Bott Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Office (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire25 June 2019
Good work life balance here. We mainly work our basic contracted hours and the holiday entitlement is great - 34 days holiday per year!. You even get another 5 days holiday the year you get married!

All staff, after 6 months service, accrue the company profit and attendance related bonus - this can equate to between £2000 - £4000 per person, year each.

A bit confused by other peoples comments about the bonus as it is absence and profit related so it should be no surprise when you lose some when you're absent. Also if someone was to leave the company (and work their full notice) then they would be paid the bonus they accrued even if they aren't still working for the company anymore.

The pay, inclusive of bonus is above average for the area.

All jobs are advertise internally so there are lots of chances to apply to work in other areas if you want to.
Pros
Good working hours, great holiday entitlement, free secure car parking, free uniform, and free hot drinks.
Cons
Very busy, challenging work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management, promote culture of back stabbing
Office based (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire19 June 2019
Like being back in 70 Management where white collars and menials in blue, most managers have been promoted due to time of service and how much a55 they kiss and not skills.

Bonus a joke miss 1 day and you lose a week, everyone is meant to be on the same level, this is a lie one of the managers left his payslip in a car and he got a lot more.

If you like to be micro managed, spied on, not recognised for hard work, working extra hours but being penalised for 1 day off sick or being late on e in a blue moon then join them
Pros
Free Blue shirt so you know you are scum
Cons
Clueless management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Brake Press Machine Operator (Bender) (Former Employee) –  Bude4 June 2019
Totally target driven. No care for the employees at all. Not interested in knowing staff personally. Basically, if they could hire robots to do the job, they would. Toilet breaks monitored. Arrival and leaving time monitored. How much you did in a day monitored. All used against you in your performance review to the T.
Happy to take merits away if you needed to attend a funeral. Absolutely revolting level of care for their staff.
Pros
Good bonus if you didn’t have a sick day.
Cons
Nasty management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a robot.
Prefer not to say (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire20 February 2019
If you want an easy, relatively stress free job it's fine. The day is broken up into small managable chunks so they don't drag. Don't make any mistakes and you will be fine. Don't think or try to innovate or change anything... they don't like it. You are paid to turn up, turn off and do your job, not think. The management are farcicle at best. There is some kind of strange hierachy that seems to exist simply to give the senior guys somewhere to progress to. They take that power seriously and will talk to you like you are some kind of naughty animal. They also use that power to get away with doing nothing. Even when its down to the wire and everybody is working flat-out they don't muck in... just micro-manage to the point that you want to walk out. If you value anything about yourself, or expect to be noticed for your hard work or skill DON'T work at Bott. It will never happen. They are so stuck in their ways it will never be anything different. Honestly if they continue like this the company will inevitably fail.
Pros
Short days, regular breaks.
Cons
No respect from managment, degrading conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job environment
Production operative (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire12 January 2019
A good place to work although very fast paced. I enjoyed working there. Unfortunately I had family problems at the time and they gave me my notice. Nothing I could do about it wish i was still there
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
didnt appreciate the fact of a family loss
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, to many chiefs who have no idea about the jobs their staff do...
Operative (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch24 October 2018
This company are good to work for at first, but believe me this is a false sense of security, staff turnover is very high, due to the poor attitude of management I believe.. Probably never picked up a spanner but know it better than anybody else..
HR have no clue and seem to tolerate bullying and brush it off..
Holidays.. Yeah 35 days a year but you can only choose 8 of those yourself...
Do not work for this company as they grind you down until you have given them every last breath and then turn on you like the clappers...
Pros
Free muck they call coffee, quarter bonus
Cons
No matter how hard you work your a number, MD small man syndrome
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peers
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire2 August 2018
Wages are not really competitive but they make a big show about the Bonus.
But you will not see the bonus as they will find any excuse to cheat you out of it.
Unlikely to see a full bonus unless you are really lucky.

