Bupa Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Member Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey8 November 2017
Professional and fun environment to work with. Aids development as much as possible. Lots of great benefits. Depending on the department you work for, if it’s the contact centre there are many who wish to develop with few places to fill but generally still a great scope to develop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ice place to work
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bridport, Dorset7 November 2017
Under staffed long hours residents very nice management easy to talk to nice place to work staff vert friend got to do my nvq even though the shift were long the time went very qnickly
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
12 hour shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff lovely but company don't appreciate the good staff they have.
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Luton6 November 2017
Don't care about your home life just how many days and long hours they can get you to work then moan when your burnt out and off sick.

Best part is helping residents with there day to today care.

Not being able to have the time to sit and chat to residents.

Always being short staffed
Pros
Free Lunch on long day.
Cons
Not being appreciated for all the the work you do and pressure put on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment to work in
Auxiliary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Glasgow3 November 2017
Very long, hard working day. Constantly on your feet until your break time. If you did not smoke you had a rougher ride. Did not learn very much. Did not meet any Management. Just got on with your work. Fitting in due to being an agency worker. Making old people smile
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not good hourly rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad
Hca (Current Employee) –  Dudley31 October 2017
Very disgusting place to work atrocious management no respect for anyone ovoer worked WAY under paid, all they want is paper work done. Management is vile not caring at all
Would not recommend at all everrr
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel
Home Healthcare Sister (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire31 October 2017
Whilst I worked for the Home Healthcare department of Bupa I found the hardest part of the job was the traveling as I was required to travel to different counties regularly. But the clients I worked with made it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough time to spend with residents
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent29 October 2017
I didn't enjoy working at bupa I thought it was under staffed and we couldn't give the residents the time and attention they needed, the residents were always clean and well looked after but that ment extra pressure on the health care assistants I enjoyed the working with staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire28 October 2017
It was alright. Work life balance okay. Management not very supportive of the team members. Very little time to spend time with residents as a lot is expected of very little staff on duty!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Camberley, Surrey28 October 2017
A typical day at work included assisting 25 residents' per floor with their daily needs. Serving and assisting residents' at meal times, as well as washing and dressing them throughout the day,

I learnt more about mental health issues and disabilities whilst working at Bupa and developed more compassion for others.
The most enjoyable part of the job was developing strong relationships both within your team and with the residents' as well as their families.

In addition, the management were understanding and very friendly as well as flexible. However, the hardest part of the job were the long hours as well as a very professional workplace culture where you can't talk about anything outside of work.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Placement from a Students Perspective
Work Experience Student (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes24 October 2017
With this work placement, you will be helping vulnerable elderly people helping staff make sure that their needs are all being met. You will also be able to form professional relationships and will be given the opportunity to ask what their job roles are like and what is required of you if you have their job.

Every day is very different as it depends on activities and whom you are helping.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counter productive and demoralising
IT Specialist (Former Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames22 October 2017
Only can only think of words to describe the company as a whole: Frustrating, demoralising, lack of investment, which speaks volumes really. I really can't think of anything more to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place ever to work do not do not work here
Carer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow20 October 2017
One of the worse places I've ever worked in my life. I thought the bullying stoped when you left school,how wrong was I !!! Certain members of staff allowed to do what the like and go around intimidating people and making their life a misery and getting away with it absolutely disgusting and also yiu only get on and do well in the place if you're face fits and have a brown straw
Pros
Made a friend for life
Cons
Almost everyone else ie management and heads of departments are absolute bell ends
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Financial Administrator (Current Employee) –  Hampshire18 October 2017
Would not recommend working for Bupa, despite their published values they do not treat staff fairly, they are not transparent and do not value people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work ethic
Procurement Operations Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire18 October 2017
Typical day involves dealing with the teams escalations, working out the teams workload. Meetings with the wider Procurement team and working on assigned projects on top of the day-to-day roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improved patient response
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford16 October 2017
Respond to all patient inquiries when the buzzer goes off. Process all documentations during my shift.
Gives a helping hand to colleague's when am done with my duties.
Email all completed work to my line manager after my shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great management
Suppression Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salford Quays16 October 2017
The staff are all lovely and the facilities for the staff are great incentives. Keeps you motivated and engaged. the typical day was a 9am start and 5 o clock finish. The work place culture is very relaxed and dress code quite lenient. The most difficult part of the job was making sure that we were within the constraints of the project and ensuring and optimal IT system set up for the tasks involved. As a team we came together to create the best possible outcome and really were updated regularly by the management included in any important decisions. The staff facilities such as free teas and coffees as well as the gym open to employees and cafeteria were all to a high standard and very affordable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not quite what I was expecting......
Chef (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire15 October 2017
Company policy not adhered to in certain areas of the work in catering. Workload quite heavy with much time spent on your own.
The residential home itself is well kept and tastefully decorated. Care staff are mainly young and enthusiastic and residents are well looked after.
Pros
Four day working week
Cons
Lack of enthusiasm in some catering staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Heywood12 October 2017
good place to work to improve confidence and meet new people. this is also a good job to improve communication and teamwork skills as these are key in a role at bupa
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun andfriendly workplace
carassistant (Former Employee) –  elmridge coulby newham middlesbrough10 October 2017
i enjoyed working in this position
with the clientell
every day was different and challenging
is was good been part of a team that worked well
and helping to make a difference to peoples life.
i help to train new starters so they could do the job properly.
The hardest part of the job was when you lost a resident because working so close to get to feel like they are part of the family but you also have to be professional at work and keep together for the other residents
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smiles and listening to the giggles and laughs of the resident, it lets you know that you are doing your job properly..
Cons
manage rwas unaproachable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the family
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Malvern, Worcestershire7 October 2017
Absolutely loving my role within this company. The floor I work on is very much family orientated. We work as a team, management are awesome, I would definitely recommend priory unit.
Pros
Every days a winner
Cons
Pay not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report