British Gas Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre
Outbound sales (Former Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim18 January 2018
Role& Duties - Outbound Sales agent for British Gas selling gas and electric products as well as boiler and home insurance.

Key achievements;

In top sales team every month I was there

Top sales for month of December for whole sales floor

Promised place on companies excelsior if I continued top sales figures.

Started validating other team members calls after only my 4th month with the firm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Assistant
Emergency Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 January 2018
I was working the out of hours service for British Gas. This was an emergency service for customers when they had loss of services to gas, electricity, heating and water. I would allocate an engineer and let the customers know of their ETA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic environment
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Oxford16 January 2018
Really great working environment. Good team spirit and opportunities, really great management and friendly environment to be working as part of. Lots of opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Door-to-Door Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  West Midlands13 January 2018
I am a team player though I can work equally well on my own and have also worked within management roles, motivating and training a team to get the best from them. I have done a number of tasks to do with sales from telesales to generating new business face to face and arranging product sales to arranging credit finance for consumers, I have experience in door to door direct sales and venue interruption sales. I consider myself to have good personal communication skills and a positive and persuasive manner with confidence to take on any role given to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun during training, but don’t dare get ill
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Uddingston11 January 2018
Excellent perks, training haphazard at best, quality checking standards unbelievably high and woe betide you if you are unlucky and get laid low with a virus that goes round your training group unless u can work thru or only take a couple of days off you can say goodbye to ur job
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Absence policies and ridiculously overzealous quality checking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csa
Customer Service Mentor (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester9 January 2018
Not great, been here 4 years no communication between different levels. Not appreciated. Unbelievably hard to get short notice holidays. You can never get a Saturday off unless you book months and months in advance
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hard to get Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Heating Engineer (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom7 January 2018
I was not directly employed by British Gas (sub contractor). I did not deal with this company directly therefore was not part of the daily running of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Place to work
Complaints Handler (Former Employee) –  Southampton7 January 2018
British Gas has great benefits, good base salary & bonuses, free shares & subsided meals. High volume of calls , high standards expected. If you can cope with a face paced environment & think on your feet, not a bad place to work.
Pros
Good Bonuses, Shares, Good Salary
Cons
High Standards
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SMART ENERGY EXPERT (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire6 January 2018
Obviously meter installation targets needs to be met and the pressure naturally falls on the Engineers to meet the projected targets. Work life balance is occassionally affected by this obvious pressure on Engineers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great perks
manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 January 2018
Constant restructures don't provide positive work environment.
Removed flexible working
no home working allowed now
force to choose work over family
do provide great salary
do provide great perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ace
Sales and Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow2 January 2018
Fun and exciting.Good opportunities for good sales people.A good team that help you out and you couldve made loads of cash.Great owners ,they are hands on
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service advisor (Former Employee) –  Cardiff31 December 2017
Working for British gas was enjoyable as the shifts were easy to manage you always had the support you needed.
I also learnt some information for my own benefit about how gas and electricity works.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire26 December 2017
Good work place targets hard to meet management rather strict and out of touch with job role but training comprehensive and intense doesn't prepare you for job fully
Pros
Good wage
Cons
Company policy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  North London, Greater London23 December 2017
Not at all helpful when you are at a low point in your life, will not help you unless you are benefiting the companies income. They only care about performance so unless you can sell products (even to customers that don't need it) then it's not for you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a family friendly Company
Technical Engineer, Upgrade Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bedfordshire/Hertfordshire22 December 2017
Productivity driven with unrealistic targets of 9 breakdown jobs per working day & sales/SEA targets of 10 boiler leads, upgrades of £1000 and Hive sales per week. With this there is micromanagement of field staff and a constantly changing management team who have no loyalty to the frontline field engineers.
The hardest part of the job is communication to office staff thru poor hardware and incomprehensible staff in an Indian call centre, and the restrictive accessibility of local sourcing of parts thru local stores or other engineers - by this I mean spending 1&1/2hrs on the phone and 1/2 hr travel to get a part = inability to achieve an already impossible productivity target. That is unless you advise a new boiler or sell "an essential ugrade" is required to fix the issue and leave the diagnosis and parts requirement to the "ill informed" upgrade engineer.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the smile and relief of the customers' faces when they have all their amenities back up and running.
Pros
Shorter hours in the summer
Cons
Long hours in winter & micromanagement & communication issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
customer service relations (Former Employee) –  Cardiff14 December 2017
fun work environment but not much chance of moving foward you will probably stay as an advisor. the pay is good thought. work culture is also good and can not complain
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable management
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands14 December 2017
As long as they make you think they'll help you, that's the end of it. The management is not honest, they're racist and there is no equality. By far the worst management I've ever worked with. Before I ended the job, I asked for a recommendation, they said it will be sent by email and there'll be no problem as I'm a good, honest worker. After I left, I heard nothing from them. They act like a family when they're just immature people lying and deceiving each other behind their back. Rules aren't made for everyone!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Customer Service and Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds14 December 2017
I have worked for BG for years doing various roles fantastic company with excellent call centre management there's always opportunity for progression
I worked for BG through Capita and directly through British Gas
Pros
Free tea excellent break out areas
Cons
No fixed rotas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate
HR Manager - Face to Face Sales National (Former Employee) –  Field Based12 December 2017
This was a fixed term contract and I developed my skills by working with some highly professional individuals. The head office was very corporate. The field based teams were great to get on with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with high earning potential
Team Leader/Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 December 2017
Was part of the field sales teams sent out into the Birmingham area
The day was spent in designated areas with a list of existing and non BG customers knocking on doors
Learnt how to organise my day as to maximise my sales
Soon learnt how to adjust my approach depending on the poss new customers attitude
Enjoyed the challenge of making a difficult sale and became BG top salesperson in Birmingham
Management were very helpful and because of my results was given team of struggling sales staff to improve their attitude and sales
Loved the job unfortunately through bad press from miss selling by other companies the job became almost impossible to do on the door
Pros
Flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Gas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 854 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6