Expected to be busy all they time even when they don't allocate you work.
Pros
Holidays
Cons
Have to work to a bell like in school
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people make it a family (excluding management)
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch23 July 2018
The people make Bott (excluding management) great teams but not a very motivational place. Electricians are on the same as fitters and build and stores? I've never understood as you have to do years at college to get these qualifications and are put on a generic pay grade. Managers way or nothing! top workshop is "ran" by two managers which to this day i don't know what they do apart from shout things up, there way or nothing (reminds me of school). lads are great to work with and work culture is good and interesting.
Pros
secure job, people make it (excluding management)
Cons
management, hr, pay for electricians
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Bude, Cornwall26 April 2018
There are a small amount of good friendly peers there that are up for a laugh and help you out but apart from that it's horrible. The area supervisors and managers look at you like a bit of dirt under their shoe and don't make you feel welcome or part of a team environment. Nothing you do or how hard you work is ever appreciated. Money is awful except for the bonus scheme which they will probably scam you and get rid of you before receiving this. Luckily i got one set of bonus. No job stability as they Pick you up and drop you as they please and do not care. A place where all other employees including supervisors and managers will smile at your face then stab you in the back and throw you under the bus. Generally an awful place to work. DO NOT WORK HERE FOR YOUR OWN SAKE!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A case of who you know not what you know....
build (Former Employee) –  Ashby8 March 2018
an okay place to work as a fill gap but there isn't any longevity there.
promotion is based on who you know and who you get on with.
the wages are awful and the fact that its a 37.5 hour week only makes it worse. even with the bonus its only just enough to live on.
The fact that if you have one day off you miss the whole weeks bonus is a joke. also the fact that they pay everyone in levels.. therefore a person on stores can earn the same/more than a qualified electrician is baffling.

A good bunch of lads on the shop floor does not make up for the awful managers.
Pros
i no longer work there
Cons
wages, management, progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good lads, Communal wages, make do tool kit
Installer (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire10 January 2018
The workers are normally happy and the mood is generally good.
Everyone works together to get the job done. Management have little Knowledge/Respect/Consideration in what some engineers have to do to get the jobs out on time.
The wages are communal (good rates for unskilled and bad rates for skilled and qualified engineers).
The bonus is probably the only thing keeping the skilled workers on the books.
Some workers drag their feet but all they need to do is turn up!
The work is generally clean and easy.
The afternoon break was recently taken from the workers and no apology was issued just the reason of conforming with company policies, one chap was even suspended for speaking his mind about the matter.
The duration of holidays is good but the time in which you have to take them is very controlling.
Pros
Bonus, uniform
Cons
Controlled holidays, Communal wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff deserve more.
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Bude9 January 2018
Hundreds of people from the local area have worked for Bott at some point and the same thing happens everytime. You work as much as you can on minimum wage for 3 months, then just before it comes to receiving the quarterly bonus they'll get rid of you.

The staff you'll work with are brilliant (if not for a few incompetent managers) but unless you're desperate avoid this company. They take advantage of poor employment in the area and go through staff like they mean nothing.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Bad working practise
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work,the workforce makes the place an amazing place to be
Decal supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire23 May 2017
i arrive at work for 7:30 to set up for the lads arriving for 8, i usually start by putting out all kits and any equipment they need to finish the job,when thats done i have a walk around the factory to ensure that there are no potential hazards waiting to happen. when its 8 i will then check my team and ensure everyone is present an that they know what job they are supposed to be doing. throughout the day i will normally be on the phone with any applicators who are on site sorting out any issues to meetings with our design and production team about various areas that need improvement, in between that i will be checking over the work my team is doing checking that it is to a very good standard.
Pros
early finish on friday
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Powder Sprayer (Former Employee) –  Cornwall4 May 2017
very good atmosphere fun to work at managed well very family friendly always took into account the people have family's and helped when possible. always paid on time.
Pros
fun work place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Floor Operative (Former Employee) –  Cornwall22 April 2017
i started my shift at about 10 minutes to 6 or 10 minutes to 8 depending on weather overtime was needed on that particular day, i would carry out all safety checks then i woud operate my machine until 4.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managers treat employees like dirt
Workshop Operator (Former Employee) –  Bude, Cornwall17 March 2017
if you like being bullied by managers who have no idea what they are doing and refuse to listen to their experr staff then bott in bude is for you, goes through a alarming number of staff with most emplouees looking to leave.
Pros
quarter bonus to make up for the poor wages
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Sales Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, Leicestershire27 February 2017
Due to the company rapidly growing, the pace of the job role has picked up. A typical day for me involves managing accounts, making sure the conversions are running smoothly, supporting my other team members, maintaining customer relationships through telephone contact and meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Vehicle Electrician (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, ENG10 September 2015
Enjoyable to work for but very repetitive. A good bunch of lads who were very driven to get the work done. I learned a few things that I didn't know about which have helped me further my career prospects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assembly Operative (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch, ENG17 December 2013
Work was enjoyable and varied as we produced many different shelving units. Work was hard and deadlines had to be met but I got to learn how to use many different tools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very efficient and Clean processes
Installation (Current Employee) –  leicestershire23 July 2013
Professional workplace with polite and hardworking work mates.
Always learning and improving the quality
Pros
holidays & bonus
Cons
the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bott Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 21 reviews
51
46
33
23
18

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.9Culture

Bott Ltd Reviews by Location