Bupa Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful wages
Telephone counsellor (Former Employee) –  Salford Quays, Greater Manchester7 August 2018
Bupa are always recruiting bacp accredited counsellors... And hope to attract them for less than £13 an hour! That's too close to the minimum wage and its just not viable. If you were a trainee with few qualifications and extremely low expectations it might be worth a week working there... If only to show you what you don't ever want to do. I'm sure the staff are very nice and all that but their niceness won't pay yo mortgage.
Pros
None
Cons
Corporate prison working for a pyramid where you're the monkey and the money goes upwards.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Worcester30 July 2018
Nice place clean good place to work for hours r vert long tho organised nice resepsoin era wen u walk in all ways clean nd smells nice makes u welcome
Pros
Feee luch
Cons
Long houes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basildon30 July 2018
Ilove working for bupa they are great the induction was a wek long i got to know everything that i had to do whem i start i didnt have to pay for my bds and everybody was very suportive.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid
Member Services advisor (Former Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey18 July 2018
during my time with Bupa, I was made to feel like a machine and didn't feel there was much of a work-life balance and although I'd met some lovely people the stress of the job was enough to make me want to move on
Pros
people, benefits, free gym
Cons
long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues
HCA (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 July 2018
its ok its a shame they stopped the free lunches on 12 hour shifts.
Managment wasnt greaqt at first but once manager changed it got better
rewarding...
Pros
residents
Cons
long hours, stopped free lunches, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job role
Chef manager (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire22 June 2018
Always short staffed
Expected to work more than double the hours contracted per month
Poor rates of pay for the amount of work produced
Other staff going off sick and making it difficult to get cover in the kitchen at short notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good friendly atmosphere and caring organisation
Recruitment Adviser (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire15 June 2018
Bupa is a great organisation to work for, and make a huge difference in the healthcare sector.

There is a good work/life balance and good access to Bupa benefits, however the pay really needs to be looked at, a lot of staff feel under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New manager every month
Care assistant (Current Employee) –  Burley in Wharfedale27 May 2018
Every manager that comes in changes everything. The latest one has stopped the hot meals for some staff even though we have had them for years and they are still advertising them. Ruined staff morale all you get is a piece of toast or a biscuit. They pay basic wage then take away the only perk worth having. Manager has full english in front of staff then goes home early.
Pros
Used to get free lunch
Cons
Free lunch replaced with toast or a biscuit
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good, no support for catering team from Home manager
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex4 May 2018
No support from home manager. Contracted to 40 hrs but most times do more, to much for manager to do, so cant concentrate on cooking. High staff turnover. Left to do there shifts. Bad experience in genreal. Pay is good other than that the rest is not so.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours, little support
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if better management
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Salford Quays, Greater Manchester1 May 2018
When you first start the training program is excellent and once you settle into your department it is well looked after. However the organization of department to department, manager to manager is absolutely poor. You would think a mental breakdown would be enough for another manager to inform your own manager to make them aware would be a simple task but this isn't the case at Bupa. Everyone but the employees are cared for, the managers are never around but they always ask you to inform them of things. The mental health policies have upgraded but there is little to none support on our own mental health. Target driven roles with impossible to achieve targets but at least they put in extra training for you, it doesn't always go ahead though..
Pros
Nice people, good salary, good hours
Cons
Terrible management and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underpaid
Carer (Current Employee) –  kent21 April 2018
You don't get sick pay at Bupa. No free healthcare but some benefits which aren't much to write home about. The hours are long and always short staffed. High volume turnover of staff. Don't get paid for your breaks or lunch half hour. Do get a uniform which you have to wash yourself.....put in for tax for that to claim back. Expenses are a nightmare to claim back due to bad staffing. Training is good tho.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
loads, too many to list!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Service Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Harlow, Essex10 April 2018
Great company to work for. Good values. Great development. Good training program. Excellent benefits. Communication strong across the business. Would highly recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to spend a lot of time with company to grow
Administrative support (Former Employee) –  Holyport, UK9 April 2018
Good place to work for ,they provide you all the health benefits and 401k ,very good staff and management .They care about their staff .Professional people overall .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Care Home Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paisley24 March 2018
Here my work involved lots of activities, it involved taking care of elderly people. It was a pleasure really. I spent more time just talking to the pensioners as opposed to anything else
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and loving workplace.
Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cambridge15 March 2018
Every day is different, each day presents new challenges which may need new approaches from myself and my team. I have learned a lot about working in care, not only the logistics of care and support, but also emotional intelligence and sensitivity.
The management is good, it is a tough job, a physically and emotionally draining job, yet the team and management show up and work their hardest until the day is through. Everyone there is commendable for their compassion and perseverance.
The hardest part of the job I believe is threefold. Firstly, when I first started I was very anxious, as working with vulnerable people who could be terribly injured if the slightest thing went wrong was on my mind. As time went on it became easier to relax. Secondly, the emotional roller-coaster that is within a care home makes the day even more challenging. Lastly, grieving for passed residents is an emotional challenge, as it is impossible to not grow attached to not only the residents, but their families also.
However, the team here is outstanding, all are committed and compassionate, and we all work together not only to do the job but to raise the morale within the workplace. I believe the support we get from each other is the best part of working here, and it helped me get through the harder times.
Pros
Great team, free lunches, emotional and physical support.
Cons
Long hours, emotionally and physically challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short staff long hour
day staff (Former Employee) –  Farnham16 February 2018
staff are very short during the day and a lot is expected to do during the day shift residents can be very demanding and bossy. call bells will consant go off and if you don’t answer them on time the manager complains. free food and drinks whenever. can get along with staff. if you fit in!.. unable to spend time with residents. in the mornings a lot of residents don’t get done by night staff. so a lot is expected to do including doing them breakfast. lunch, putting plates and stuff in dishwasher up to 6 times throughout the day probably more depends how many residents use cups and plates and cutlery’s. doing lots of paperwork’s, and the manager is always walking about watching you like a hawk and you feel as your doing something wrong.
if you work night shift and request food they leave it in the fridge for 12 hours from that day lunch and for you to heat up yourself with microwave, the benifits are misleading. be warned when working for bupa a lot is expected. the seniors role are the medications round and if you make a mistake with the mar sheets you could seriously get in deep hole for it and sacked. mamagerment is awful if you talk in confidential somehow all the others staff knows about it. then the residents starts asking questions. nice home but you just got to fit in or you get pushed out.
Pros
free foods and drinks
Cons
long hours and a lot is expected to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cheshire15 February 2018
Not the best company to work for, often expected to do more than your job for minimum wage. However, all staff are good to work with makes the job better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership and dispensable workforce
Recruitment (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire12 February 2018
Bupa values its managers and uts managers only, particularly in the recruitment department where you only progress if you suck up to the right people. Processes are rarely followed and the business is not open and honest. The recruitment work is no different to call centre of agency work with unrealistic targets and poor salary offerings.
Saldly bula do not keep the end user at the heart of what they do as they are a profit oriented business
Pros
You'll like your colleagues
Cons
Literally everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Healthcare consultant/ Sales Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames29 January 2018
Bupa is great place to work for. Apart from the salary there are many other benefits that you get including a free private medical insurance and a free on sight gym!

I work in the retention department which has great culture behind it. You are also provided with a 4 week classroom based training to learn products and services at the start of your career at Bupa.

All in all a good place to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace.
kichen assistant (Former Employee) –  Cirencester, Gloucestershire25 January 2018
I learnt loads of new things, and got to meet some incredible people at the same time. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with all the work, making sure you are doing it all correctly.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report