Brakes Group Employee Reviews

Found 398 reviews matching the search See all 414 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Brakes Group selected this as a representative review
A good company to work for
Trainee hgv driver (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire20 May 2019
I have worked at brakes in Warrington for the past 5 and a half years, the first couple of years where difficult as the Warrington depot was brand new and had to accommodate 3 separate local depots under one roof. These days however the depot is thriving, and their is a really good atmosphere amongst employees. The salaries are more than competitive & the possibility of personal progression is definitely their. At the moment myself & 5 of my colleagues are being put through our hgv licences by the company to become drivers and on completion will receive around a £8500 pa pay rise. If you have a good attitude towards work the rewards are their within this company.
Pros
Good salary, progression opportunities, good canteen, good people
Cons
Too many Man Utd fans 😁
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driven
Telesales (Current Employee) –  Tamworth20 October 2019
Sometimes what you do is never enough. You must have plenty of drive in this place otherwise it’s no good. Management poor - Ok. Other work colleagues great. You can all relate to each other. That’s about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day slavery
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire18 October 2019
Basically without any notice you can be asked in the last minute to stay 2 to 3 hours longer, if you refuse you will be threatened to be fired. Pick rate hard to achieve. Reach truck drivers driving with fork in the air past pickers what managers see but do nothing about it. Money good. People stay here only because of the money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Driver (Former Employee) –  Inverness, Highland12 October 2019
Worked here 2 summer contracts. Great place to work. Mon-Fri. Some late finish times due mainly to distance and some early finishes. Management very approachable...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
18 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience at Brakes! We hope you come back for another summer.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours are the issue
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire11 October 2019
Its a really nice place to work for but the issue is your never allowed to go on time they dictate to you when your shift ends so if your doing a 6 til 2.30 then its more likely 4ish you get off. Managment needs to sort this out as people cant live like that people have home lifes to deal with, theres no other warehouse/ factory jobs where people are not allowed to go home when there shift ends. If this means the way in which the work loads are sorted then the whole thing needs sorting out and asap This is the reason no one stays if they sorted this out they would be a really good company.
Pros
Nice atmosphere
Cons
Not being allowed to finish when the shift ends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
18 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you felt Brakes was a nice place to work. We're in a very competitive market and this can mean working more than normal at times, but we wouldn't make extra work mandatory - please email us with more info at resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can look into this

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work there management are bullies
Telesales (Current Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire10 October 2019
When I started over 2 years ago it WAS great!! Now management are bullies and don’t really no anything it’s always the other staff helping because management haven’t got a clue how to help or use the system they just sit and natter all day while there is 100+ calls waiting to be answered. In the last 2 years I have never seen that amount of people leave and new starters leave. I would avoid unless you want to be monitored when to go to the toilet or judged because you want a holiday. If you are going for a job in transport don’t full of bullies and Management that couldn’t plan a route if you gave them a million pound over all run by bullies and managers that haven’t got a clue. They do what ever they can not to pay bonus but you have to work your a** off to try get targets in that you don’t get appreciated for they just want more and more nothing is ever good enough but you will still be expected more. If you want your sanity don’t work at brakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
18 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously and respect at work is hugely important to us and we would not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay peanuts. Expect monkeys
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Chester9 October 2019
The company turn over is massive. They have clicks and if your face doesn't fit then that's it. Whispering in corners and horrible atmosphere. Managers that will sack you in a heartbeat. All sell sell sell all the time. Targets are hard and not worth the money you receive to hit them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. Our sales teams do have hard yet achievable targets and the sales environment is indeed all about selling and proving a great customer experience. We are committed to providing a respectful working environment for all of our colleagues and we do not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So hard and stressful
Class 2 Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Egham, Surrey4 October 2019
This job is so hard and fast paced I ended up in hospital for exhaustion never taking breaks having a pet the lorry on break while you're doing other work really really long days and when you work out your hourly rate you'll be on less than minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously and absolutely enforce the requirements of taking breaks. None of our staff are on less than minimum wage, and we regularly monitor hours. If this is not what you experienced, then please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Class II Multi-Drop / Refrigerated Driver (Former Employee) –  Portbury3 October 2019
Bad management, over worked and underpaid.

If you express a problem or concern then you are either ignored or if you make enough noise you get a manager trying to belittle you over an unrealistic drop schedule.

Toxic workplace. In my opinion. Drawn from my experiances.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. Respect at work is hugely important to us and we would not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Honest Review
Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire30 September 2019
what I learnt about brakes was that the £32k salary is not worth the work and the stress that you are put through, you are paid for 45 hours a week and there is guys that do these hours mainly the guys that have been there for years but majority of drivers are doing 50-60 weeks with no extra pay! And even if you do get an early finish you will be sent back out again. you are constantly taken off your route and sent out blind and they will say there will be help but there won’t be, You will be flat out daily even working through breaks, you work every bank holiday (no extra pay), The trucks are dated and frequently break down, You are punished for bringing drops back, The handball of products is ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. Our drivers, and indeed all of our colleagues, work extremely hard and we try to balance out hours fairly - some weeks will be busier than others. It is not part of our working practices to expect people to work through breaks - we would never knowingly allow this. We'd be keen to learn more about your experience to investigate further. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A year at Brakes
Customer Care Advisor (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent23 September 2019
I worked here as a customer care advisor for a year and it was worthwhile. I had a great team and manager, who I got along with really well.

The pay wasn’t amazing which was one of the reasons I left but also the fact that it was costing me too much to travel etc. I also wanted to progress further in my career. I gained many skills that I will definitely use in my career. I also know what great customer service is now.

I
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoyed working with us and learnt some great skills to enhance your career!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good decent salary
Driver class 2 (Current Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire22 September 2019
The pay is good; however the route planning leaves a lot to be desired. Some routes are impossible while others are so easy you feel like your stealing your wages; other routes overlap and even two drivers deliver to the same location at the same time. The job is made even more difficult with poorly maintained trucks which should not be on the road as they are over 10 years old and maltreated. Would also be nice if the way in which the trucks were loaded took the driver into consideration, warehouse staff seem to be hiding tiny boxes under larger boxes for fun and turning labels on boxes the other way so that the driver cannot see them and must remove other items just to reach it. There is no accountability for this and if the management were to investigate these issues Brakes would be a well-oiled machine with happy customers, drivers and staff in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are working hard to improve routing and planning and appreciate all feedback that help us to improve. We are also waiting on a new fleet coming soon! Our warehouse colleagues also have a tough job and work tirelessly - they certainly wouldn't make things more difficult for fun - they don't have time. We are investing heavily into our warehouse management systems which will help reduce any issues and we are excited about being a more 'well-oiled machine' in the future.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire20 September 2019
Nice place to work, if you keep your head down and ignore everyone. As most people treat the place like a giant playground with no consideration for HS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are not enjoying your experience working at Brakes. We take health and safety extremely seriously and respond to any potential issues immediately which is why we have one of the best records in the industry. We’d be keen to hear more about your experience so that we can investigate further. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Montgomery13 September 2019
I started 9 years ago ok at frist but the liars started and now I'm on medication for last 6 years my mind can never look to forward in life to make plans never feel safe
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Liars
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
11 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down we know that the key to our business success is our colleagues, we take the health and wellbeing of our colleges very seriously - we run regular mental health workshops and chats and have a number of fully trained mental health first aiders throughout the business. It is really important to talk and we have many ways of helping you - Please get in touch with your HR representative who can make sure that you get all the help and assistance that you require.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands4 September 2019
brakes is ok most of the people are easy to get on with but the long hours and being forced to do jobs you didnt apply for can get a bit tedious also working strange hours isnt for every one
Pros
people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
10 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. As a 24/7 365 day a year operation some of the shifts do consist of unsociable or unusual hours which aren't for everybody! We do have some fabulous people in our business and we're glad that you experienced this. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at
resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Montgomery3 September 2019
Middle management are the real problem with this company. They work to their own agenda and are all about personal gain. The pay is ok however the workload can be heavy

There is to much admin work and you are constantly on eggshells in case you break rules which are not always clear
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
Middle management run own agenda
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
10 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn
more about how we can improve. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brakes
Delivery Driver class 2 (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire28 August 2019
This company are a full on joke 21 drops Manchester City centre cage work never enough time trucks not loaded management are a joke you will end up working through your brakes just stay away from this place
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
10 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply a JOB
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire21 August 2019
Health and Safety is a BIG Issue,Spot on I like it. Salary you can leave on it
THAT'S IT. The rest NOT good, Long hours. You never knows when you going home. Annualised hours? Team leader with zero knowledge of management....
Pros
Even I forgot about it
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
22 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have one of the best records for Health and Safety in our industry and it remains our number on priority so that we can ensure the safety of our colleagues and customers - we're pleased to hear that you noticed this. Hours can be long and the work can be hard, and we are constantly looking at ways to improve things for our colleagues

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire13 August 2019
Never intended to leave but had to relocate due to family reasons
Was a great company with fantastic staff very well looked after as an employee
Good training regime on a yearly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Official response from Brakes Group
20 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate
your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at brakes!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant colleagues, good atmosphere, but beware of the "clique" culture
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent13 August 2019
I loved working here, I loved my work and got on well with most of my colleagues. Other than the usual office politics and cliques, it is a good place to work. The rewards however are only for the higher grade staff; it does not filter down like they claim it does.

Career progression is possible, if you're prepared to be ruthless. And I mean, ruthless - ie taking credit for other peoples work. The irony being, this flies against the "One Brakes" mantra (which is supposed to mean "we're all in this together"). Some managers for instance get thousands of pounds of bonuses by taking credit for other colleague's work (usually their coordinators). Meanwhile, the colleague(s) who do all the actual work day in, day out, get no reward or bonus - but if they complain, they're reminded that what they do is all part of "One Brakes". This is one of the key drivers for low-level admin staff leaving.

There is a mechanism for rewards at a lower level; what is known as a "Star Award". Your colleagues have to nominate you for it though, and some teams/departments/cliques worked out that if they take turns to vote for each other, they're almost guaranteed a bonus - even if it is for effectively doing their day jobs. Or in some cases, they get a reward for something they played no part in at all. Shortly before I left, there was a Star Award for a report I had put together - and in front of the whole floor, the manager gave the Star Award for it, to another colleague. That colleague immediately came over to apologise; he admitted taking a copy of my report to a presentation, and was mystified
  more... as to why someone nominated him for waving a copy of my report, rather than nominating me for producing the report in the first place. That's the good side of Brakes - for every bad egg there are probably five or six proper honest colleagues. And I'll miss them.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Brakes Group
20 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give feedback around your experience working at Brakes. We have a whole realm of additional rewards and benefits on offer to all staff at every level which is separate to any bonus and forms a competitive total reward package. We strive to live and breathe our One Brakes ethos and would encourage anyone who feels that they have been overlooked for the part they play, to speak up at the time. If you would like to provide further feedback, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like dating agency is brakes ebaa gum
Back stabber on logistics (Former Employee) –  Avonmouth9 August 2019
Now then..I consider myself to be the warehouse snitch .I pray on the girls .and stab my colleagues in the back and still I sit with them on break ..
That's the environment were in..I've got skin like a rhino .not to mention my inability to maintain basic hygeine.. brushing teeth etc.
I accuse others of exactly what I'm about. I continuously run to managers telling tales...
This is why I fit in at brakes .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Official response from Brakes Group
13 August 2019

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your time here at Brakes. The environment you describe is not one that we tolerate and certainly does not reflect our workforce, values or culture.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 414 reviews
583
4120
372
239
1100

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture