Burtons Biscuits Employee Reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 53 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable place to work
Process Worker (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh28 July 2019
not enjoyable when first started was fun exciting but now, all the managers want to do is ruin everyone enjoying there work life. in this current heat the company have offered nothing to help the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brown Nosers Welcome
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, Lancashire8 May 2019
Staff treated unfairly, bullying and harrasment is a daily problem....Zero Hygiene, Dirty Canteen....Old Wrapping Machines....I would close down this place immadiately....
Pros
Weekly payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency worker
Packer (Former Employee) –  Blackpool23 April 2019
If you work for an agency at Blackpool Burton's biscuits, be warned your job is not safe at any point and you have very little chance of gaining permanent work with this company. I've left a full time permanent job thinking I would be better if here. I've just worked almost three weeks and my agency sent me a text saying don't go back into work due to volumes, with no real explanation what's going on. I'm left now out if work with no idea what's happening. I was told when I got the job that if you work 12 weeks without having a day off, you'll be paid a bonus of around a thousand pounds, thats why I went for this job. So ive turned in for every shift, never been late, and ive worked the best I can. Now I'm left jobless with no income and no money to pay my bills in coming weeks. I'm so annoyed because staff at my agency said it was ongoing work, and staff I asked at Burton's they told me there is lots if work here due to how busy they are, yet ive got a text on bank holiday Monday telling me I'm not required due to volumes. I should get part of my bonus due to not working not being my fault. But I bet I don't haha, so funny this situation ive found myself in, I'm fuming with how ive been treated and lied to. You can if your lucky enough to be selected get temporary contracts with Burton's biscuits, but they are what they say they are until they don't need you, so beware of this. They are very strict and don't take absence from work nicely so if you can't turn in for every shift on time, I'd advise you not to work at Burton's. I feel totally used and lied to so other people  more... can gain from my 100% effort at this place working for proman recruitment. I could say so much more but I haven't got time, and ive got to rush round and try and find some work to keep a roof over my head. Never work overtime here unless they desperate for you, cause all the regular staff there moan about it and threaten to go on strike. Don't work here for an agency its a complete shambles, if your okay with temporary work try getting in with Burton's itself.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are friendly and hardworking but not valued
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh11 April 2019
Does not invest in people, no company values, directors with no people skills and only interested in bonuses.
Staff are treated unfairly depending in which part of the country they are, even though they promote ‘one team’.
If you don’t mind treading on people trying to get to the top then this company is for you.

Needs changing from the top down if its wants to succeed.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire19 February 2019
The factory is too hot, no aircon.
Not allowed to work if you are unwell, but penalized if you are off work because of illness.
Stupid amount of gossip and bullying in the factory.
at least half the management has never done or know anything about the production and machine operating yet expect you to perform miracles.
The hygiene is laughable as is the health and safety.
Pros
Weekly Pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Company to work for
Hygiene Manager (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh3 February 2019
I enjoy my time working for Burtons Biscuits Company, the company has provided me with a large amount of support and growth within my time over the last 7 years
Pros
Job enjoyment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool20 October 2018
worked night shifts , hard works, very busy working evirroment and was very noisy due to loud machinery , i enjoyed working there but left due to being on a temp contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok if you don't like planning your life in advance
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire28 August 2018
Not knowing what you are working until the end of the week. Amazing place to be if you like gossip because that is what you will get and hear. Managers and leaders have their favourite and if you are not one of them you will know about it. "Production Operative" no just call it packing
Pros
When the shift finally ends.
Cons
working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burtons
Production Operative (Current Employee) –  Llantarnam, Torfaen22 August 2018
Avoid like the plague. Hygiene could be a lot better, also the staff treat you like dirt. Been there a couple of months, never been trained just chucked in the deep end and told to crack on with it. If you don’t get it or don’t understand the staff give you verbal abuse, any information disclosed will eventually get spread around by supervisors/ management. Way too much bullying by other colleges.
Pros
Half price biscuits
Cons
Long hours, no air conditioning, hot weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot and humid,low morale
Production Operative (Current Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire27 July 2018
Been employed by burtons for a number of years and have seen a rapid decline in the company,mostly through bad management and low morale on the shop floor ,resulting in numerous cases of bullying between workers..it's not a good atmosphere there.the hygiene could also be a lot better.
Pros
Na
Cons
Too hot, lack of aircon
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Shift Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh22 July 2018
Good place to work with some fantastic people. The role was quite challenging and hours could be long but i enjoyed my time there. Management were very demanding. Pros outweigh the cons which is rare nowadays.
Pros
Good salary. Good workforce. Fantastic products.
Cons
Had to cover colleagues holidays by means of overtime for no extra pay. Work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lovely location, brilliant social culture, god products
Category Analyst, Asda Category Captains (Former Employee) –  St Albans, Hertfordshire4 June 2018
They work hard but they play hard too. Ambitious growth targets. Multiple opportunities a year to attend black tie events with retailers and Burtons own work events.
Pros
Domino's Pizza every month
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Factory Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool16 May 2018
This was a good job and had many benefits with it this included learning new skills everyday and a fun workplace to work in. Also there was a staff shop shock had many benefits from being an employee at this company
Pros
Canteen.
Cons
Alternative hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is very bad
Packer (Former Employee) –  Blackpool27 March 2018
The job security here is very bad, you feel used and unwanted. When applying for permeant jobs it is unlikely you will get an interview no matter how much experience you have.

Management are very week and have no gratitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay
Factory Operative (Former Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire19 January 2018
Good shifts with good pay, tidy people to work with good holidays and always looked after when on sick for any reason! Plenty of opportunities to further your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 22Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job bad money
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh11 January 2018
I worked in this factory for almost one year, the job is quite easy (packing biscuits or picking them from the belt) but the problem is you start to work with an agency (redrock) and they pay you the minimum wage and they send you a text if you will work the next day or not. Especially during the winter they call you just 2-3 times per week and sometimes they cancel your shift one or two hours before you start your shift.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Minimum wage, winter very quite
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool2 December 2017
job was ok there wasn't much communication between mangers and staff hygiene was excellent colleges was excellent loved working in the packing department it was a very challenging role
Pros
brilliant cantine
Cons
staff and employee not much comunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant
Warehouse forklift truck driver (Current Employee) –  Cwmbran, Monmouthshire5 August 2017
I have worked there many years and enjoy it. I've made good friends ing the way. The work is enjoyable however, the canteen is not the best!!!!
It's just time for a change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good laugh with good breaks
Packing Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool, Lancashire30 March 2017
It's a decent place to work but there is no job security unless you have a permanent contract which you can't get unless you have been there 5 years which also include the times you were laid off.
Pros
Decent breaks
Cons
2-10 shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Biscuit packer (Former Employee) –  Mansfield road1 March 2017
A typical day at Burtons would consist of packing various packets of biscuits for various retail outlets,keeping my area of work tidy.
Working at burtons taught me about team work and time keeping.
I didnt find any part of my job harder than any other as i really enjoyed my job and the people i worked with.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the people i worked with on a daily basis.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Burtons Biscuits. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 53 reviews
59
418
37
211
18

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture

Burtons Biscuits Reviews by Location