Brooklands College Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthusiastic and supportive environment
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weybridge24 June 2019
So far, within my first year at Brooklands..I've really enjoyed it there! Especially when it comes to doing English in particular, I found it in myself that I can express my writing more, e.g: Lot's of thorough detail/explanation, grammar and quotes. With Maths however, there are still the little things that I struggle with, mainly to do with complex logical questions. All in all...my experience there has been great so far!
Pros
£100 dedication for your travel
Cons
Longer day on a Wednesday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dental Tutor (Current Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey18 June 2019
Supportive managers, admin staff, great team Good rate of pay, friendly and welcoming environment. The students are all a pleasure to teach, best job I have ever had!
Pros
Pay, support from managers, admin, friendly
Cons
Pressure to fill classes of 15 plus students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here unless you can get nothing else
Admin (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey2 May 2019
Watch your back in this place. A never ending series of redundancy, pay freezes for years at a time and senior management who dont listen to staff (NB staff surveys are not anonymous, so its the Saddam Hussain approach to gaining feedback).

The grounds look like a rubbish tip, the whole place feels run down and tired and there is a revolving door of staff
Pros
Friendly & Conscientious Staff
Cons
Useless Senior Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Brooklands16 April 2019
Good staff, good team, I worked well with others and did what I could to help ensure that things ran smoothly for all. I learned a lot along the way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst College
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Brooklands College7 October 2018
The college needs a whole new senior leadership team. One that is willing to listen to staff and their ideas, that want to make money for the college and make is a pleasant place to work.
Everyone is so much under pressure, always stressed out, and the management just don't care a bit.
The College is going down the pan, which is such a shame, as with the right senior leadership team in place the college could be turned around.
Would I recommend friends or family to work at the College, definitely not.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Salary, stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brooklands does NOT value its staff
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey14 September 2018
The college is poorly run by its Principal, 4 Vice Principals, numerous Directors and Managers.

The college debt is escalating out of control due to bad decisions at its over bloated managerial level but it's the staff and students who ultimately suffer.

The support staff are undervalued/under payed and are under constant risk of redundancy which seems to happens every year!

Staff moral is at an all time low and Brooklands College is an employer to avoid at all costs. I would have given zero stars as a review but was unable to.
Pros
Car parking
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff work above and beyond their remit to deliver good outcomes for students
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Surrey26 June 2018
Strength of this organisation lies with the staff who work above and beyond their remit, with very limited resources, to deliver the best outcomes for students. Unfortunately, management is weak leading to lack of confidence. Repeated re-structures cause lack of security and severe staff shortages.
Pros
supportive colleagues
Cons
lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college
Student (Current Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey5 June 2018
Great college, really looking forward to studying my courses in September and finally doing something with my life. They are very professional and supportive people and are always willing to help no matter what your needs be!
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
local employer
Sales Development Officer (Current Employee) –  Weybridge, Surrey10 May 2017
No Sales and marketing strategy, a typical day is cold calling local major companies. It has a culture which is old fashioned and not open to change.
Pros
Cheap meals
Cons
Not creative
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent teaching staff; poor management
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Surrey19 October 2016
Tutors are friendly and with good experience but there is a lack of support, respect and honesty from certain parts of management which has led to a demoralised atmosphere and a "them and us" environment.
Cons
Very little appreciation of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are not valued
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Weybridge18 September 2016
The management at Brooklands College do not value or respect their staff. Leadership style is very autocratic. Don't apply for a job here if you expect your opinions to be heard.
Pros
Leafy setting
Cons
Very old-fashioned style of working
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
IT Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Swindon11 October 2015
- Signing in, doing assignments as well as leaning
- Very friendly teacher and colleagues
- Hardest part is to do the assignments
- Your friends are there with you and teacher is supportive as well as fun
Pros
Independence, breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaness
Student (Former Employee) –  Ashford, ENG26 September 2015
As I student I was impressed with the layout and the helpful staff. Typical day was to sit in classroom. The other peers in my classroom were too noisy for me though. Most enjoyable part was learning complicated words and the way everyone talks isn't standard English
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding as far as targets etc
College Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Surrey4 August 2015
The teaching staff are very good.
Work home balance in term time is very poor.
Staff cover is non-excistant with funding costs for FE being slashed
Pros
Salary
Cons
Home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work here but sometimes undedrvalued
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Surrey10 June 2015
I see so many people across the day so feel it is a very sociable job. I have been able to take advantage of the courses on offer and I am currently taking my English L2.
There is a very friendly, family atmosphere amongst staff and being able to assist in any way is one of the pro's of the job. The hardest part of the job is saying goodbye to some of the students as they move on.
Pros
Very social and free gym
Cons
Moral in departments vary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As Previously described
Student (Former Employee) –  Ashford, ENG8 January 2015
I gained vast experience in Bricklaying whilst at Brooklands College as described in my previous review
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant
Catering Assistant/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Weybridge, ENG26 November 2014
love the staff and students,
i would serve students and teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have worked in the retail industry
Lecturer of Biology (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, ENG10 January 2014
I have worked in retail on the provisions counter cutting meat and serving customers in a busy central manchester shop was known then as Macfisheries.
I have also work on the butchers department at Debenhams in manchester.
I have helped with milk rounds and done shift work in warehouses for M&S and waitrose.
I am adaptable hard working and reliable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Updating
Part-time Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Weybridge, KT13 8TT28 June 2013
Brooklands College was a nice place to work till I needed more time at home... Then, people started to treat me unfairly. Not much comments but progress assessments are the evidence of my hard work and professionalism (available on request as some reference letters from colleagues and students)
Pros
Updates
Cons
lack of respect and understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff, nice students.
Student Involvement Officer (Former Employee) –  Weybridge27 June 2012
A beautiful campus, situated in the woodland of Weybridge, Surrey.
Pros
friendly staff, nurturing environment.
Cons
poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Brooklands College reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brooklands College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 22 reviews
57
43
35
22
15

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Brooklands College Reviews by Location