Bupa Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon29 September 2018
Working in Bupa was absolutely fine. However, I feel as if the salary was too low for my liking. The staff are very nice and welcoming and good at working as a part of a good team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newbury, Berkshire8 September 2018
This was my worst job ever. Always short staffed because they pay minimum wage. Heavily reliant on agency staff who would have maximum cigarette breaks. If you speak to management they hear you out but nothing ever gets done. Bupa is the lowest pay care home in our area. The public areas are decorated beautifully but the resident’s room not very good. Bupa expect maximum commitment on very low pay. Maybe if you have a good Manager then things would be different!
Pros
Meeting and chatting to residents and their family
Cons
Long shift patterns and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing caring work place
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newtown6 September 2018
I enjoyed working for Bupa. It has given me lots of experience
The staff were amazing to work for and would also be really helpful if you needed someone to talk to.
They are respectful and would always encourage you to do more.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Activities coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire30 August 2018
I love Bupa and the care we give to the elderly to second to none.
The hours for staff are long and breaks are minimal.

A meal is provided which is good and uniform .
Activities are daily and cater for individual needs and abilities.
Pros
Very proffessional company. Feels like home
Cons
Constantly in the go. No time to rest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacked leadership
Product and Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire12 August 2018
BUPA care homes was a large organisation when I worked there and nobody seemed capable of managing the business as a whole, which caused confusion amongst the various departmental functions. It has since sold off a large portfolio of its homes.
One thing that BUPA care homes was passionate about was delivering the best care experience possible, but again this is often not possible with local authorities paying well under the market rate for publicly funded residents.
It's not a place to work if you get easily frustrated or need clear direction.
Pros
Good basic salary at head office
Cons
Low basic salary if you are a care worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dreadful wages
Telephone counsellor (Former Employee) –  Salford Quays, Greater Manchester7 August 2018
Bupa are always recruiting bacp accredited counsellors... And hope to attract them for less than £13 an hour! That's too close to the minimum wage and its just not viable. If you were a trainee with few qualifications and extremely low expectations it might be worth a week working there... If only to show you what you don't ever want to do. I'm sure the staff are very nice and all that but their niceness won't pay yo mortgage.
Pros
None
Cons
Corporate prison working for a pyramid where you're the monkey and the money goes upwards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Worcester30 July 2018
Nice place clean good place to work for hours r vert long tho organised nice resepsoin era wen u walk in all ways clean nd smells nice makes u welcome
Pros
Feee luch
Cons
Long houes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basildon30 July 2018
Ilove working for bupa they are great the induction was a wek long i got to know everything that i had to do whem i start i didnt have to pay for my bds and everybody was very suportive.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid
Member Services advisor (Former Employee) –  Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey18 July 2018
during my time with Bupa, I was made to feel like a machine and didn't feel there was much of a work-life balance and although I'd met some lovely people the stress of the job was enough to make me want to move on
Pros
people, benefits, free gym
Cons
long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great colleagues
HCA (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 July 2018
its ok its a shame they stopped the free lunches on 12 hour shifts.
Managment wasnt greaqt at first but once manager changed it got better
rewarding...
Pros
residents
Cons
long hours, stopped free lunches, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job role
Chef manager (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire22 June 2018
Always short staffed
Expected to work more than double the hours contracted per month
Poor rates of pay for the amount of work produced
Other staff going off sick and making it difficult to get cover in the kitchen at short notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good friendly atmosphere and caring organisation
Recruitment Adviser (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire15 June 2018
Bupa is a great organisation to work for, and make a huge difference in the healthcare sector.

There is a good work/life balance and good access to Bupa benefits, however the pay really needs to be looked at, a lot of staff feel under paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Health Care Assistant / House Keeper (Former Employee) –  New Milton3 June 2018
I worked in a 70+ bed home and most days there was only 2 housekeepers, and management said we had enough overall hours (including the laundry person) . Management didn’t care about any of their staff . Terrible company to work for, under staffed, under paid,
Pros
Training, free dbs
Cons
Under staffed, low wages, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New manager every month
Care assistant (Current Employee) –  Burley in Wharfedale27 May 2018
Every manager that comes in changes everything. The latest one has stopped the hot meals for some staff even though we have had them for years and they are still advertising them. Ruined staff morale all you get is a piece of toast or a biscuit. They pay basic wage then take away the only perk worth having. Manager has full english in front of staff then goes home early.
Pros
Used to get free lunch
Cons
Free lunch replaced with toast or a biscuit
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good, no support for catering team from Home manager
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex4 May 2018
No support from home manager. Contracted to 40 hrs but most times do more, to much for manager to do, so cant concentrate on cooking. High staff turnover. Left to do there shifts. Bad experience in genreal. Pay is good other than that the rest is not so.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours, little support
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if better management
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Salford Quays, Greater Manchester1 May 2018
When you first start the training program is excellent and once you settle into your department it is well looked after. However the organization of department to department, manager to manager is absolutely poor. You would think a mental breakdown would be enough for another manager to inform your own manager to make them aware would be a simple task but this isn't the case at Bupa. Everyone but the employees are cared for, the managers are never around but they always ask you to inform them of things. The mental health policies have upgraded but there is little to none support on our own mental health. Target driven roles with impossible to achieve targets but at least they put in extra training for you, it doesn't always go ahead though..
Pros
Nice people, good salary, good hours
Cons
Terrible management and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underpaid
Carer (Current Employee) –  kent21 April 2018
You don't get sick pay at Bupa. No free healthcare but some benefits which aren't much to write home about. The hours are long and always short staffed. High volume turnover of staff. Don't get paid for your breaks or lunch half hour. Do get a uniform which you have to wash yourself.....put in for tax for that to claim back. Expenses are a nightmare to claim back due to bad staffing. Training is good tho.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
loads, too many to list!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Service Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Harlow, Essex10 April 2018
Great company to work for. Good values. Great development. Good training program. Excellent benefits. Communication strong across the business. Would highly recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to spend a lot of time with company to grow
Administrative support (Former Employee) –  Holyport, UK9 April 2018
Good place to work for ,they provide you all the health benefits and 401k ,very good staff and management .They care about their staff .Professional people overall .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Care Home Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paisley24 March 2018
Here my work involved lots of activities, it involved taking care of elderly people. It was a pleasure really. I spent more time just talking to the pensioners as opposed to anything else
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bupa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,096 reviews
5292
4262
3270
287
1185

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture