Brakes Group Employee Reviews

Found 404 reviews matching the search See all 420 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Brakes Group selected this as a representative review
A good company to work for
Trainee hgv driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire20 May 2019
I have worked at brakes in Warrington for the past 5 and a half years, the first couple of years where difficult as the Warrington depot was brand new and had to accommodate 3 separate local depots under one roof. These days however the depot is thriving, and their is a really good atmosphere amongst employees. The salaries are more than competitive & the possibility of personal progression is definitely their. At the moment myself & 5 of my colleagues are being put through our hgv licences by the company to become drivers and on completion will receive around a £8500 pa pay rise. If you have a good attitude towards work the rewards are their within this company.
Pros
Good salary, progression opportunities, good canteen, good people
Cons
Too many Man Utd fans 😁
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Montgomery3 September 2019
Middle management are the real problem with this company. They work to their own agenda and are all about personal gain. The pay is ok however the workload can be heavy

There is to much admin work and you are constantly on eggshells in case you break rules which are not always clear
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Middle management run own agenda
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
10 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn
more about how we can improve. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brakes
Delivery Driver class 2 (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire28 August 2019
This company are a full on joke 21 drops Manchester City centre cage work never enough time trucks not loaded management are a joke you will end up working through your brakes just stay away from this place
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
10 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply a JOB
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire21 August 2019
Health and Safety is a BIG Issue,Spot on I like it. Salary you can leave on it
THAT'S IT. The rest NOT good, Long hours. You never knows when you going home. Annualised hours? Team leader with zero knowledge of management....
Pros
Even I forgot about it
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
22 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have one of the best records for Health and Safety in our industry and it remains our number on priority so that we can ensure the safety of our colleagues and customers - we're pleased to hear that you noticed this. Hours can be long and the work can be hard, and we are constantly looking at ways to improve things for our colleagues

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire13 August 2019
Never intended to leave but had to relocate due to family reasons
Was a great company with fantastic staff very well looked after as an employee
Good training regime on a yearly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Official response from Brakes Group
20 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate
your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at brakes!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant colleagues, good atmosphere, but beware of the "clique" culture
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent13 August 2019
I loved working here, I loved my work and got on well with most of my colleagues. Other than the usual office politics and cliques, it is a good place to work. The rewards however are only for the higher grade staff; it does not filter down like they claim it does.

Career progression is possible, if you're prepared to be ruthless. And I mean, ruthless - ie taking credit for other peoples work. The irony being, this flies against the "One Brakes" mantra (which is supposed to mean "we're all in this together"). Some managers for instance get thousands of pounds of bonuses by taking credit for other colleague's work (usually their coordinators). Meanwhile, the colleague(s) who do all the actual work day in, day out, get no reward or bonus - but if they complain, they're reminded that what they do is all part of "One Brakes". This is one of the key drivers for low-level admin staff leaving.

There is a mechanism for rewards at a lower level; what is known as a "Star Award". Your colleagues have to nominate you for it though, and some teams/departments/cliques worked out that if they take turns to vote for each other, they're almost guaranteed a bonus - even if it is for effectively doing their day jobs. Or in some cases, they get a reward for something they played no part in at all. Shortly before I left, there was a Star Award for a report I had put together - and in front of the whole floor, the manager gave the Star Award for it, to another colleague. That colleague immediately came over to apologise; he admitted taking a copy of my report to a presentation, and was mystified
  more... as to why someone nominated him for waving a copy of my report, rather than nominating me for producing the report in the first place. That's the good side of Brakes - for every bad egg there are probably five or six proper honest colleagues. And I'll miss them.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
20 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give feedback around your experience working at Brakes. We have a whole realm of additional rewards and benefits on offer to all staff at every level which is separate to any bonus and forms a competitive total reward package. We strive to live and breathe our One Brakes ethos and would encourage anyone who feels that they have been overlooked for the part they play, to speak up at the time. If you would like to provide further feedback, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like dating agency is brakes ebaa gum
Back stabber on logistics (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth9 August 2019
Now then..I consider myself to be the warehouse snitch .I pray on the girls .and stab my colleagues in the back and still I sit with them on break ..
That's the environment were in..I've got skin like a rhino .not to mention my inability to maintain basic hygeine.. brushing teeth etc.
I accuse others of exactly what I'm about. I continuously run to managers telling tales...
This is why I fit in at brakes .
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
13 August 2019

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your time here at Brakes. The environment you describe is not one that we tolerate and certainly does not reflect our workforce, values or culture.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
HR Advisor (Former Employee) –  Maidstone5 August 2019
Would recommend this company if you wish to progress in your career. Also plenty of opportunities.
Brakes also provide meals for children during holidays and passionately care for the environment.
Apprenticeship and graduate schemes are also available
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Can be demanding during peak periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
13 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers and colleagues, but also to the environment and our impact on it - we're glad that you feel we are delivering on this. If you have anything else to share, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Reading26 July 2019
I learn a lot of things there, and upgrade my skill in talking in English, people who are working there were amazing. If not my personal reasons I will definitely work here till this day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
13 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time working with Brakes.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ashford24 July 2019
My experience with cleaning for brakes was productive and fast pace.

The fast pace job has givenme experience with working under preassure and acting accordingly to people's needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
26 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate
your input and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience
here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good mostly all the workers are good to get on with need help any would help to you get you on your feet
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex22 July 2019
Thay trained me on a llop which most workers said I'm very fast can handle one that's going through 6 very large warehouse departments with metal shelving which contain high level of food on palletts
Pros
Good canteen with tvs and a poole table a kitchen with cooked food professonal chefs
Cons
Thay were ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
26 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Team Manager (Former Employee) –  Bristol17 July 2019
I enjoyed my time at brakes it was a challenging job but very rewarding. Work hard and correctly you have a great opportunity at progressing your career
Pros
Canteen
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
26 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Brakes. Career development for our colleagues is extremely important to us and we constantly monitor our learning offer to ensure that we are providing our colleagues all that they need to achieve their ambitions. As we like to put it - Feed your ambition, deliver your future!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Warehouse operator (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire10 July 2019
Food store
Cold and dry store
Picking with voice unit
Move Pallets with PPT truck
Shipping the orders
....................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Official response from Brakes Group
26 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most working days the atmosphere is low
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Newhouse7 July 2019
Far too many so called managers incapable of doing the job. It's a workforce that is split in two by management through the fact that 2 factories merged. There is actually next to no plan apart from get everything picked and loaded no matter what.
Health and safety is only an issue if its quiet or an accident occurs, new starts don't get enough training or time to properly learn the job and are then put under pressure to get a target which isn't done by time and motion but just from the management's orders.
This is not a place I would recommend to anyone especially people who have already worked in a warehouse environment.
Management is rotten to the core
Pros
Staff shop
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
26 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues. We take health and safety extremely seriously and have an industry leading record in this area. If you wish, please provide further feedback to resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not the best place to work at
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Tamworth30 June 2019
Its ok if you like multidrop and being in and out the freezer every minute long term its no good having the flu every other week because of temperature change to the body the menu list is hard to read kept on missing items that i had to go back too which made me finish later than usual
Pros
Best thing here is the salary 33k a year for class 2 cant go wrong
Cons
In and out ambient and freezer catch a cold every week if u have weak immune system
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
2 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It can get cold in the freezers and we provide full PPE to combat this, if you have any other thoughts on how we can improve please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money. No potential to step up
Class 2 HGV Driver (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire26 June 2019
Good money for class 2 ( you’ll earn it lifting ) but there is no hope of progressing to class 1 at Reading. Hence I left the company, as it’s a dead end job.
Pros
Money
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
2 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. We try to offer progression and opportunities for everyone, but unfortunately do not have many Class 1 vacancies become available. We are looking at our internal development and processes currently to see what more we can offer in terms of development, even if progression into a new role isn't immediate. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at resourcing@brake.co.uk

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespectful non appreciative environment to work
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Harlow16 June 2019
There’s a reason why they advertise a higher salary then most company’s because no body wants to work for them hence the bait for the salary to apply worst company and most fraudulent company to work for I.e this coming from an ex manager they will try to get their stone of flesh no morales forcing good drivers out with extra work once back from a hard days graft favouritism .overtime never paid correctly also dangerous place to work after they also advertise in Romania a lot of non English speaking Drivers who can not communicate or warn if there is a hazard to them selves or others around them if you like being used and abused and only seeing your family 5 hours a day out of 24 and like carrots on the end of a stick then go for it .
Pros
Canteen
Cons
Canteen will be closed when you get back work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
21 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues. We're sorry to hear that you didn't experience this. Although we do not actually advertise in Romania or any other country, we have a wonderfully diverse and multi-national workforce and we are super proud of them all. We have the best record in the industry for health and Safety - if you feel there are issues please provide further feedback to resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery Driver
Driver (Current Employee) –  Reading16 June 2019
Very hard work, moving heavy staff to customers, upstairs, downstairs, within shortest time as possible. Work outside in rain and snow.
Your future is as long will be your health good, then if you cannot continuing hard, you can go.
Lower Management their cannot much to do. If you want progress in to better position - almost impossible as another 300 drivers waiting for the same. Similar to lottery

There is good salary and unless you will make serious fault your job is generally secured as not many people survive in this job for long
There is also good sick pay policy and for reasonable issue you receive full salary without any deduction even sick for one or two or three weeks in year. But need proof and will be check.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Kind of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
21 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and rewarding job
Van Delivery Driver lgv driver (Former Employee) –  Swindon15 June 2019
If you are willing to put in the hard work and willing to learn along the way the job can be for filling ,you can also better your self at the company if you give it time
Pros
Good wage job security
Cons
Can be long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
21 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience
here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routing is a joke
Class 2 HGV Driver (Current Employee) –  Tamworth14 June 2019
An easy job made difficult by poor routing and work not evenly spread.
Good money but for the hours and the work you have to do you most defo earn it.
Pros
Its food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
21 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are constantly working hard to improve processes and procedures to make things easier for our colleagues. If you have any suggestions, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
SALES AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Deeside, Flintshire5 June 2019
Was overall a nice place to work.
Management was atrocious on sales and customer support.

Other departments were OK. the higher the management the more awful they are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
21 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that although you enjoyed working for us, you didn't experience the support from management that we would expect. Respect at work is hugely important to us and we would not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 420 reviews
584
4123
372
239
1102

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture