Boots UK Employee Reviews in Nottingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
N/A (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire3 January 2018
Everyone is kind and respectful. They are lovely people and will help you if you need help. They are productive and hard workers. They make conversation with you even if they don't know you and you can rely on everyone there.
Pros
kind people
Cons
long hours working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, poor pay
Assistant Buyer (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire18 December 2017
Lots of work for little reward. Too much internal politics and slow moving to get anything done. Good for progression if you are willing to essentially do 2 jobs to get it
Pros
Discounted shop
Cons
Long hours, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but friendly place
WAREHOUSE OPERATIVE (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire10 December 2017
warehouse work worked in a cr picking system using trucks in the warehouse to order pick and make sure orders are met and general house cleaning duties of warehouse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham2 December 2017
I did work experience with Boots for 3 days, I loved helping customers find what they needed, stocking up on cosmetics, skincare, medications, food, drink
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire23 November 2017
Long days, sitting there watching them. Started work experience during 2015 summers to end of summer.

Employers was nice and friendly shown me different systems and how everything is run.
Pros
Good experience, Fun
Cons
Long days, paying for lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of job security
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham13 November 2017
In my experience, the psychological contract perceived by non- staff is very different from the actual psychological contract that the staff have with the company.
Pros
2 half hour breaks
Cons
Long hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Nottingham31 October 2017
no way to advace within the company as jobs are given to favorite emploees

so it was a complete waste of time and effort to apply for advacement within the organisation
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, good atmosphere
Supply Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire31 October 2017
Work is very good at Boots, your days are flexible and you choose how you want to go about completeing your tasks. I learned a lot about Suppply in general and best practices for differnet situations. The management here are much like ,management anywhere you go, there are really good managers and not so great managers. The job can be quite demanding in respect that you will have a lot to do in a short amount of time and staying over your hours is almost expected which is a downside to Boots. the most enjoyable part of the job is the people i work with.
Pros
Boots discount, offer health insurance and such benefits. relaxed environment
Cons
usually expected to do more hours than paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme Manager
GNFR Cost and Transformation Programme Manager (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire9 October 2017
Everyday is a new challenge, supporting and collaborating with a team of Procurement Professionals across the globe.
The hardest part of my job is balancing all of the individual requests for improvement into something that works globally for all.
The most enjoyable part of my job is successfully implementing process improvements that work globally and seeing how much more productive the department becomes.
Pros
Discount card
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice friendly atmosphere
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire7 October 2017
A typical day at the boots warehouse is very repetitive, i learned how to pick and pack and follow simple instructions to make sure the orders were all ok. we have a meeting at the beginning of every shift and at the end of every shift with the management to tell us what the total order are and then they thank us at the end of the shift. the hardest part of the job is to make sure you don't get the orders wrong in any way. the most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and having a laugh at work as well as working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
ABAP Developer (Former Employee) –  Nottingham3 October 2017
Boots was a really fun place to work, unfortunately job security was a worry that seems to always be hanging around.
The culture at boots is the best thing about it, there are plenty of opportunities to raise money for charity!
Pros
flexible working, sales, great culture
Cons
stressful working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Boots UK
13 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's great that you loved our culture and got the chance to get involved in lots of charity work! Thanks for letting us know how you feel about job security, this feedback will be passed on to the relevant teams.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Digital Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire20 September 2017
this job was good, but i find these questions intrusive and not necessary for a job site. I will persist with it, but I may well delete my CV fromt he site because of these questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for starting your career
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham20 September 2017
For kick starting your career it is a large organisation with numerous opportunities. You learn a lot about the industry and can be exposed to a lot of experience.

The performance management system could be improved.

Some management are very good, but some people in managerial positions should not be.

Company culture was good overall, but did vary between departments.

Company changes are not managed well - need to better manage resource demand in the future.

Hard to get up the ladder/salary increases as subjective to company performance and hierarchy. Less focused on individual targets and achievements - no managerial influence on this.
Pros
discount
Cons
under resourced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Nottingham14 September 2017
Good in enabling you to get your first initial work experience however sometimes you may be allocated with a placement you hadn't chosen. Interesting take at what office work may be like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Are you a robot?
2nd Line Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire5 September 2017
Walgreens Boots Alliance care nothing about their employees. All they care bout is that they have bums on seats. They constantly move the goal post so you never achieve the targets that are set. They're an awful company to work for unless you're part of the management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Brand delivery manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham14 August 2017
good place to work, lots of support, L&D support is good and give the opportunity to grow. exc9iting place to work with a clear purpose to support patients and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Warehouse Operative, full-time shift work (Former Employee) –  Nottingham14 August 2017
Don't apply here! bad hours. no appreciation really not many locals here. tough company to work for. very hard work too. no work life balance people are put under fear factor 3 strikes and you're out.
Pros
getting paid
Cons
no social/ familly life
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 years service
Category Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire19 July 2017
I worked at Boots for 8 years and enjoyed my time there. Unfortunately I could not return after my maternity as they didn't have a part time role for me.
Pros
Made life long friends
Cons
Unsupported
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Jan 2011Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham19 July 2017
i enjoyed working for boots, i was challenged by tasks that required speed and precision. the day consisted of picking orders to a time, making sure the correct items was placed in the trays.
Pros
made friends
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What it says on the tin
Industrial Operative (Current Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire17 July 2017
Intense, KPI-driven environment. High on safety, good employee benefits but issues in moving from Temp to Perm even if all targets overachieved. Good language support if English is not your first language.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boots UK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,570 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6