Bupa Employee Reviews in Glasgow

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Care Assistant and kitchen assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow23 January 2018
working at Bupa care home is very satisfying as it help people with need as well as warm environment allow you to express yourself and the salary was really good. sometime can be difficult as it is 12 hours shift
Pros
good salary
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career prospects
Senior Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow10 January 2018
Good career prospects.most training using house and there is usually a few dates to choose when you can attend.the only draw back is there is a lot of paper work for every thing you do.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people I work with
Activities Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 December 2017
Bupa is currently selling the care Home that I work for so not fair for me to rate the new company yet Bupa had there good points as paid breaks but also bad points like left to work short a lot of the time
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No sick pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow16 November 2017
Preparing meals for residents throughout the day to provide a nutritious meal everyday. Most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of a resident who has enjoyed their meal.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult environment to work in
Auxiliary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Glasgow3 November 2017
Very long, hard working day. Constantly on your feet until your break time. If you did not smoke you had a rougher ride. Did not learn very much. Did not meet any Management. Just got on with your work. Fitting in due to being an agency worker. Making old people smile
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not good hourly rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place ever to work do not do not work here
Carer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow20 October 2017
One of the worse places I've ever worked in my life. I thought the bullying stoped when you left school,how wrong was I !!! Certain members of staff allowed to do what the like and go around intimidating people and making their life a misery and getting away with it absolutely disgusting and also yiu only get on and do well in the place if you're face fits and have a brown straw
Pros
Made a friend for life
Cons
Almost everyone else ie management and heads of departments are absolute bell ends
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked
Senior Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow2 October 2017
Bupa is a good place to work if you like a challenge and working long hours. The turn around in home managers is high if you get a good manager you'll love your job.
At the minute we don't have a good manager so moral is low and people want to leave.
Pros
Free meal, free uniform
Cons
Long hours and too much paper work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Care Assistant/Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow7 July 2017
Working for bupa is good however you are promised training etc to further your career but it doesn't always happen ! The nurses and carers are lovely but all have our moment s
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God staff unity and stress less working enviornent
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow4 June 2017
Good management, good quality of care, staff coordination and providing a less work force and stress. Help know about new modalities of the training and treatment.
Pros
Co ordination of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous job.
PSO (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow14 April 2017
Worked as a PSO for Bupa, what a mistake I made. Horrendous hours, no break, routes were a joke. Up at crack of dawn and home circa 13 hours later. Wages awful for the hours, staff not understanding. Pressure is immense. Stear clear. Please.
Pros
None
Cons
Hours, stress levels, wages etc etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report

Want to know more about Bupa?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Good staff, Hard working, Good Management
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Glasgow4 April 2017
When working for Bupa I realised that management really do care about staff and look for the best possible root to make sure they are happy at work.

Some staff are lazy but this is not looked at because a lot of the staff are very hard working and make sure that things are done.

Full care is given to all patients in each care setting which is very rare within a care setting.
Pros
Good management, Hard workers, good care
Cons
Benefits not very good, some lazy staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice colleagues
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow3 February 2017
taking care of elderly dementia , i learned a lot about dementia, the work is hard and not enough time to do all what you want it is 12 hours on the go , but i loved it and the team work is great
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor staff recruitment
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow18 January 2017
Poor staff recruitment and staff turnover, most in management positions couldn't run a bath nevermind a nursing home or shift. Managers having their favourites who get paid when off sick but the majority don't get this luxury. Also some of the meals you wouldn't serve to a dog yet we have to encourage people to eat this stuff.
Pros
Helping the people who need it most
Cons
The irrelevant paperwork and two faced staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun at times to work in
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow13 January 2017
You need to be a hard worker as its a hard job mentally and physically but so rewarding aswell it takes a strong willed and loving person to work here .the clients make it a great place to work .
Pros
Spending time with clients
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing of others and support in their daily basis life style
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Craigbank Glasgow16 October 2016
It was a very good life experience working in a very busy place supporting them with their daily basis life style,it was a fun place to work with all the team members.
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and overworked
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Glasgow12 August 2016
I enjoy working with the staff and residents but unfortunately the whole system is broken. I work in a dementia unit and at times we have been left with 4 members of staff to care for 30 residents with complex behavioural issues. The staff do the best they can but corners are getting cut due to lack of time. Patient care and safety suffer. No time to spend with residents due to staffing levels and staff morale very low. Management don't care about the numbers just want everything done. Don't even get me started on the amount of paperwork. All in all not somewhere I plan to stay
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours, poor staffing huge amount of paperwork and management attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow15 July 2016
Helping assist the elderly , everyone is different , my co-workers were very helpful. The hardest part of the job was going home after my shift knowing that some of the residents , had nobody to talk too ,until I returned for my next shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was when wee put the music on and had a wee dance with the oldies .
Pros
Satisfying
Cons
Poor wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but enjoyable
Activities Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Glasgow29 June 2016
All staff are welcoming and mostly easy to talk to. Every day is different. Management are ok. Every day new challenges. Hardest part of job is seeking help and being able to motivate residents, this depends on mood and challenging behaviour. Most enjoyable part of the day is being able to witness a resident/s talking or smiling when rarely seen. Being able to make a persons day better, happier more fulfilling. I am always learning about human behaviour and mental health skills.
Pros
Free lunch, short travel time, residents.
Cons
Out of comfort zone, some staff not willing to help with workload, very poor pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care home
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow5 June 2016
Terrible company to work for,no thought for staff only interested in money. Long hours poor pay. Keep changing shifts sometimes without telling staff. Working staff great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable placement ,staff friendly
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow7 May 2016
I loved working at the care home by bupa ,it started at 8 and finished at 4 , i learned how to use hoists and how to help with assisting feeding , my co workers were amazing and so understanding and treated me with the uttermost respect.hardest part is if patients passed away but i enjoyed all other bits of the job
Pros
Free lunches, good group working
Cons
it was quite abit away from where i stayed
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bupa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 971 reviews
5253
4244
3238
276
1160

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture