British Transport Police Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams to work with but poor management
POLICE SERGEANT (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 February 2018
Long hours with a terrible shift pattern, which offers a poor work life balance. The work culture is at times toxic and moral is vey low. Not a place that I would recommend to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Special Constable (Former Employee) –  London19 February 2018
Volunteer police constable based with full police powers. Based on the London Underground and central London overground railways;
Achieved solo patrol status after demonstrating competence in relevant laws and procedures, the use of force and general policing;
Provided a visible policing presence and interacted with the public to deter crime and reassure travellers;
Worked in stressful circumstances involving railway disruption, injuries, fatalities, violence, mental health issues, drugs, alcohol, domestic abuse and public disorder;
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pcso
Police Community Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 February 2018
Treated like children, Inspector had no people skills, she had awful attitude.
No work life balance, you are expected to eat sleep and breathe BTP.
the say they promote diversity and listen to people....believe me its the total opposite.
I left to be a guard on the train...less hassle and more money.
Pros
none really
Cons
long hours, cancelled rest days, not great pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
policing on the railway
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  London31 January 2018
The role is a varied one and every day can be different. This depends on where you are posted. At the moment I am on a static posting at a mainline station and most days are the same. Dealing with fare evaders beggars and shop lifting everyday can become monotonous.
The work life balance is non existent but this was something I was prepared for when I joined.
The salary is okay and there are frequent increments up to 7 years when your salary does not change unless you seek promotion.
The hardest part of the job can be when there is a major incident. This can also be the most rewarding knowing that you are helping so many people in a terrible situation
Pros
chance for development
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and alot to learn
Police Community Support Officer (Current Employee) –  London5 January 2018
- A typical day at work involves, Statement taking and Report submission
-What I learnt is to Maintain professionalism when under pressure
- Management are friendly and helpful
- Workplace culture is friendly and welcoming
- The hardest part of the job is the Patrols
- The most enjoyable part of the job is community engagement
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No two days are the same
Business Analyst for Core systems (Current Employee) –  Camden Town, Greater London19 December 2017
BTP is very fast paced and different every day. The team I work with are a good support - from both above and below.
With dealing with daily queries from the business, working closely with the system supplier and liaising with individuals to make the system better for them, you don't have much time for anything else.
The biggest downfall is the economic climate putting constraints on the budget for BTP, and therefore resources being low. The best bit about my job is knowing that I am part of a larger team that protects and helps society stay safe and get justice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours.
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  Glasgow7 December 2017
This job can be long hours tiring with little reward. I personally wouldn't recommend this job to another. A lot of responsibility with little or no support.
Pros
Free rail travel
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
police (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London14 October 2017
Good opportunities. Organisation going through many changes causing uncertainty.
Being a national force there are opportunities to move around the country without having to transfer. Force is currently looking to introduce firearms capability to other areas outside which will offer additional career opportunities. The force remains predominantly London centric.
Pros
Good internal opportunities
Cons
Long hours, poor shift pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always learning something new everyday and experienceing something new everyday too
Police Constable (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London3 September 2017
Being a officer is fantastic able to help people and to arrest when necessary. Goes hand in hand being a officer, you get to work and meet new people everyday and deal with different issues/ incidents
Pros
Helping the Community, engaging with them and rail staff. Knowing how to defend yourself and making good friends
Cons
Long shift hours, cancelled days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racist
Level 2 Crime Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 August 2017
Environment was toxic and there were bullying tactics adopted by management, both police staff and police officers alike. This was my second job out of university and due to the environment I was signed off with stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organisation to Work
Business Support Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London22 August 2017
due to security reasons cannot divulge in a shared environment worked in the organisation for in excess of 20 years in various roles and my last role was at HQ within Corporate Services in the role of Business Support Manager. Enjoyed the experience and the challenges it brought.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding force to work for
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  London17 July 2017
I wish I hadn't left.
Certainly the best Police force to work for. Many opportunities and different career paths to chose from.

The hardest bit was paperwork. Although good job satisfaction when seeing the end result.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Paperwork. And long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for keeping the community safe
Senior Administrator/Diversity Officer (Former Employee) –  Leeds14 July 2017
Very good company as it protects our society and also gives our society confidence that they are safe using the facilities and surrounding areas. Fabulous for acknowledging culture differences.
Pros
Helping society
Cons
Not enough hours in the day to assist
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Duties (Former Employee) –  North London, Greater London20 June 2017
Working with the BTP helped me mature in my working life being responsible for the duties of each officer in the north london section it was my duty that each office got fare share of hours plus overtime if they needed or asked for. This job learnt me the ability to organise my work. Also working with such a great team helped me build on my own confidence.
Pros
outside working team building
Cons
long hours and long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restructuring
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  London12 March 2017
Kept putting of my probation period due to restructuring of the administration departments.

Staff excellent to work alongside.

Management needs more development with people skills.
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 years carrying out the full dities of a police officer
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester5 March 2017
very busy and enjoyable career which I carried out to a very high standard, carried out all duties as required I learnt a vast amount about peoples nature and behaviour
Pros
meeting and helping the public
Cons
violent and abusive people
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning curve
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 March 2017
Friendly place to work, managed multiple projects over a years fixed term contract. Very varied tasks, but enjoyable with good management, and superb staff.
Pros
Days of in leiu
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating
Police Officer/Civilian Investigator (Former Employee) –  Londom5 February 2017
A police officer's role is very challenging but rewarding.The friends I made in the police service have remained good friends because of the unique nature of the job. The hardest part of the job was speaking to families of victims of crime and trying to reassure them that the police will do their utmost to apprehend the offender.The most enjoyable was helping members of the public and bringing offenders to justice.
Pros
Good pension scheme
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but little progression
Finance Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 January 2017
No day is the same at British Transport Police, its very much like a big happy family, teamwork is essential.
Unfortunately there is a recruitment freeze so there is huge pressure on team members to cover work and provide a service.
You do receive overtime, and each employee is high in demand.

All areas of the business are in the same situation.

Only downfall for me personally is that I aspire to be an accountant, and all the accountants are based in London, BTP prefer them to stay there and are not in favour of agile working.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Long hours, demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging and demanding role providing safety and reassurance to the travelling rail public and staff.
Operational Police Inspector (Current Employee) –  Central London12 November 2016
Being an Inspector of a team of thirty team police officers and overall responsibility for about two hundred police officers and staff in London and Home Counties. I attend all rail fatalities and those involving serious injuries. Am responsible on a daily basis for every policing incident on my area to ensure they are properly dealt with, providing victim care and empathy, crimed and investigated and offenders arrested with proportionality and necessity tests being applied.
Pros
demanding and stressful requiring fast time decision making.
Cons
Long hours and demanding shifts difficult with family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Transport Police. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 61 reviews
514
426
314
24
13

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture