Butlins Employee Reviews

Found 175 reviews matching the search See all 180 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security - not a good place to work.
Resort Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis21 January 2019
Worked with the company for a while, unfortunately this is not going to be a positive review.
1. Pay rate is a NMW. Nights don't get payed more. The amount of stress and things you have to deal with for the bare minimum is unacceptable. The expectation from the company and management team is ridiculous. They pay minimum and expect an awful lot.

2. ROTA. At the start you will be promised alot. But be prepared to be dissapointed. Allegedly you are supposed to be working 4 on, 4 off. Well that sounds nice, but never gets delivered. Be prepared to work 5/6/7 12hr shifts on a row (nights and day's) then have 24hrs off (That classed as your day off) and off you go back into work. So if you don't have family, friends and life - this job is for you. Also you'll hear an awful lot of this - "needs of the bussiness".

3. Management. Highly unprofessional. Some can come into work in a bad mood and literally start shouting and bellitelling people in front of everybody. Some also talk about other team members with OTHER TEAM MEMBERS about sensitive matters.

4. SAFETY. Team is left on numerous occasions to work on their own without a check up. Constantly not having enough team means you'll sacrifice your break (Because there is no one to cover).


The good thing about this job is the team. All are very friendly, professional and good people.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
Long hours; Management ; Rota; Pay;
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun work place
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Skegness15 January 2019
I worked in restaurants waitressing, such a good job! Fun atomsphere started in summer so I quickly picked up the role. I’d never done waitressing before but everyone helped me and worked as a team, didnt ever feel pressured. The training process was really good, well structured! Always informed on what you need to improve on& how youre doing. I loved it here everyone was welcoming& friendly and everyone was close felt like a family which is good.
Managers amazing, great management& good overtime available if you want to progress. Also able to pick other skills up in different venues for example bar work! it is possible to make a career here& easily move forward if youre hardworking. Managers are really easy to talk to aswell!
Pros
Pay, Management, Team
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Guest Services Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis23 September 2018
Very little in the way of career development, and very tough working hours with little regard for staff well being. Very poorly paid with very few staff benefits.
Pros
Team building and events
Cons
Poor pay, no wrk-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social but professional
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Minehead28 January 2019
Butlin's helped me further my career and helped me progress by putting me on a lifeguard course. You make loads of friends as there are people from all around the country working there so there's a good social element to it as well.
Pros
Socialising, professional, hardworking, experience, highly active pool
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy!
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis, West Sussex23 September 2018
What a joke show.. this is the worst place I’ve ever worked at in my entire life! They employ too many post high school kids so it’s just one big place for drama and gossip! The money is horrific for the job that we do, so resort safety, with all our qualifications, get paid the exact same as a cleaner.. people are so small minded what work here and become so wrapped up in the butlins bubble. If you want to work somewhere with drama every single day and work with a bunch of two faced people then go ahead! If your more sensible than that, stay well away!! I’m so glad I left!
Pros
Qualifications, leaving
Cons
Pay, environment, staff, management, work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable working place
Butlins worker (Former Employee) –  North Wales10 September 2018
This was very enjoyable place of work you work colleges become friends and even as close as family as you work eat and drink with them you become close .
I found although there were lots of young people working here their were also older people here who’s children had left home and decided they wanted to do something completely different
Pros
Meals and accommodation were included in the job
Cons
Long hours but enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place i worked
Painter (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis10 September 2018
never get a job here u just treated like XXXX from management on a daily bacis they alway telling to get done quicker trying to get most for there £££
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
managment treat people like a XXXX
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good
Chef (Former Employee) –  Skegness1 March 2018
Was good experience working there I feel if you are young and want learn it’s place but if your older you may get over looked for chances of moving up in promotion sadly , would recommend I enjoyed my work place would been better if I could expanded and was offered more of better role and salary
Pros
Discount food nice team
Cons
Long hours but it’s enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team member
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Skegness, Lincolnshire29 June 2018
Wouldn't work here again...the way managers treat people its unbelievable...really wouldn't recommend a job at butlins deffo when the team members treat you like your nothing clearly slave Labour
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Lifeguard/Swimming Teacher (Former Employee) –  Lincoln27 November 2018
overall a good place for the younger ones to work at and gain experience. accommodation for the staff could be a lot btter as this was very poor for the amount that we had to pay live on site. not got a ktchen area just a bedroom and a shared bathroom area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Butlins?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant opportunities at Butlin's
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis23 March 2018
I worked my way up from a team member to a manager within 4 years. Yes the pay as a team member wasn't the best But it soon increased. You work hard and get rewarded for it. Living on team accommodation was the best years of my life too. It's only thanks to BUtlin's that I can now move onto my dream job back near my parents. I am qualified and experienced and Butlin's paid for it all.
Pros
Team Accommodation and the team you work with
Cons
The starting salary but it soon increased
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Work Place
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis17 January 2019
Fantastic place to work because you can build professional relationships with colleagues very easily. And you can either continue making these relationships professional or meet up outside of work and become friends.
Pros
Different variety of Customer
Cons
On your feet for a very long time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis17 May 2018
Working for Butlins can be great as a first job as it will get you used to working.

The hours are very long though and the pay was not good enough to want to stay
Pros
It can be fun
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Mono-rail driver (Former Employee) –  Skegness29 October 2018
Whilst employed at Butlins my role their was driving the mono-rail.We started work at 10am until 6pm.It was a fun job driving round the holiday camp.You got to meet all different kinds of people.
Pros
Free meals because we lived on the camp
Cons
Only seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the people you meet re what make it
Funfair Team Member (Current Employee) –  Bognor Regis8 October 2018
not much stability and consistency. better for a short term occupation due to the hours being dependent on the type of break your working and you have a total of 3 and half months of shut down to contend with where you will have no work. the team are what makes it enjoyable, the job itself loses its appeal rather quickly. i dont think the team at butlins get treated as well as they should be either but you either get used to it or leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable
Seasonal Staff (Former Employee) –  Pwhelli14 May 2018
Loved it, made many friends and have stayed in contact with loads.
As it was only seasonal work, your contract was at end of season was really in the hands of the managemant. Did four years and learn't a lot about Catering.
Pros
Free uniform, meals and accommodation
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Minehead1 May 2018
A fun work place and the members of staff are all great to work with good working environment. most enjoyable part of work was getting to meet new people. Management wasn't as good as it first. the team leaders and managers were lazy and most of the night stayed down the cellar and when asked for help sometimes they would not come up and help when the bar was busy.
Pros
Accomadation
Cons
Lazy managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good first job
Shops team member/ key holder / resort navigator (Current Employee) –  Bognor Regis20 August 2018
Great place but had it's ups and downs and only seasonal with some parts of the year having none or little hours. Team ethic changes quite a lot. Never able to move forward and achieve goals
Pros
Good social life
Cons
Rota only done 2 weeks in advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Minehead, Somerset29 July 2018
i learn to cooperate with colleges,t
the company broad many happy smiles after finished the holidays and send happy and relax people beck to their normal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis, West Sussex24 July 2018
fun place to work meeting different people all the time place i would work again and highly recommend anybody to work there. there is also tots of pros for working in the company
Pros
free entry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Butlins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 180 reviews
562
443
336
225
114

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture