BOROUGH OF POOLE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience
Social Work Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset3 March 2018
Everyone is very dedicated and passionate about their jobs and clients. Work life balance is supported and welfare of staff is a priority. Lots of opportunities for different experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was great! Management and staff were terrible
Housing Advice (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset10 November 2017
Absolutely no work life balance!
Management did not listen and any good work was rewarded with more work.
Staff cuts and multiple roles make this a work place environment where learning on your feet is an understatement!
Pros
Chance to help people
Cons
Terrible management who do not listen and are only interested in their stats
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Management
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Poole16 June 2017
Most Enjoyable - Great team to work with, supportive management and colleagues
Hardest Part - A number of political sensitivities which proved difficult at times
Have enjoyed working on the project
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding role but really enjoy it.
SEN Assessment Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset8 June 2017
This role is very demanding, can be quite stressful but ultimately I enjoy the it. Every day is different in terms of what casework needs to be done and what can be put aside. Workflows and cases can change all of a sudden and any plans that you had to what you intended to do, can change.
Pros
Good amount of holiday and a decent pension.
Cons
Non-permanent contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic environment - too management heavy
Social Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Borough of Poole27 May 2017
Very unimpressed with work culture and constant restructures which don't benefit the staff or the public that they are supposed to serve. Can't speak for all service units however - some may be better. Where I worked felt overly management heavy giving confused and often conflicting information, too few front line staff available to actually DO the job.
Pros
Some very hard working and dedicated people
Cons
poor management, chaotic and under resourced workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than most
Business Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset9 March 2017
Limited job security although various other vacancies available.

Restructure is an annual event in most units.

Pay structure is good unless you have to go though restructure then you can find yourself starting from scratch
Pros
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Poole7 February 2017
Every day is busy
Over 13 years numerous things
Some good managers, some not so good
Can do culture
Meeting targets, under funding
Interacting with other people
Pros
Good hours good pay
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ignorant management
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset21 January 2017
It was like working in the dark ages, management that don't want to listen to new ideas. Staff that want to drag a job out ,so as to claim more overtime.
Pros
Car parking
Cons
Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management oversight and interest
Panel Team Administrator (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset22 November 2016
Salary was fine, but management just wasn't interested in supervision or development.Due to this, there wasn't any interest in encouraging training or offering progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Temporary GIS Administrator/ ICT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole27 July 2016
laid-back but professional and effective.
Friendly environment
Hardest part of the job is dealing with new software and hardware for spatial mapping of the borough because of the various companies that produce them separately
Opportunity to learn useful management skills provided by the managing team
Pros
own kitchen
Cons
not easily accessible by public transport
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned basics of GIS
Temporary GIS Administrator/ ICT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole2 July 2016
Extensive exposure to how GIS functions and how the software utilized in practice to understand and report environemtal issues and facts. Very interesting data assimilation methods and display methods through GIS
Pros
good data assembling methods and display methods
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No accountability. Zero respect and dignity.
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Community24 June 2016
The HR paperwork says one thing. The reality is very different. A demoralising, unstructured, self-serving culture.
Pros
Some job security.
Cons
Stress levels. Apathetic, unqualified management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report
Official response from BOROUGH OF POOLE
7 July 2016

We’d like to respond to share how disappointed we are to learn about your experience at Borough of Poole. We would like to invite you to contact HR for a discussion so we can learn more - if you would like to do this please let us know at recruitment@poole.gov.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good little job
Shared Lives Carer (Current Employee) –  Poole12 February 2016
As a shared lives carer I am able to work my own hours and am carefully matched to clients I support. I provide respite care to people with learning difficulties in my own home.

The pay is good and I can choose my own hours.

I am able to celebrate outcomes that our clients complete with them such as a greater level of independence when accessing the community.
Pros
A very flexable job
Cons
No support at weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Various (Former Employee) –  Poole, ENG20 August 2013
I have worked in five different departments in five years so my jobs varied from post to post. I have always been involved in administration or customer service which can mean answering phone queries, updating customer/clients files, scanning and uploading archive documents to the relevant database, asking contractors to do a certain job and ensuring the subsequent invoice is sent to accounts for payment etc.
Pros
Close to my home and generally good staff to work with
Cons
Was only a temp so did not have job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BOROUGH OF POOLE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
55
42
34
21
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture

BOROUGH OF POOLE Reviews by Location