Bombardier Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues were a pleasure to work with
Fleet reliability engineer (Former Employee) –  Barton under Needwood, Staffordshire21 May 2018
Some of the best managers to have worked with and for. They enabled successfully progression with external qualifications and internal training. Also worked with some of the best engineers in the railway.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Derby12 February 2018
Hands down the best experience of my life thus far.Very helpful and felt welcomed and comfortable upon arrival. All staff helped me learned many skills in a way that was suitable to my ways of learning & kept a consistent eye on me throughout the entire process. This is the company i aspire to work for one day.
Pros
Helpful, Attentive, Friendly.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  Derby3 February 2018
I used to work there as a panel wirer. Great pay especially working overtimes. Job is through agency so it can finish at any time. Possibility of progression
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Bombardier
Train manufacturing assistant (Former Employee) –  Derby31 January 2018
While working at Bombardier for my work experience, the working life was great and exciting. Being a train enthusiast, this job was really enjoyable and helped my understanding of how trains are constructed, and what components are needed. Whilst I only did work experience at Bombardier for a week, it was an amazing experience and would be interesting to even the average person, even if they don't have an interest in trains. If you are interested in how things are put together, or electronics, this job is a great experience.
Pros
Really enjoyable
Cons
Lots of safety precautions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of supervision
Operations Team Leader (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 January 2018
Little or no supervision of technicians whilst working on critical safety systems, they were left to work on their own, the training was not sufficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Belfast20 January 2018
-Good place to work.
-Fair pay for work load. (though some do more than others)
-Career advancement restricted due to current a/c market.
-Flexible working hours is a big benefit.
-Good pension scheme.
-Lack of current training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  Barton under Needwood, Staffordshire18 January 2018
Working on the heavy maintenance line with 19 other guys. Long hours , hard and dirty work, but enjoyed it all. I learnt a lot there about working in teams, how to help each other etc..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railway running shed
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ilford, Greater London16 January 2018
As a railway running shed there is a wide variety of work available. Strict deadlines need to be achieved by all staff and the work is varied and interesting
Pros
varied work
Cons
dirty working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but very demanding
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire11 January 2018
was ok to work but is very demanding i gained a over head crane licence to move trains up and down the line i also gained a flatbed licence .. i did alot of work with the crossrail project and was also tranfered to the lowtrain project i have a very good understanding of building a train
Pros
great people and good enviroment
Cons
to demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Composite Laminator (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim29 December 2017
Brilliant environment to work plane spotless also made a great number of friends for life,work cones and goes from this company but great when your working there
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bombardier
Panel Wirer (Former Employee) –  Derby14 December 2017
During my time at Bombardier I wired up electronic panels, I learnt this while working at Bombardier with the support of management. it was a place with good atmosphere. The difficult part was that the job was non stop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and role, just not as advertised.
Depot Operations Manager - Crossrail (Current Employee) –  Ilford23 November 2017
-good company spoilt by poor planning, leadership and communication. They work against each other rather than a team. The staff are well motivated and willing to work under direction. Too much contract labour is used and training is poor in areas.
Pros
Salary and motivated stafd
Cons
Poor directorship and communicatio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and high pace
Lead Requirements Management Engineer (Current Employee) –  Derby15 November 2017
The current projects are interesting and represent very important contracts for the company.
Unfortunately, most of the engineering teams are under-resourced and timescales are very challenging.
Some teams might not be helpful and the management sometimes just loose track of the bigger picture.

Work hours are flexible, pay is high but so can be stress...
Engineering offices are old and not adequately maintained. Refurbishment is however planned to take place in the coming weeks for few months.
Pros
1/2 day Fridays, remote working, pay
Cons
Workload, internal politics, office state
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Paint Sprayer (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire25 September 2017
Great place to work for career development and further opportunities.
Working with people of all different experiences.
Management are good and work hard to ensure the individuals are able to get on with there work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Mechanical Fitter (Current Employee) –  Ilford, Greater London20 September 2017
Great place to work all the lads are really friendly and a good laugh work there is good but hard work.....................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of redundancies
Senior manufacturing engineer (Current Employee) –  floors, UK18 September 2017
A lot of redundancies causing tense times. Before the threat of so many redundancies the company had a great work / home life balance with opportunity for promotion and travel. Currently Belfast are failing on winning new work.
Pros
Short week
Cons
Constant redundancies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace but lack of stability
Panel Wirer (Current Employee) –  Derby13 September 2017
enjoyable work place but lack of full time employment offers makes you feel undervalued. lack of leadership skills in higher positions with limited abilities on the shop floor.
Pros
freindly environment
Cons
no long term future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt work here very long
Trim and Drill Composites Operator (Former Employee) –  Newtownabbey6 September 2017
Didn't work here very long but the time I was here was good, I did a bit of painting and cut and still so was fairly easy, but I can't really say anything bad as I wasn't here long
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Electrical Fitter (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire5 September 2017
Good job prospects and good work experience. Excellent benefits and job rewards. Good engineering environment. To work and learn, good money to be earned.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning from the experienced Aerospace Engineer
Stress Engineer (Former Employee) –  Belfast29 August 2017
Excellent Learning from the experienced Aerospace Engineer for the program worked for DASH8/Q400, Nacelle structures and wing structures. Good experience in honeycomb and coposite structures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bombardier. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,909 reviews
5615
4757
3370
2100
167

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture