Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst mistakes.
Central patient booking services (Former Employee) –  St. Luke's21 February 2019
CPBS.
-High staff turn over.
- Staff there are pretty much 3 months in so no real training is really given because they dont have a glue themselves!!
-Managers are sat down doing nothing
- Over 1,000 calls coming in a day and only 2/3 people on switchboard?? & now their wanting to employ staff to deal with the entire call.
- Your induction consists of talking loads of sense but not putting that in practice
- YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR EVERYTHING!! Parking,GYM, TEA, EQUIPMENT FOR WORK (including printing because their paperless) ONLY THING FREE IS TAP WATER WHICH IVE BECOME ILL FROM.
- Only 2 people off for annual leave my manager didnt set me up on purpose as there was barely any staff
- YOU WILL BE RUNNING AROUND BACK AND FORTH FROM BRI TO ST LUKES, GOOD LUCK!! A&E to estates to hr to back to estates to back to main enterance of the new building to catch a taxi
- oh best part the taxi only has 5 seats so tough! You’ll have to get your OWN transport with none of it paid for

- THEY BUGGED me to stay!! Biggest thing some staff are raciest,rude and they lied about being disability positive!! Wheres my things that you promised on day dot? Oh no its different we need another asssessment! RIDICILIOUS!! Some people are apprentices who have already done the same qualification. This place is run b nurserys.

Im apauled after i got shouted at by doing another staff members job. Making 80 year old patients going running around to third floor, i thought NO! Out of order how she says ‘i dont understand her icba dealing with it’. You got google translate and software in place YET
  more... i was lucky that i didnt ignore her like other staff members all did

Fire safety is important but our staff use burnt sockets, IT staff have wires and everything in their office but its exempt for them because theres no propa space we can put them in.

I REGRET i left a decent job where free parking was there, sick pay, supportive, good induction, free showers,straightners, hair dryers, showers and massive kitchen and free vending machines was available. I wouldve rather travelled for a less wage then to walk to work where im miserable and spoken to like an animal
  less
Pros
50 mins for lunch (if u want a 10 mins break)
Cons
Wage is standard, long hours, no propa training. Running around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organised
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Bradford11 March 2018
Nurses always guide you to ensure you are not doing anything wrong, very organised and everything is done at a set time to prevent any body being overwhelmed due to lots of job roles.
Pros
Lunch time enough
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No wonder nhs is dying
Pharmacy stores assistant (Former Employee) –  Bradford26 December 2017
I worked here for 12 years at its best the place was a tip deceitful managers and colleagues throw in some racism worse place I have ever worked do not trust how they operate....
Pros
Pay, pension
Cons
Everything else and the kitchen sink.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Contract
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Bradford21 February 2017
Temporary illness contract which was extended but no job security. Tasks given were above the job specification provided prior to starting and not in line with the band specified
Pros
Temporary Contract
Cons
Long travelling to and from work times
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Podiatrist (Current Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire4 February 2017
NHS is very good to work for
Very good benifits
Staff scheme
Car Lease
Sick pay
Good salary
Incentive schemes
Support groups

I've worked for he NHS for 10years and it is a good company to work for
Pros
Mileage paid
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun to work.
Band 5 (Former Employee) –  Bradford30 November 2016
i enjoyed working in bradford because my colleagues are friendly and very professional.
managers are supportive to their staff.
it's a busy theatre, i gained a lot of skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Bradford26 October 2016
I only did work experience here, but from what you could see by the way certain members of staff were treated who was more qualified and who was on the highest pays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
Band 4 Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Bradford4 October 2016
It is a very busy and on the go position. There is no let up it is busy constantly which I enjoy. I have learnt a lot of new systems on computer such as IPM, ICE, Evolve, Galaxy. My co-workers are helpful and we all get on very well, helping each other out and being a source for feedback, sounding boards etc. The most enjoyable part of the job is the different and varied jobs that transpire as each day goes on and therefore you could never get bored.
Pros
Varied work load, hours that suit, prioritising your own workload
Cons
very hectic at times, frustration when theatres are cancelled especially at short notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
HR (Former Employee) –  Daisy Bank16 May 2016
I worked within the HR department and have never experienced a worse working environment in my career. Zero training or engagement from any management. On day one I was shown to a grotty desk and broken chair and told where the toilet was (I can only assume that that was my induction). Managers who seem to spend most of their time hiding behind their office doors and occasionally darting into the central kitchen avoiding eye contact with any of the team. Turnover is high and the environment is miserable, windows covered up, dirty desks and yellowing memos on notice boards that I imagine have been there 700 years and never read. Project Managers who struggle to communicate, maintain eye contact or conduct a meeting in time or with any purpose. Your opinion will never be requested and your feedback will fall on deaf ears. One week my only task was to 'just read over last week's emails'. It was a huge relief to leave, think very carefully before considering the BTHT HR department as an option.
Pros
None
Cons
No colleague engagement, no defined roles, no communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very forward thinking trust to work for
Senior Clinical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bradford23 March 2016
My experience at Bradford has been very positive. Bradford emphasizes a lot on communication at a level I have never seen in another trust before. I definitely learned how communication aided the project from day one.
Management has a very positive attitude towards the project i was involved in. I was made a team player at every step of the project.
As a senior analyst i enjoyed working with secondment staff in the project. I was able to train and assist my colleagues at work using my experience.
The hardest part of the job was to engage with stakeholders who had a big challenge on their hand due to shortage of staff. this meant they could not attend some of the sessions we organised once a week. The way i got around this was to take the sessions to them on the ward.
I enjoyed engaging with staff e.g doctors, nurses and others. I felt comfortable with this part of the job as i used to be a nurse myself.
Pros
exciting project to be part of
Cons
long distance from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
security (Former Employee) –  Bradford12 March 2016
Worked there for 25 years and gained a a lot of knowledge but a changed in my circumstances meant it was time to leave and look for part time work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance, supervision, management of contractors and staff, engineering
Multi-Skilled Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ENG2 June 2014
Employed as an apprentice and upon successful completion, recruited as a Multi-skilled Maintenance Technician. Work consists of maintaining electrical, mechanical and plumbing services to the Hospital buildings, grounds and gardens all of which are to a very high standard. Communication to patients, Hospital staff and Colleagues is essential. Above all of this, health and safety is paramount due to the nature of the environment.
Other duties include assisting and training Apprentices, supervising Assistants and undertaking Shift cover for periods of up to 3 months. Shift cover consisted of Night and Weekend shifts where there was no other member of the team on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it is a goo working environment.
ICU Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ENG29 January 2014
It is rotating shift day & night. I learned a lot in this unit professionally.
Management is flexible most of the time.We have a good teamwork
in the unit though its busy.ICU is a heavy unit & unpredictable but because of the good working relationship between staffs the workload became lighter.It is a multicultural hospital the hardest part of the job is miscommunication especially when there is no interpreter for the patient(unable to speak english),it is frustrating.
And dealing with bereaving family. I enjoyed working in this unit.
Pros
long breaks, flexible hours
Cons
underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 14Report

See more Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
52
46
34
20
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Reviews by Location