Booker Group Employee Reviews

Found 411 reviews matching the search See all 421 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Swansea13 April 2019
Swansea Booker is probably the most depressing place someone can work. The supervisors are clearly less uneducated than most of the pickers and the manager of deliveries always got my pay wrong. Also I was refused holidays when I worked there and ended up looking 60+ hours and never got a penny for them. DO NOT WORK HERE!!!!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bu!lying Area manager
Butchery Manager (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire12 April 2019
I had a very good experience working at Bookers Watford I was a Butchery Manager,but I would willingly work on other fresh departments and Frozens I had a excellent relationship with my former area manager in that branch.due to current one lots of staff have left the company.
Pros
very good colleagues
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Luton12 April 2019
I liked working at this company the staff were very professional and they taught me everything I need to know to work there. one two theree four five six
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
HGV Class 2 Driver (Current Employee) –  Cardiff10 April 2019
This place is not run properly! They get rid of people who try to make changes for better and get the individuals with little knowledge on how to run transport department and place in general. Avoid if you can!!! This work is just for desperate....
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
List is too long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rubbish employer
multi drop driver (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire9 April 2019
7.5t driver,
managers have no idea.
ridiculous labelling of orders.
main employees get to finish early.new employees late.
overtime paid to 4hrs.
then rest of overtime is put into lieu days
have to work saturdays .but get paid less than normal working day if finish early.
Pros
local company
Cons
long hours. lies regarding overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful. Cliquey. Physically tough. Avoid.
Branch Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria8 April 2019
-Often can’t have a half hour break without senior management / supervisory staff bringing you off your break to help serve customer(s), ultimately leading to staggered, stop/start breaks.

-Expected to roll heavy duty bulk pallets onto floor in very short time frame while working on various other jobs/pallets (with little to no thanks).

-Physically demanding on replenishment departments, whereas reception / butchery departments congregate with coffee and a natter.

- Dodgy internal formal policy. Some management don’t follow proper formal protocol (if they like you) but will come down heavy on those (if they don’t). Ie; favouritism and unfair treatment.

- very little incentive to give 100% while job is tough physically.

Do not apply for a job at Bookers unless you like being dictated to, whilst chugging numerous bulk pallets weighing a ton, while trying to serve a customer in tobacco because there’s nobody else available/or that desires to, while trying to grab an ‘uninterrupted’ tea break when you can (gov.uk states ‘uninterrupted’ as a pivotal part of guideline) while other departments stand and glare nonsensically, all for no pat on the back and dodgy chinese whispers.

1/10
Pros
A break / customer discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this company
Skivvy (Former Employee) –  Wrexham7 April 2019
Avoid this company..............worst place EVER to work .......the harded part of working there is actually making the effort to go in for your shift
Pros
Non
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Butcher (Former Employee) –  Gateshead, Tyne and Wear3 April 2019
Was messed about after almost 17 years on the butchery department. Got moved onto the catering department then onto provisions. The management are awful and treat their staff like rubbish, avoid like the plague
Pros
Hours we're quite suitable
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Sales Administrator (Current Employee) –  Wembley15 March 2019
Dealing with emails from account managers, customers, credit control.
Updating online ordering systems with new pricing
emailing product guides and price lists to new and existing customers
creating sales reports for account managers
updating and checking customers rebates
Purchase orders
cheque request
speaking with new and exiting customers phone queries
Pros
Nice working atmosphere in office
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
18t driver (Former Employee) –  Dundee14 March 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish and over worked
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire12 March 2019
Nottingham branch rubbish to work for the managent treat everyone differently they do what they want. Booker overwork you for the minimum wage. The area manager will chuck you under the bus to cover his back. I will never recommend working here. And all the management do is go outside and play clash of clans all day
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Management. Unpaid brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support and expectations too high
7.5 tonne driver (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire9 March 2019
I worked here for nearly 18 months, the job itself wasnt too bad I found a lack of support from management particularly after my operation which meant I had to return on light duties but was constantly pressured to return to full duties. Cages overloaded and some deliveries really should have been 2 men.
Pros
Customers were friendly enough
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Regional Security Manager (Former Employee) –  South of England9 March 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours poor pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire8 March 2019
I worked here for 3 months, started at 0500 and had deliveries down on the South Coast. Customers were all good but the route was awful with no time for a break, finishing late, management wouldn't help with dropping the workload. 50+ hours a week working and paid for 40. Many days running the van over weight and told to get on with it
Pros
Take the van home
Cons
Long hours, poor pay, non understanding management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Dundee, Dundee City5 March 2019
Not the greatest place to work
Warehouse manager tries her best
Need 7.5t not 18t
Cages are over stacked and too heavy
Some jobs should be 2 men
Sack you after your trial and move on to the next person
Good luck 👍
Ps don’t get paid overtime
Pros
Driving
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff3 March 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are much better companies to work for
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Wellingborough, Northamptonshire25 February 2019
Did a days induction at wellingborough site hgv 1 driver along with about 10 other drivers this company expect you to work like a slave very hard physical work loading unloading roller cages to corner shops with limited access park streets away from delivery point and no help from shop staff you struggle to make delivery on your own. Health and safety non existant needless to say I walked out halfway through induction and I was the seventh driver to leave 3 drivers remained but I doubt very much whether they still work there . This company are always advertising for drivers and that in a nutshell says it all stay well away from booker/budgens
Pros
None
Cons
Health and safety non existent
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Twilight Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birkenhead, Merseyside22 February 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Supervisor - Full Time (Current Employee) –  North West20 February 2019
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Branch Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield19 February 2019
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Booker Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 421 reviews
560
4105
394
249
1113

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture