Brook Street Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
useless
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex2 August 2018
Lack of organisation, no communication between people standing right in front of each other, appalling service, cost me a job because of their lack of organisational skills
Pros
None
Cons
Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic
Administrative officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands31 July 2018
I have had a terrible experience with brook street. The recruiters there are very incompetent. They are unreliable and lie through their teeth. They had lied about the salary and working hours. There is zero communication unless you chase them up yourself. When taking genuine emergency leave or sick leave, you are spoken to extremely rudely. They will terminate employment for the menial of reasons. They will state they have ‘investigated’ but will drop you without any feasible reason and without any warning. People they know outside of work will usually get prioritised. They will leave you hanging for jobs for months on and. Very unreliable. Stay away!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Friendly Service
Administration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Feltham, Greater London26 July 2018
I used Brook Street just the once in 2016. They exceeded my expectations of a recruitment agency. The service was world class. Nicola was amazing, sympathetic to my needs and to my work requirements. I was offered work within a week of registration which was completed on the spot at the Brook Street city centre location.
I would definitely use their services again...
Pros
Clients are well looked after with friendly staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Preston, Lancashire28 June 2018
I used Brook Street just the once in 2016. They exceeded my expectations of a recruitment agency. The service was world class. Nicola was amazing, sympathetic to my needs and to my work requirements. I was offered work within a week of registration which was completed on the spot at the Brook Street city centre location.
I would definitely use their services again...
Pros
Holiday pay, flexibility, overtime
Cons
Weekly pay. (As with all agencies)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Admin officer (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire5 June 2018
I worked at vulcan House from when it opened as a permanent AO so not thru Brook Street. But the staff here are great, we're all under pressure to perform but that's what working for the government is about.. If u can't perform to standard, can't cope with pressure or deadlines I wouldn't bother.
Pros
Flexi time, Training, career progression, on site canteen & gym
Cons
Tight deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promised work only to be ignored for over a month
Residential Child Care Officer (Former Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire4 June 2018
Signed up to the agency, told me they had found the perfect job for me. So I wait for them to set up an interview with their client...... A month later, after numerous ignored emails/ phone calls, the agency get back to me to say that their client has dropped the contract and no longer works with them. Very unprofessional, as I had to contact them to find out the info
Pros
None
Cons
Everything- Doesn’t deserve any stars
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Registered and got work almost immediately
Office temp (Current Employee) –  Manchester Central3 June 2018
The 2 temp controllers have kept me in work since I registered and I have no problems. I like the variety of temp work and get paid every Friday, suits me. Always on hand if you need them, I would recommend working for Brook St Bureau as a temp. Infact I tried to register with other agencies before Brook St, to no avail. Waste of space the other agencies, Brook St number one! 😜
Pros
Get paid every friday
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and friendly stafF
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grays, Essex23 May 2018
Great friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend This agency to others. Found work pretty much immediately. Always there when you need them
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst agency In the world
Dogs body (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire20 March 2018
Horrible agency, the derby agency is particularly bad, I wouldn’t recommend this agency and I wouldn’t waste my time a bunch of cow boys. Not very helpful and nevefcreturn calls stuck with key personnel, astute recruitment, don’t waste your time with these!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Admin (Current Employee) –  Leicester11 March 2018
Staff were really knowledgeable, friendly and made me feel really valued
I have never had any issues with pay or holiday pay and being able to access my payslip and time sheet online is great.
Pros
Local branch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst agency i have come across
Temp candidatr (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester3 March 2018
Called me in to register but never found me any work. What a waste of time!!! I would never go to them again.

I certainly wont recommend to anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
No work
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire24 February 2018
Got a call Wednesday, interview Thursday and offered the job Thursday evening and I start Monday! Permanent job, excellent salary and helpful and friendly staff :)
Pros
Fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 40Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hull branch
Unemployed and looking for work (Former Employee) –  Hull City Centre, East Riding of Yorkshire10 February 2018
They take you on and then don't offer you any work. you ring back, then are fobbed off. this seems to be atypical of some of these agencies.

Avoid. If you're a man go to a proper agency.
Pros
non
Cons
useless time registering
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex6 February 2018
I found that they were very helpful, patient, polite, supportive and friendly. I would most definitely recommend anyone who is looking through a job to cooperate with Brook Street.
Pros
Supporting and helpful
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 28Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
let down
natural England (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire5 February 2018
was let down for a job offer after they cancelled it before talking to me. when i got back to them they said nothing they can do, left feeling disapointed
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Leeds And Bradford, Yorkshire4 February 2018
Terrible company, ask about disabilities and how they can help but don’t care. Disclose information about disability. Changing staff, no concern for you at all
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear30 January 2018
The worst job agency out there. You are just a number to them. You have have no rights and the staff do not care about you. From personal experience, Avoid at all costs.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got me work quickly
Payroll officer (Current Employee) –  Sscl newcastle15 December 2017
I can't really complain about brook street they got me in work when i needed it. I would recommend, however, if they try to post you with sopra steria/sscl avoid, worst experience of my career. Bullying, poor management and employees are treat awful, avoid like the plague can't stress enough
Pros
Brook street found work quick
Cons
Worst placement of my life
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit Controller
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Needham Market, Suffolk15 November 2017
I temped for this company back in 2012 for about 6 weeks. I was suppose to be helping but there was a mass exodus and there was only me left in the accounts dept. Doing both Credit control and P/L as well as cashing all the drivers money. In that time they did employ other temps who both left before the week was out. The CRM system was a joke. I received no help from the management and ran their office on my own. I left there as it was a nightmare! and to add insult to injury after I left they went back to the agency and said I didnt do any work, bit strange as they were more than happy with me for the weeks I was there!!!! So beware very unorganised and unappreciative. The main accountant who I believe was a director was based in London, so chocolate fireplace comes to mind, totally unapproachable. Head Honcho no idea what was going on in accounts and refused to engage, total lack of respect for temps.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packing picking
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire4 November 2017
Good Agency , but they lie about the wage. Try to find perfect people to work but they are not perfect. Like every agency make you like a number . Company first , employer last
Pros
Brook Cheltenham
Cons
Picker /packer
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brook Street. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 83 reviews
525
45
39
23
141

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture