BT Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work great opportunities.
HR Business Partner (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London20 June 2018
Great Company - great people.

Many opportunities for advancement and a supportive and open culture.

Supports flexible working and has great people policies in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Telecommunications Technician (Former Employee) –  Chester United Kingdom15 June 2018
Worked here over a decade ago.
Good pay, some great bosses, good paid vacation time,
good sick time, co workers were not happy about being there
at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Debt Collection
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset15 June 2018
Currently I work in the Cash Collections team within BT.
Each day begins with the opening of the debt systems, email and the download of a fresh Debt list.
From this spread sheet I can see at a glance my top debtors and prioritise my attention accordingly using several different billing systems.
I enjoy customer interaction and the building of relationships and have learnt how to deflect confrontational situations.
In the workplace we all have to work as a team managing lunch hours and covering sickness.
Pros
Mon to Fri Working week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Retentions advisor (Former Employee) –  North East10 June 2018
Call centre work is not suited to everyone.
Pressure for targets to be met.
Made to feel worse by having calls played back to rest of team to pick you to bits.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Cant always go home happy with what youve done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent9 June 2018
If you like working somewhere where you are treated like dirt and nothing is good enough this is the place! I have never experienced a business the bullies it's staff so much.
The hours a ridiculous no on needs to be trying to sell stuff to people at 9 at night. The cold calling customers isn't needed. Support for people's health is terrible they don't care about the staff or customers there is no contract for BT no sick pay Illness frowned upon
Computer system aren't fit for the job, prices are very high.
Pros
15 minute walk from home, you get to leave sometimes
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day work
openreach allocator (Former Employee) –  Newcastle Upon Tyne5 June 2018
A good company to work for , salary good , good team building ,learned how to mediate with engineers ,contractors and other duties.
Management do forget those dealing at front end and customer facing and dwell on figures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
BT corporate account manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 June 2018
worked as an account manager and was aligned to support BT Local Business nationally.
Went to various meeting across the UK to help support with tender bids for business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly enjoyable job but Credit control is being outsourced to a different location
Credit Controller (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset28 May 2018
Highly enjoyable job but Credit control is being outsourced to a different location.
Hardest part of the job is having enough time in the day to cover all angles
Pros
monday to friday working
Cons
work being outsourced to different part of the country
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Advisor
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Canterbury27 May 2018
Well led and managed company, competitive rates of pay, good staff support. Good opportunities for promotion and staff training. pension scheme and equal opportunities employer.
Pros
wages, share scheme
Cons
sometimes heavy workload, no uniform.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire25 May 2018
good place to work at , friendly environment and poeple,lunch area is spacious , good food and not too expensive.not a job there so i cannot say alot about it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
glad to be away
manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow City, Glasgow23 May 2018
very much performance related pay. great pay however being happy and not working under pressure means more to me. no support from management. Glad i got out when i did
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting work
Head of Business Improvement (Former Employee) –  St. Paul’s, London17 May 2018
This role required six sigma training to support and deliver improvements in customer satisfaction and customer complaints RCA. Had a team of 34 supporting the detailed RCA analytics which produced direction and improvement programmes for our customers.
Pros
Lots of training available
Cons
Commute to London every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good at dealing with people
Customer Services Advisor (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire13 May 2018
My role was to cold call customers and at that time to sell them second lines to their homes or business.

I learned that the size of a company does not mean its success with its employers. We were never really seen by any managers and they just had people walking around trying to encourage sales.

Most people there were only their short term as they didn’t like working at the building or its managers.

Being given paperwork to fill in and write down sales targets achieved. Most of the people you spoke to didn’t want to know anything as the callers were late in the evening.

The best part of the role was some of the customers you spoke to who were happy to spend 5 mins to chat about the bill they had etc.
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Working
Executive PA to Chief Financial Officer (Current Employee) –  London10 May 2018
A great place for flexible working
Management however is very top heavy
Culture of BT is very vibrant and most people have been at the business for many years
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with friendly colleagues.
Storeman (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire8 May 2018
On a day to basis I would make sure the stock room was clean and tidy, putting away deliveries and making sure all orders from engineers were processed for when they ordered them or came into the stockroom and asked for items. I learnt to manage a stock room by myself, and kept everything up to stock levels. All the engineers were helpful and friendly and had good communication with myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life
BT sales and retentions advisor (Former Employee) –  Accrington, Lancashire7 May 2018
no life balance at all and the management is really poor only call out your mistake never the good thing you done and the manager don't care only for their own bonus as a apprentice they treated us so bad and no carer progression
Pros
money
Cons
long hour poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer and workplace
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham5 May 2018
The company was very good to work for, flexible working, work life balance was good, salary was excellent with nice benefits. A typical day was involve checking for customer issues, reviewing projects and estimating when you could take on new work, telephone meetings with corporate customers. The workplace was respectful to all, the management were firm but fair and the most enjoyable part of the job was being part of a team which provided customers with a good quality service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, Not good
Sales (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim4 May 2018
Working with the guys at BT i actually had a pretty fun experience. however, the centre was very cramped and the people looked half dead with boredom. The management could have implemented better goals or achievements to keep the staff active as waiting for phone calls all day can be quite daunting.
However i did enjoy my time there and had some great beers with some of the guys there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  London2 May 2018
Expectations of working hours are excessive up to 100 hours per week, with little thanks or appreciation. Some of the behaviours of the leadership fall short, and that is then replicated by other managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare place
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea30 April 2018
One of the worst jobs I have ever had the bullying culture is rife, they claim it all for the customer but it is more profit and management hitting sales targets and to h@ll with what is best for the customer.
Pros
none
Cons
how long have you got
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,841 reviews
5617
4624
3368
2135
197

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture