Brighthouse Careers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been here 3 years and still loving it
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Retail14 August 2018
Great place to work! Great atmosphere!

I have worked as management in various retail business but have never found a place I have enjoyed working as much.
Pros
Brilliant values, employee focused, fun atmosphere, Sunday closing, great work life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position was mis-sold
Customer Accounts Advisor (Former Employee) –  Scunthorpe1 August 2018
If you have a good manager and a good team in store it makes all the difference.
Too much pressure is put on management and then staff to meet unrealistic targets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor people lose out🛑
Scivvy (Former Employee) –  Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff22 July 2018
They rob the most vulnerable people in society with a heartless manner!!! Staff moral is horrendous. No bonus. Treated like mugs. On an on an on. Moral is low, staff treated unfairly. Customer treated in correctly
Pros
None
Cons
poor moral, poor management, poor ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Sales Advisor - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Lancashire18 July 2018
Worst place to work, Management are useless and want you do do everything including their job. Constantly moaning at you for not getting tasks done even though they have given you more than one person can handle.
No appreciation when we have no staff and you’ve worked really hard to keep everything on track. For the amount of work that you do it isn’t worth £8.05 an hour. Customers are probably the worst as they talk to you with attitude and aggression.
Pros
None
Cons
No many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  West Drayton, Greater London12 July 2018
Managers are wet flannels with no balls they can’t speak face to face with staff they have to go to head office with any small issue they might have. They over work everyone but do nothing themselves to help, just stand and watch. Would be a good job but managers are ruining it all..(west drayton ldc) don’t go there it’s easier to do 5 years in prison than 5 years at brighthouse.

Impossible to get overtime as they balance out hours so you need to get over 200hr to get overtime..
Pros
Full hour break
Cons
No one takes the break yet you still get hours taken off..
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Customer Accounts Advisor (Former Employee) –  West Midlands23 June 2018
Worst company you could ever work for. I was an accounts advisor who had to chase the customers who had not paid their bill. You were spoken to like you were stupid by management and given unrealistic targets. Especially when the contracts and the law rule in favour of the customer!! You do NOT need to pay Brighthouse and there is NOTHING they can do about it. The managers will shout and scream at the staff yet we have absolutely NO power to take the goods back off the customers. The prices they charge people who have nowhere else to go is DISGUSTING and I felt embarrassed trying to enforce them. The place is a shambles. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Pros
None
Cons
Far too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 72No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place is a shambles
Delivery Driver/ installer (Former Employee) –  Uddingston, South Lanarkshire18 June 2018
I worked as a delivery driver for 3 years. They give you too much work for the day and dont really care about their employees. Would go as far as saying this is the worst job i have ever had in my life. AVOID!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Belle Vale31 May 2018
If your face don’t fit or your not giving the regional manager one you’ve got no chance. Nasty horrible people that are only interested in hitting their own personal targets whilst ripping people off. Disgraceful business can’t believe I actually worked there for a while.
Pros
None
Cons
management are dogs
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not go there
Driver (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire14 May 2018
driver (Former Employee) – Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire – 7 May 2018
worse company to work for long hours up to 20 hr and break all CPC rules please avoid at all costs you have to eat on the move as you wont get your jobs done you will get dumped on from great hight from the managers and must work bank holiday and do up 15 jobs and take damaged items in to customers house and you can't not ask HR help as you will lost job
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours with on breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Driver (Former Employee) –  Scotland and huntington13 May 2018
I worked in a few roles for this job over 6 years. What a god awful company to work for. Over worked, under paid. The chavs that work there are also a hoot.
If you want a job like this have a look at John Lewis instead. Night and day comparison.
Pros
A wage
Cons
Top to bottom rubbish
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
doesn’t matter how long you have worked there.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Scotland10 May 2018
I have worked for brighthouse for over 5 years as a sales advisors. You get no commission, because apparently it promotes bad selling, but then where given targets and pushed and pushed to hit it, giving me over a thousand pounds a week to do, when the store needs to make 1300 pounds a week, but there’s 2 other sale advisor with targets of 500 each, when I new person came into the shop on a part time wage. Got paid the same as me, when I worked there for 5 years my targets higher, my responsibilities are so much higher. You have to phone the same people, for telesales over and over again, getting asked why you have only done 87% by regional manager and have to phone to explain why. Even though you are excepted to do sales, clean, file, phone lost customers, phone new customer, go round nearby companies to try and get employees to sign up. Undertaking bank statement checks. Getting a low wage. The pressure is unbelievable. It’s making me stressed and depressed. The pressure is way to much. Can’t take it anymore. You never get a dinner hour, sometimes you can’t go for a wee for ages because where under staffed.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
driver (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire7 May 2018
worse company to work for long hours please avoid at all costs you have to eat on the move as you wont get your jobs done you will get dumped on from great hight
Pros
workers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colwyn Bay, Conwy3 April 2018
It’s funny how a company who claims to be proud of their values can bully staff into overtime, conducting late night telesales and working through breaks unpaid. The communication and training is nothing short of p*** poor, forced to handle deliveries with no manual handling training and deal with the numerous customer complaints- unsurprisingly as their aim is to just to rip off the poor.
If you have any sense of pride and conscience, do not work for this place, they’ll tear you down for it. I can’t stress it enough.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place.
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire30 March 2018
They treat you like a slave and when you try and stick up for yourself they will bully you until you leave. No respect from managers. You will never get a lunch break, work extra hours and not get paid for them. You will never see these hours again.
Pros
Lovely customers
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude Disrespectful & Treats workers like slaves
Driver (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London15 March 2018
To keep it short and sweet i would kot apply for the job the manager is a woman named sharron who is a very disrespectful and does not want to pay up for time you have worked i highly advise to avoid this job poor poor management if you do apply youve been warned
Pros
nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid like the plague
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire5 January 2018
Used to enjoy the job but then bad press started to happen so all the negativity got put on staff. Was promised certain wages if moved store, didn't happen. Contracted to 39 hours, never got a lunch break, worked minimum of 45 hours a week and never got paid any extra. They say that living the values is key in tis employment but how can you live the values if your not respected in your role. Have seen many managers forced out for one reason or another. Just horrible company to work for.
Pros
Home time
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deputy manager
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire27 December 2017
Contracted 39h - worked 45+ weekly (unpaid overtime constantly ). Work every Saturday as mangers are required in. Everyday is classed as a 'special/sacred" day so mondays / fridays no time off. Disgusting stock that is very over priced. Trying to get sales from poor merchandise ' you cant polish a terd' springs to mind
Pros
Thinking bare with....
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay Clear
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 December 2017
promise everything to work you to the bone and then drop you like a tonne of bricks no support, long hours , lucky if you see your unpaid dinner break, contracted and paid for 39hours but do he’ll of a lot more unpaid if you complain you get the not living the value speech
Pros
None
Cons
Long unpaid hours, nothing is ever good for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 65No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
7.5 tonne driver (Former Employee) –  West Drayton, Greater London27 November 2017
Liars and cheats and they just don't care is what I could honestly say. The same attitude runs through the whole company. If you don't believe me just ask the customers. They haven't got a clue how to run the place. MONEY looks good but you will work through your lunch which you don't get paid for and do overtime which you won't get paid for. Just one big Rip off and if u don't believe me just ask the customers.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 75No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be worse
Domestic Appliance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Scotland1 October 2017
its no that bad could be worse. like all places has its good and bad things. loved the job wasn't too hard or too easy good people well most of them were
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 28Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brighthouse Careers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.7
Based on 22 reviews
52
40
33
22
115

Ratings by category

1.5Work/Life Balance
1.7Salary/Benefits
1.6Job Security/Advancement
1.5Management
1.6Culture

Brighthouse Careers Reviews by Location