Brakes Group Employee Reviews

Found 405 reviews matching the search See all 421 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Brakes Group selected this as a representative review
A good company to work for
Trainee hgv driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire20 May 2019
I have worked at brakes in Warrington for the past 5 and a half years, the first couple of years where difficult as the Warrington depot was brand new and had to accommodate 3 separate local depots under one roof. These days however the depot is thriving, and their is a really good atmosphere amongst employees. The salaries are more than competitive & the possibility of personal progression is definitely their. At the moment myself & 5 of my colleagues are being put through our hgv licences by the company to become drivers and on completion will receive around a £8500 pa pay rise. If you have a good attitude towards work the rewards are their within this company.
Pros
Good salary, progression opportunities, good canteen, good people
Cons
Too many Man Utd fans 😁
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Portbury Recipe For Success
Driver (Former Employee) –  Portbury25 April 2019
Open site with settled team.
Sack them.
Bring in a couple of managers from smaller sites to completely ruin things and disengage all drivers and other staff
Get rid of them
Hire 2 more managers who don't know the business in the slightest but who think they can reinvent the brakes wheel
Repeat.

Place is a joke. People under too much pressure, numerous, staff suffering with stress and anxiety, nasty poisonous atmosphere in the offices.
Avoid.
Pros
None
Cons
Hours, workload, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. We’d be keen to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire25 April 2019
Every week I work more than I get paid for. I've asked for things to be changed nothing has happened. If the place was run properly it would be a cracking job.Planning, loading, picking, app, all need to be improved
Pros
pay and job isnt back if done properly
Cons
picking, app, loading
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn
more about how we can improve and your suggestions for change. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Drivers Mate (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire25 April 2019
worked for agency at Brakes for 8 months, now been taken on permanently, to be honest I actually like working here, I enjoy my job, hours suit me early start plus early finish, all works well for me
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Brakes

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend
HGV 2 driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire25 April 2019
good job hard work, pays relatively well, good days and bad days as with all jobs. Overall everybody in the company is very helpful. I would recommend Brakes as an employer.
Pros
work colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 16Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Brakes!

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good days and bad days
HGV 2 diver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire25 April 2019
good place to work once you get your rounds. Money wise it pays quite well. Some managers are really good and really do help you. You have good days and bad so it evens itself out.
Pros
experience drivers help you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and money
HGV Driver class 2 (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire24 April 2019
I've been a hgv driver at Brakes for 6 months now... good days bad days just like every job.... You NEED to get over the 3 to 4 month struggle and things do will better! 6 week training was such an advantage and great for a new driver like myself! Salary is added bonus too!
Pros
Training and Salary
Cons
Bad days??? But u also get good days too!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Many thanks for sharing your views and taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Brakes!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
think more about paperwork than customers
Customer Care Advisor (Former Employee) –  Deeside, Flintshire24 April 2019
At first they seam a good company to work for but in real they are more concerned about money than staff and most importantly the customer.
they are too time consumed and have no leeway for people who type slow
Pros
subsidized cafe
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
29 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues. We're sorry to hear that you didn't experience this - if you would like to provide further feedback, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager at BOD
Distribution Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
I would recommend Brakes to people who want to be home every night, who are not afraid of hard work and who want a decent wage for the area. Its a nice place to work
Pros
if your methodical you can get you work done, job suits your pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver at brakes
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
The job is fairly enjoyable you get regular routes usually have a good idea of where you are going. Hours are a bit long, early starts sometimes, don't mind though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Team Support Driver (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
Its a good job once you know your run. It can dishearten you when you first start you need to give it at least 3 months to get to grips with the job. You get to know your customers and would class some of them as friends
Pros
Monday to Friday no weekends, job and jack
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your customers. If you’d like to provide further feedback please email me at resourcing@brake.co.uk

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obtained my Class 2 through Brakes
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
The job itself can be hard and can get you down, I would stay here though is because of the people and the working environment. I have my HGV2 so drive and also work within the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for your review! We certainly do have great people in the business and a real team environment. In fact our People make our business - thank you for being part of it! If you would like to provide any further feedback on where we can improve, please email us at resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brakes Family
Depot Administrator (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
Their heart is in the right place, star awards are good, they reward staff for a good job done. The intention is there to look after all the employees. I generally look forward to coming in. The depot is like a family to me.
Pros
star awards, Eap
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues too. We really do try to look after everyone and we’re glad that you feel this way :-)

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been here 12 years
Team Support Driver (Current Employee) –  Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire18 April 2019
Overall a good company to work for. People who work in the Depot are great, most of them have been here a long time. I started as a driver, wages could be better/
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Brakes. We certainly do have great people in the business and a real team environment.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying Enviroment
Nights (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol14 April 2019
Dreadful place to work The management are bullies drove me over the edge. HR are well aware of the bullying but do nothing about it. Putting up a few extra posters regarding mental health doesnt work if the company doesnt take it seriously. I have never worked for such a bad company. I have moved on and am doing well in new job plus a promotion. If you have good management who care and listen then a company does well because employees are happy.
Pros
Going Home
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously. Bullying is not something we accept as a company - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place on the rise
Warehouse Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 April 2019
Worked here for 5 years, I have progressed through the . Big changes over the past 6 months, operation has changed a lot with a real feel that we are all working together. Overtime dramatically reduced. No longer rules with an iron fist. Good work atmosphere and moral. Still a real busy place to work but feelings and management consideration has dramatically changed atmosphere in the depot.
Pros
management, wage, progression
Cons
pay could be better with a bonus of some sort
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with Brakes. We are constantly striving to improve things and want to always be a great place to work - we're pleased you are seeing positive things happen!

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First place with targets
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 April 2019
Hours work well for me I can plan my life accordingly. Good banter with staff we all get along. Management are approachable and helpful. Once you've got the hang of the job it comes naturally.I've never worked to targets before. Get to take home fruit/veg at the end of the week
Pros
wage
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 9Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't fault the place
De Kit Manager (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 April 2019
I've been here 26 years, very secure job, if you want to progress your career with the right attitude there's lots of opportunities. I don't think you can fault the place.
Pros
job securtity
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Wow - 26 years! Thank you for your commitment over that time :-) Glad to hear you enjoying working at Brakes - long may it continue!

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been here 20 years
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 April 2019
Enjoy the work my jobs secure worked here for 20 years. I am happy here. I'm coming to end of retirement in the next few years. I wont be leaving. I was a driver for 18 years first now I'm in the warehouse.
Pros
well branded company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Many thanks for sharing your views and taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re still enjoying your experience at Brakes after 20 years! Thank you for your hard work and commitment

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrator
Warehouse Administrator (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire11 April 2019
I have worked here for 5 years. The staff are friendly I enjoy my job it can be really busy at times but you take the rough with the smoth. Flexible with childcare I have a young child and they allow me to work round her
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
23 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and share your views. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you enjoy working at Brakes. We know that flexibility is important to our colleagues, so we try to be as flexible as we can where possible!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days/disorganised transport team
Multi temperature delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Harlow4 April 2019
No start times, routes are disorganised and badly planned, lorries never loaded on time and you will be left to load on your own, worked with them for 5 months never met the transport management only supervisors and they are everywhere but wont help in anyway just send you to next supervisor, get told you get a set route to know customers and routes but everyday was different unless u are good friends with the person who sorted you the routes and you will be working 12-14 hour shifts every day
Pros
Every sunday off, other drivers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
8 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. We’d be keen to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 421 reviews
585
4123
372
239
1102

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture