is a really nice way to work, building on ideas together. This is also one of the few places I have worked where if you have an idea, the team push you to action it; they don't just fob you off, like other places I have worked for. Naturally they do advise and help you shape it, but ultimately they are very encouraging. In my first couple weeks I had endless support from other people in the team, everyone was and still is incredibly friendly and supportive, it feels like they want you to succeed as much as they want themselves to. Everyone here is passionate about the products, the customers and the wider business which is great to be part of. If you, like me, are coming from redundancy into BID, you can rest easy knowing that job - more...
Pros
Nice offices and tech, fully set up to work from home early doors, good co-workers, collaborative working, challenging but rewarding work
Cons
Longer hours than I'm used to, higher workload than i'm used to.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Absolutely shocking place to work, covid outbreaks left right and centre! Management havent a clue what they're doing. HR are unresponsive, all they're bothered about is stats and competitiveness against each team member. There is a high turn over of staff think twice before applying for a job here!
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, very repetitive
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worst company Management are awful, the people that do well have worked their a long time and do nothing other than get on with senior management Very very very wellI am being kind! I could put far worse
Pros
None
Cons
Nasty place to work and don’t look after new starters
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
23 November 2020
Thank you for your feedback, all feedback is important to us both positive or negative. We would always welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in more detail as we are continuously striving to further improve our employee experience. If you would like to arrange a confidential conversation please email careers@buyitdirect.co.uk . Kind Regards
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Buy It Direct?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
absolute terrible place to work I was working there two day and threatened to be sacked three times for “not looking busy enough” you are treated as expendable and management are Bullies and you have to “look pretty so you dont get sacked” its a joke especially when i suffer with anxiety and depression as it is but they do not care worst place to work no respect for staff full of foul mouthed bullies
Pros
None
Cons
Evrything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They tell you all sorts of rubbish get your birthday off I have been there over a year asked for my birthday off no chance you didn't give enough notice thanks
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
23 November 2020
We're sorry you feel this way. Having your birthday off is a great a staff benefit we offer. It comes into effect once you have completed a full years service so it can therefore take longer than 12 months dependent on you start date and the date of your birthday. We would always suggest you contact the People Team if you have any questions or concerns. Kind Regards The People Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As a driver for the company it was horrendous! I never knew what I was working as I would get my rota daily and it would be about 8pm and it would be asking me to start at 6am, they set targets that can only be made of you drive more than double the speed limit, expected to deal with very heavy lifting with no support or tools to do so. No break, terrible pay, get accused of speeding, driving badly, taking too long to complete a job, no support or happiness in the job, the job its self made me develop severe anxiety and depression to the point where I am now terrified of driving when I have drove for 15 years and have a full clean licence and now also terrified of looking for another job because of the company. I'd never even recommend it to my worst enemy!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked at Huddersfield buy it direct for a couple of weeks. This place is a joke. Spoken to like a piece of dirt on a regular basis. There is a revolving door of new starters and leavers due to mis management and poor leadership. They sing the right song and then lose track of the hym sheet. I honestly wish I checked the reviews of this company before I decided to leave job seeker's allowance because it was
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Team leader in picking area, Homophobic management disrespectful and dont care about staff.. send you home after a few if work Is "low" expect the earth and get nothing in return. Brief every morning managers huddling no social distancing.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
HR. Are a joke full of arrogant gossip mongers with too much self hot air and think they're better than everyone else Zero loyalty of staff who don't take part in putting them on a pedistal, and to think their supposed to be the team you go to with concerns!! Very very click on general worst place I have experienced
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
10 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback both positive and negative very seriously and will always welcome a conversation to discuss your feedback in more detail to understand why you feel as you do. If you would like to arrange a confidential conversation please contact careers@buyitdirect.co.uk and this can be arranged. Kind Regards
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked here for about 5 years on am shift, great bunch of ppl on shop floor but management are an absolute joke , expect you to adhere to health and safety yet management drive on fork lifts with ith no licence and nothing is done when reported, avoid at all costs management are nothing but bullies
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
All about money and no customer care too much difference and divide between the rules and divide between each department not very professional ads company
Pros
Good car park
Cons
The job
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I had an interview with Buy it Direct. On that interview day, line manager was on business trip and so one of colleagues (who works on extra some job I applied) interviewed me. Then I had second interview with line manager. Whole procedure was really stressful and wasting time. Dont recommend this company to anyone who wants a fair pay,
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
1 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. All feedback is important to us and we would always welcome the opportunity to learn from our employees and candidates experiences to improve for the future. Please do contact us at careers@buyitdirect.co.uk with a telephone number or email address we can contact you directly on. Many Thanks Careers Team at Buy It Direct.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Staff are given health and safety brief and then expected to ignore it and lift up to 100kg on their own multiple times a day. Managers are abusive, racist and homophobic.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
24 February 2020
Thank you for your recent review, and we are sorry your experience doesn't reflect our company vision and values. We take everything you have bought to out attention very seriously,and would like to investigate further. I am aware that the Dodworth site closed last year, following the opening of our new Huddersfield Distribution center. Therefore please would you be able to contact the people team at careers@buyitdirect.co.uk to discuss further. Many ThanksBuy It Direct - People Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Brilliant job if you have the gift of the gab. Job role was to sell insurance to existing customers under the pretense that you’re just getting feedback about their purchase. This job made me depressed and because I couldn’t sell, they let me go and I couldn’t have been more relieved.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
24 February 2020
Hi,We're sorry to read about your personal feelings of your time at Buy It Direct and are disappointed that you were unable to share this with us at the time.We take all feedback seriously and are always looking to improve our employee experience. If you would like to contact the People team to discuss your feedback, please email careers@buyitdirect.co.uk and let us know a suitable time and number we can contact you on.Kind regards,The People Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They don’t seem to care about the customers they help, the systems are out dated and slow, long processes for customers. Management are a joke they all sit around doing what looks like nothing all day, high staff turn over, training is insufficient, management act like they are willing to support your needs, they constantly pulled me due to issues at home and offered to drop my hours which wasn’t an option for my self! The advised processes that you are told to advise customers the shortest is 24 hours to replace faulty items it’s a joke rather than a job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Buy It Direct
24 February 2020
Hi,We're sorry to read about your personal feelings of your time at Buy It Direct and are disappointed that you were unable to share this with us at the time.We take all feedback seriously and are always looking to improve our employee experience. If you would like to contact the People team to discuss your feedback, please email careers@buyitdirect.co.uk and let us know a suitable time and number we can contact you on.Kind regards,The People Team
  1. Employee reviews