British Red Cross Employee Reviews

Found 646 reviews matching the search See all 663 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment de travail agréable
Stage en entreprise (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne18 September 2018
Ayant fait un stage d'une durée d'un mois dans cette entreprise j'ai énormément appris car lorsque j'avais des difficultés en anglais les employé m'aidait ils était tous très gentille et près à aidé, en ce qui concerne la manageur elle nous aidait des qu'on avait besoin d'aide et nous expliquant clairement nos mission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great introduction to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Blyth14 September 2018
Performed a week's worth of work experience as part of the school program. Thoroughly enjoyed it, friendly staff and made me feel very welcome. Would recommend for anyone who is looking to perform voluntary work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shop assistant
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Deal, Kent11 September 2018
I enjoyed working there when the manager was not in as myself and a friend was accused of stealing so we spoke to a staff member who said it was policy .
Pros
some staff members was really nice
Cons
the manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Enjoyment
Volunteer Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northamptonshire11 September 2018
Friendly place to work. Staff are easy to get on well with.
some days are relaxed and some days can be full on.
The shop is well maintained, clean tidy and organised.
The shop have a muti cultural workplace so everyone is welcome.

The hardest part is carrying donated goods down stairs some can be heavy but other staff are at hand to help you if needed,

The good thind is that you get to meet and greet new people every day and helping them may make your day an interesting on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to re-invent the wheel
SHOP MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Hampshire9 September 2018
Had a good 4 years overall primarily thanks to amazing volunteers and good area manager. Unfortunately head retail people paid phenomenal salaries complicated processes to justify their own positions. Went from being a real friendly organisation to being corporate and faceless obsessed with over complicating everything yet achieving declining sales in the process. Work for a small charity now where managers are given autonomy and achieve fantastic sales which don't pay for unessecary senior management
Pros
Volunteers, good area manager
Cons
Top management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Volunteering at events (Former Employee) –  Stamford, Lincolnshire7 September 2018
I was only with The British Red Cross as an Events first aid volunteer for a short while but I went through a good majority of the training and it was brilliant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely kind, caring workplace.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Gravesend, Kent27 August 2018
when i started volunteering at the British red cross i was scared i didn't know anyone. the people that work at British red-cross was so kind towards be they made me feel comfortable they was so caring and welcoming towards anyone that came into the the shop they are very kind.
Pros
lovely people to work with.
Cons
always hot in the shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chalfont Saint Peter27 August 2018
It was a really fun and friendly workplace. I really recommend, mainly because you spend some fun time and at the same time you contribute to the society.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire18 August 2018
Brilliant place to volunteer, great training regarding adult and children's safeguarding especially. Rewarding work and can be flexible - does not disrupt home-life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help to communicate with people and improve my english langage
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City17 August 2018
it is a flexible work you are polyvalent you can be in till or shop you can work at your rythme , there you learn how to be independant and responsible. you meet a diferent people you improve your communication and learn how to be friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishinest, poor management
Mobility Aids Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Newbury17 August 2018
Extremely bad management and dishonest tactics employed. Staff are lied to and manipulated. many managers are completely incompetent. I have worked in charities in various sectors, and I have run organisations too. This is a dishonest culture in genial.
Pros
Not a bank
Cons
Very frustrating and vaguley insane
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good voluntary job
Trainee Ambulance Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham8 August 2018
Great for gaining experience in the emergency services/ healthcare industry.
expenses are reinbursed
good choice of shifts
sometimes can be working long shifts
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dingwall, Highland8 August 2018
great company nto work for. i enjoy meeting different people and making friends with the staff and other volunteers. i enjoy the different things people donate to the shop. they make everyone welcome no matter how much experience you have.i enjoy volunteering for the red cross
Pros
you pick your own hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 August 2018
I Learned A Lot In Terms Of Making Numerous Sales As Well As Making Customer Happy.And Being Able To See Customer Come Back With Repeat Purchases And Are Satisfied.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work until the management changed.
volunteer sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Bromborough3 August 2018
Used to be run by a lady called Julia and was a fun active environment. Management unfortunately changed and as a result I unfortunately left a job I enjoyed quite a bit.
Pros
Free lunches and friendly team
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rawtenstall, Lancashire2 August 2018
based on a voluntary basis, so would not be able to comment on the salary. you get to meet a diverse group of people as well as helping provide support to the surrounding community.
Pros
life skills
Cons
few customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing team and fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Abergavenny, Blaenau Gwent1 August 2018
i started working in the british red cross when i was 14 as a weekend job and i learnt many skills the staff was very kind and caring, great company to be apart of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kidderminster, Worcestershire31 July 2018
Lots of variety of people and good working environment great charity to be involved with I had in shop training for customer service and retail experience ,while working with disabled people too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for anyone looking to do any work experience
British red cross (Former Employee) –  Northampton30 July 2018
very lovely staff, but only worked here for experience so wouldn't know enough, it will be good for anyone wanting to do any volunteering work or even experience but maybe not as a full time job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Till Assistant (Former Employee) –  Plympton24 July 2018
Good for experience nothing more ! Can be very boring only good thing is that the experience you get is really good however I wouldn’t recommend to anyone who wants a job with the British cross due to having to work as a volunteer for a few years first
Pros
Experience
Cons
Long hours no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Red Cross. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 663 reviews
5357
4177
388
220
121

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture