British Heart Foundation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huddersfield19 October 2018
other staff and volunteers are very nice to get alone with and know that the best for the work environment is to enjoy going in to fun and enjoyable co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but enjoyable.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear18 October 2018
Always something new to sell, never a dull moment, sometimes there can be challenging customers but learn how to deal with them in the correct manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding fun job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Workington, Cumbria17 October 2018
it was a pleasure to be a part of the British heart foundation team, was very rewarding job, i loved meeting all the new customers, and the Workington team where good fun to work with.
Pros
free cake
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntrary was verry good
Voulntary (Former Employee) –  Rochdale17 October 2018
two years ago, I did voluntary work at BHF. it was a very friendly environment and I was able to get along with my peers. there was many things to do, from replenishment to helping out the customers. I highly recommend other to join if your a student looking for experience, British Heart Foundation is a great place to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset17 October 2018
I spent nearly 18 months in the Taunton branch,and I loved every minute of my day.A typical day there includes sorting out donations,tagging,merchandising,pricing,steaming and working on the tills.
There is always something to do there,your never bored.
The volunteers are a lovely bunch to work with.
I was a paid worker and would go back in a heartbeat,I should never have left.
My only downside about the job was not able to have a few more hours a week.
Pros
People lovely to work with, always got something to do.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Falmouth16 October 2018
I have just started at Falmouth branch. The staff are very friendly and outgoing and always happy to answer whatever questions I have. The shop floor is kept organised and tidy and there is a relaxed atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Similar to any shop-keeping job
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear14 October 2018
The training was very well-organised, but sometimes other staff members could be quite rude. Customers were great, often the same ones each week.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Ilford- Volunteer (Unpaid) (Former Employee) –  Ilford14 October 2018
I worked there as an unpaid volunteer. I worked with a nice team and management were nice too. Hours were ok as this was required for sixth form and allowed me to gain customer service skills.
Cons
unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, and more interesting than you'd think.
Driver's Mate (Former Employee) –  West Midlands14 October 2018
The job is very physical, so a base level of fitness would be advantageous. However, the constantly changing locations worked in and furniture handled provides a variety of workload which requires some creativity. That said, weather and other environmental circumstances can make the job unpleasant at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun job
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire13 October 2018
staff were very friendly always willing to help. learned great customer service skills and were always praising my work. they welcomed all cultures of life to be a volunteer even if they had great difficulty n needed that extra wee bit of help
Pros
own hours
Cons
hard work at times due to how busy the shop could get
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheetham Hill, Greater Manchester13 October 2018
I was a volunteer at the British Heart foundation for 6 weeks and the staff were amazing as they taught me how to organise the files, use the computer to maintain products and labelled things correctly.
Pros
flexible working time
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filler until I found a new job
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fraserburgh12 October 2018
I learned new skills such as steaming, tagging, and pricing. The back store of the Brittish Heart Foundation was a nice place to be and they helped me get a new job at Macrae Fish factory.
Pros
Help in getting a new job
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment, friendly staff, good for getting job experience
Part-time Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Beccles, Suffolk11 October 2018
The BHF is a great place to work or volunteer. All of the staff and volunteers are friendly, helpful and welcoming and make the experience of working there relaxing and enjoyable. There are always plenty of opportunities to volunteer whenever suits you best, and the training is well provided and the work experience you gain is very valuable. If you are looking to volunteer I would recommend this place greatly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excitement
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester10 October 2018
It was a typical day at work because of the staff members who were very supportive. I have enjoyed assisting the customers the most through out my work experience for a week..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volenteer shop floor assistant
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Helens10 October 2018
Was great fun working with such lovely people, I can’t thank enough for the help n support off the team, it’s like one big family. Been on the shop floor speaking to customers was so nice, working up stairs on tagging as such wasn’t boring as you may seem it would be, you have a great laugh.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Leaving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thetford, Norfolk8 October 2018
most of the day was moving furniture upstairs and organizing the warehouse.

there was next to no training and no help on days you needed it
they rely entirely on volunteers, who they would then belittle.

Managers were forever changing and obviously didnt want to be there.
Pros
meet new people
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and Exciting
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire8 October 2018
-First you sign in the register to alert the staff that you are in the building
-working with people can show what they truly like
-if we plan to work together we get the job done on time
-Lifting the most heaviest item from the back of a van
-All of us sit together in the room where we have our break and chat with each other
Pros
Lots of breaktime
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment to work in
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Letchworth, Hertfordshire7 October 2018
Customers were always friendly and asking questions about the products in store. Colleague's were always friendly as well and always available to help in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen6 October 2018
very hard place to work in as they are constantly having new stock delivered and having to be placed on the shop floor as quickly as we can move the stock from being checked in to priced and put out for sale
Pros
very fast paced
Cons
quick turn around of stock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer in shop
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastleigh4 October 2018
Operating a till and handling cash and credit card transactions. Helping with putting stock out for sale. Friendly environment to work in. Providing excellent customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Heart Foundation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,756 reviews
51.3K
4823
3417
291
1100

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture