British Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The blokes are a laugh
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee) –  Cottesmore24 September 2018
The culture within the army is all good but other than that you might as well get out. Food is terrible, no one cares about anything but their own careers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Armed Forces (Former Employee) –  Lancaster21 September 2018
made some of my best freinds. toured half the world and made a living at the same time. i would recomend joining as i really enjoyed my time in the army.
Pros
travel
Cons
never home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
soldier (Current Employee) –  tidworth20 September 2018
My 8 years in the British Army was enjoyable i learned a lot over the years however i dont want to leave a forced review and dont see why this website it forcing it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not for everyone but i have enjoyed my time
Rifleman (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, Oxfordshire20 September 2018
I have enjoyed my time with the services but it's not for everyone.
It's phys every morning except when on excersise. I personally loved being on ex but alot of lads used to hate it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and life style
Rifleman (Former Employee) –  Harrogate, North Yorkshire20 September 2018
Usually a good place to work, you learn a lot of things during training, from basic self discipline to team work to infantry skills. You will gain a lot of qualifications depending on your job title! You will have to graft during work whether at home or on exercise but its all part of the fun.
Pros
meet a lot of good people and make friends
Cons
A lot of grafting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Soilder (Current Employee) –  Tidworth19 September 2018
My typical day at work was going to the stores and getting told to make sure all the equipment was all accounted for
I learned how to work as a team
My work placement cultures was working in stores
The hardest part of the job was doing the checks on the store
The most enjoyable part of the job was nothing if I'm honest wouldn't work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
salut
Guardsman (Former Employee) –  London19 September 2018
if i could go back in time and do it all over again i would met some of the best people in the army, some nasty folk aswell. There are rules sgts and officers are meant to follow yet dont
Pros
good people
Cons
bad people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time here.
British Army Reserve (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne19 September 2018
Loved everyday of it. Best career chioce i have ever made and hopefully one day ill become a more experienced soldier to becoming a regular soldier. f
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you expect
Soldier (Current Employee) –  UK18 September 2018
Well looked after in my role and can be extremely flexible when required.

Lots of interesting roles on offer and plenty of opportunity to complete courses and qualifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Leuchars17 September 2018
I feel from my time there I was unhappy around 10 hours per day, the job itself is satisfying and great to learn new things. But overall my time here feels like a sentence.
Pros
free NHS, free gym membership
Cons
unorganised, poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army as a whole
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Wiltshire17 September 2018
In the Army you will gain so many skill sets including: good communication skills, team work, team management, self disicpline to name but a few. The army is like a huge family, everyone looks out for each other and no one is left behind. Being part of the army gives you pride, enjoyment and brings out sides to you you didn't know you had.
Pros
pension
Cons
long unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant start
Platoon Commander (Former Employee) –  Sandhurst17 September 2018
Great training at RMAS. Effective management and brilliant colleagues. Lots of opportunity to travel and develop self in many varied ways; academically, physically, mentally and of course leadership skills.
Pros
Lifestyle
Cons
Lifstyle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day
Training Sergeant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London15 September 2018
Working within the army is a greatest opportunity I have had. I met many great colleages and went to interesting places. I worked within London which I gathered great experiences and knowledge. Work life balance is hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and very busy
Lance Corporal (Former Employee) –  Colchester12 September 2018
Working in the army was great. I met some new and interesting people where we all worked together as a team to complete tasks. The army had some very high standards which we had to adeare too at all times. The management in the army was very strict but also altered due to where and what the situation was.
Pros
Secure job
Cons
Constantly away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Driver (Former Employee) –  Surrey12 September 2018
Good hard work fast paced physically demanding and constantly moving days spent cleaning different task every day and constantly improving on skills new and old
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding career
A senior level manager (Current Employee) –  Brecon, Powys11 September 2018
The role in the Army has given me the experience in a variety of roles. It has taught myself to lead by value and standards. During my time it has challenged me mentally and physically in sometimes austere conditions, which has helped with my self development both as a person and a Manager.

I am now able to manage both large and small teams, and work to tight timelines. Throughout my career I have been challenged and had to remain flexible to achieve the end result.

Thoroughly enjoyable experience and have worked alongside very good men and women all striving to achieve the same goal. The teams I have worked alongside are definitely the best thing.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Constant moving of locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Experience
Cpl (Former Employee) –  Different parts throughout the world11 September 2018
Fantastic Experience.


My 13 yrs in the British Army was very enjoyable.


Made some great friends who I have great relationship with.

Only left due to family commitment.

Further information required please let me know.
Pros
One Team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close but professional family
Warrant Officer Class 2 (Current Employee) –  Oxfordshire10 September 2018
Soldiers of the British Army come from all corners of the globe with a common purpose, to defend the monarchy and those that require defending. This takes a special individual with a loyal and focused mind in order to fit well in to a highly motivated and professional team. The Army isn't just a job its a life style, we are a team in work and out of work.
Pros
Amazing team members
Cons
Away from home a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Staff Sergeant (Former Employee) –  England10 September 2018
This is a good place to learn and travel whilst working hard. I would recommend it to learn new skills and enjoy an outdoor life. A great way to start out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
soldier
Gunner (Former Employee) –  Various locations9 September 2018
You'll never get better friendships than you develop in the military. The pay is low but there are some benefits of having
accommodation and cookhouse food. Plenty of career options whatever direction you want to go in.
Pros
comradeship
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,933 reviews
5989
4572
3274
256
142

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
4.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.2Culture